We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Metropolis Theater was a fantastic place to see Heartache Tonight (A Tribute to The Eagles)!”

Metropolis Performing Arts Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Metropolis Performing Arts Centre is a live entertainment and arts education facility located in downtown Arlington Heights, Ill. and has quickly become one of Chicagoland’s leading venues for quality programming. The complex is home to a 350 seat theater. Metropolis offers a diverse array of Chicago’s most talented performers and performance troupes, as well as national acts spanning virtually all performance genres – all under one roof.
Cary, IL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Metropolis Theater was a fantastic place to see Heartache Tonight (A Tribute to The Eagles)!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Metropolis Theater was a fantastic place to see Heartache Tonight (A Tribute to The Eagles)! The show was so great that our group plans on attending another Heartache Tonight event this year. You can view their event calendar by going to their web site at www.heartachetonight.com. I highly recommend finding a Heartache Tonight performance in your area, you won’t be disappointed.

The Metropolis Theater is small but quaint and there wasn’t a bad seat in the house. Drinks were available for purchase before the show and during intermission and you can bring drinks into the theater. Cup holders are built into the armrest of the seats. Plenty of free parking near the theater or take the train as the theater is within easy walking distance.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Supercleaner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    3
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super nice theatre with mostly great shows”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Beautiful little theater with adjacent restaurants and easy parking. All theaters have an occasional show that doesn't go over as well as expected, but the large majority we've seen there have been great. Looking forward to Last Five Years -- it's one that's been on my list for awhile.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank babymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Greater Tuna --wrap it in newspaper and throw it out”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I wish I read the reviews of "Greater Tuna" BEFORE we purchased tickets for this production at the Metropolis. We try and support "Theater Week" and thought we would try a local production instead of always going into the city for theater. What a mistake! What would make the Metropolis chooses this play? Even the Playbill had not a blurb about the authors or a general synopsis of what the play was about. It was satire gone wrong! Mean spirited and just awful! The actors tried hard, i really don't fault them, but the "story" was tedious and insulting to all the brave souls that stayed to the end. The theater itself was lovely, although only about 1/2 full on a Saturday night. I guess more people had heard about this production and stayed away. Lucky them! When we left a group of 4 were leaving and one man was shaking his head and muttering ''Horrific!". That about sums it up. Save your money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ironpen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Giving Up”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

In a effort to support certain organizations and efforts, I often find myself trying too hard. This is the case with my subscription purchases at the Metropolis. Every couple of years I seem to forget how bad the productions are, and I will again invest in a set of four tickets for the four productions. Last night we saw the second of this years unfortunate investment, entitled Greater Tuna", and had to leave early because it was torturous. We wanted to leave after the first five minutes, but decided to give it more time. It went from bad to worse. Our village continues to throw money at this misguided theater in attempt to lure more unsuspecting victims to downtown Arlington Heights. Guess what? I think the word is out, the theater was only about 1/3 full (and it doesn't have many seats).
We went to see one production in all of our years of subscribing that was maybe passable. It was called "On This Island" . It was maybe 10 years ago, possibly longer.
We still have 8 tickets left for our subscription. I doubt we will go, as we are running out of friends who will go with us to these awful productions. Our friends are dropping like flies from our invitations to the Metropolis.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rward2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Greater Tuna - horrible play”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The actors were good -- the play was absolutely horrible. People on either side of us left at intermission. We stayed hoping it would get better. It didn't. The actors/script made fun of Agent Orange, every ethnic group in the US -- and the audience was stunned at the insensitivity. Stage props looked less than professional -- a high school could do better than this.
Metropolis has lost sight of entertainment and serving people with an enjoyable evening, and a fun experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metropolis Performing Arts Centre also viewed

 

Been to Metropolis Performing Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing