We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great again”
Review of Davie School Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Davie School Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Anna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great again”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was return trip with friends to the Inn. Again Gary provided a super clean room, advice on new locations in the area to visit, and another round of absolute great breakfasts. The Inn is in a great location to visit the Shawnee Hills wineries, the various state parks, Southern Illinois University and the whole Southern Illinois area in general. The rooms are redone classrooms so they are large, airy and bright. Gary ia available to help and even gives out his cell number to assist as neede.. My wife and the friends we were traveling with are teachers, so the venue was really fantastic. We have been here several times and ready to go again. A must if you spend time in Southern Illinois.f

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Str-IL508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
114
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alsip, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Davie School Inn for our one year anniversary. We were looking for something outside the box and this place was perfect. We were greeted right away by the owner Gary. He was a very pleasant and funny guy. He asked what we were planning on doing for the weekend and suggested some good places to go. He took our breakfast order for each day and we must say it was very delicious. He also gave us his personal phone number in case we needed him while we were out of the Inn. We stayed in the Blue room and it was very clean and spacious. The antique furniture and decorations were fun to look at and gave us insight into the historical elements of the school. We had such a great time and will definitely come back. Thanks for the good times Gary!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ofallon mo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We were very fortunate the Davie School Inn had a last minute cancellation. Will stay here again
Get off of the interstate and drive into Anna to stay here. Gary and Andrea are professional and know who their customers
Gary suggested to walk, yes walk a few blocks to the Brick House Grill which was upscale dining
We stayed on the top floor in a gigantic room beautifully decorated in period shabby chic. The bathroom has a separate jacuzzi tub from the shower and water closet. This is convenient to the wineries
Congratulations to Gary and Andrea you are the valedictorians of this area. Don't miss Gary's made to order breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the Davie School Inn and loved it! The owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were here on a Sunday and only stayed one night but it could not have been better. The rooms are huge, tastefully decorated with great touches such as blackboards and school house furnishings still intact along with some previous history of the room when it was a school house. Our breakfast was great because it was just what we ordered. They go out of their way to make it a wonderful experience. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We liked the blue room, large king bed and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geranium07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend for a quick get-away. We met Gary right away and he was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. We stayed in the purple room and enjoyed having a jacuzzi tub and all the comforts of home. Gary made us breakfast each morning and it was delicious!

We did have to get used to the room having a regular door handle lock, with no inside latch or extra lock. This is probably just us being from the city, nothing happened to make us feel unsafe, just thought this was an important point to share.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank STLTravelGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

my wife and i stayed at davie school inn in anna il and we stayed in the purple suite or wine suite the experience was better then we had hoped for gary the inn keeper made us feel like we were the only people there and the place was booked all my requests were not only met they beyond what i had hoped.I will be coming back again and again cannot wait.

Room Tip: you cannot go wrong with any choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackifezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BetterWay2Stay, Owner at Davie School Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so happy you had a great time!
Come see us again,
Gary and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVON
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Awesome place in southern Illinois! The decor in every room is just exquisite and wonderfully done! Rooms are large and so much better and restful than what you get at a hotel. Breakfast is hearty and superb! The couple who owns the place are great hosts. You are conviently located to many attractions in southern Illinois. Frankly, we are just looking for an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samaisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
19.4 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
21.0 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Cape Girardeau Near the Medical Center
24.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davie School Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davie School Inn

Property: Davie School Inn
Address: 300 Freeman St, Anna, IL 62906-1508
Region: United States > Illinois > Anna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Inn with large Luxury Suites Located along the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing