We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”
Review of The Goddard Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Goddard Place
Ranked #2 of 3 Anna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We were passing through and found this place! What a lucky find, and a gem. My wife and I had been on the road for 4 days, and as the weather was to get worse decided to 'hole up' at Goddard Place. The wind blew, the snow came, and we were cozy and relaxed. Mary, owner, was like our long last pal. Friendly, kind, accommodating, and always came through with what she said. She steered us to the Blue Boar for dinner! Excellent! I would be happy to stay again..even had a nice little kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for The Goddard Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Honestly ... I have so many great things to say about the Goddard Place, that I don't know where to begin! We were met and escorted to the cabin by hostess Mary McDonald! She is a wonderful hostess and treated us like family. I found the Goddard Place while looking for a weekend getaway place for me and my husband. Perfect! It's not far from the Interstate, but like another reviewer said, you'd never know it! You feel like you are a thousand miles away ... which is exactly what we needed!

Mary didn't forget a single detail -- from toiletries (in case you forget - which I did) to the delicious locally baked Mennonite breads to spot-on tips for where to eat and visit! Mary has maps, menus, and travel booklets to help plan your visit. There is also plenty of information about the nearby Shawnee Hills Wine Trail. Speaking of details, there was coffee and fresh orange juice in the fridge! There is also a microwave, perfect for popping popcorn to enjoy in front of the fireplace.

The shower was wonderful (which is a must on my list) and there were lots of fluffy towels! There is also a whirlpool tub (big enough for two!).

Cozy and immaculately clean, the cabin was so comfortable and homey. We didn't want to leave, even though there is a lot to do in the area! When we did chill, we enjoyed Mary's collection of books to browse.

Now, for the outside. The natural surroundings are so calming. Nestled underneath tall pines, the deck is a great place to relax. From the deck, there is a nice view of the pond. We took advantage of the Adirondack chairs and even sat on the dock for awhile.

Mary is the niece of Jim and Edna who were former hosts of the Goddard Place. She is a very gracious hostess and we can't wait to visit again in two weeks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I state here for our 15th wedding anniversary. It was our first time to visit southern Illinois and we were so impressed! The cabin was so cozy and immaculately clean. The hosts went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer! We have already recommended The Goddard Place to our family and friends and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaylee1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were in Anna for a wedding and wanted to do some wine tasting the next day, so this worked out perfectly. It only took about 10 minutes to get there from town. It's near several of the wineries on the Shawnee wine trail. We sat on the dock by the pond and watched the stars. It's only a few miles off of the interstate, but you don't hear or see it. The cabin we stayed in was clean, comfortable, and nice and cozy. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. There were rooms in the house as well that we didn't see. If you want a little more privacy, though, this cabin is great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearce24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Jim and Edna have a great place to stay. We stay there when we are in the area for hunting from Louisiana and my wife just loves it, especially the jacuzzi tub. Jim and Edna go out of their way to make you feel part of their family. Would recommend anyone to stay here instead of staying at the local motels. One stay and you will see what I mean. Billy

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wllmhance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

My boyfriend and I were in town to visit family for a christening. Instead of staying at the overly packed house with the family, we found this hidden gem. Located on the Trail of Tears, The Goddard Place was the perfect get away. I could rest well surrounded by trees, hills, and a private pond. I strongly recommend to have breakfast with owners, Edna and Jim. Not only were they a joy to greet in the mornings, but Edna's cooking leads to a better day!

This cabin is for the couples, or small families, that can appreciate the thoughtfulness and simplicity of quality spent time. (It's also not far from great restaurants and many wineries).

We are already trying to find another reason to be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cey311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We visited this B&B last Oc tober while hiking and canoeing southern Illinois. We are not the usual B&B people and prefer cabins and camping. We rented the cabin that they offered and loved it. We actually saw a bald eagle sitting in a tree over the pond and there were more blue birds than I had ever witnessed before. The whirlpool tub and gas fireplace were wonderful after a hard day exploring the area. The hosts were great! Will return next year!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ryansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
410 reviews
14.5 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
424 reviews
20.6 mi away
Super 8 Marion
Super 8 Marion
#4 of 15 in Marion
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
296 reviews
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#7 of 15 in Marion
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goddard Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goddard Place

Address: 1585 Campground Rd, Anna, IL 62906-3563
Region: United States > Illinois > Anna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anna
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goddard Place, hidden among the wooded hills of scenic Southern Illinois and the Shawnee National Forest, is a quiet peaceful change of pace. Guests can relax on the back deck overlooking the small lake, just a stone's throw away, and listen to the breeze rustle through the pines that shade the 28' x 16' log cabin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing