We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely experience!”
Review of Davie School Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Davie School Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Anna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were in town for a funeral and they were very helpful. Would stay there in the future. The old school rooms converted into suites was nostalgic. The full breakfast served in our room sealed the deal for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

wow!! where does one begin with an experience this wonderful! My finance called at 7:00am and asked Gary if we could come early, due to our night before at a cabin that was horrible. We arrived at 8:30 Gary offered us breakfast. He goes above and beyond. We stayed in the "purple room" It was beautiful and spoke romance so many details, Gary gave us ideas where to shop and where to eat dinner. He even called and made our reservations for us. You'll never regret a trip there and I can't wait to go back!! age 35 - 40

Room Tip: the "Purple Room" is completely quiet. It faces the road (no traffic noise), and we were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danaNjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was return trip with friends to the Inn. Again Gary provided a super clean room, advice on new locations in the area to visit, and another round of absolute great breakfasts. The Inn is in a great location to visit the Shawnee Hills wineries, the various state parks, Southern Illinois University and the whole Southern Illinois area in general. The rooms are redone classrooms so they are large, airy and bright. Gary ia available to help and even gives out his cell number to assist as neede.. My wife and the friends we were traveling with are teachers, so the venue was really fantastic. We have been here several times and ready to go again. A must if you spend time in Southern Illinois.f

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Str-IL508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Davie School Inn for our one year anniversary. We were looking for something outside the box and this place was perfect. We were greeted right away by the owner Gary. He was a very pleasant and funny guy. He asked what we were planning on doing for the weekend and suggested some good places to go. He took our breakfast order for each day and we must say it was very delicious. He also gave us his personal phone number in case we needed him while we were out of the Inn. We stayed in the Blue room and it was very clean and spacious. The antique furniture and decorations were fun to look at and gave us insight into the historical elements of the school. We had such a great time and will definitely come back. Thanks for the good times Gary!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We were very fortunate the Davie School Inn had a last minute cancellation. Will stay here again
Get off of the interstate and drive into Anna to stay here. Gary and Andrea are professional and know who their customers
Gary suggested to walk, yes walk a few blocks to the Brick House Grill which was upscale dining
We stayed on the top floor in a gigantic room beautifully decorated in period shabby chic. The bathroom has a separate jacuzzi tub from the shower and water closet. This is convenient to the wineries
Congratulations to Gary and Andrea you are the valedictorians of this area. Don't miss Gary's made to order breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the Davie School Inn and loved it! The owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were here on a Sunday and only stayed one night but it could not have been better. The rooms are huge, tastefully decorated with great touches such as blackboards and school house furnishings still intact along with some previous history of the room when it was a school house. Our breakfast was great because it was just what we ordered. They go out of their way to make it a wonderful experience. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We liked the blue room, large king bed and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geranium07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend for a quick get-away. We met Gary right away and he was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. We stayed in the purple room and enjoyed having a jacuzzi tub and all the comforts of home. Gary made us breakfast each morning and it was delicious!

We did have to get used to the room having a regular door handle lock, with no inside latch or extra lock. This is probably just us being from the city, nothing happened to make us feel unsafe, just thought this was an important point to share.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank STLTravelGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Davie School Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davie School Inn

Address: 300 Freeman St, Anna, IL 62906-1508
Region: United States > Illinois > Anna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anna
Price Range: £75 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Inn with large Luxury Suites Located along the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing