We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great ice cream and creations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oberweis Dairy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oberweis Dairy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
244 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Always great ice cream and creations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great quality ice cream, fun atmosphere and a lot of different creations. A little pricey but worth it for the quality.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent City, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Icecream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

They have really good ice cream and the kids that work there are very friendly. It's a bit pricey for just a cone a single was about $3.75.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
893 reviews
637 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“expensive, but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Be forewarned. Bringing your family to Oberweis can really add up. Currently expect to pay $7.29 for the banana split. Other sundaes come in two sizes: smaller size ranges from $4.29 to $ 6.49; larger size ranges from $5.99 to $8.19. Shakes and malts are $5.29 for 16 oz. and $6.99 for 24 oz. There are kids' sizes available for a few items, and of course you can share an item. Having said that, the quality is truly excellent and worth the splurge.
One of my favorite features is the wall of dairy cases where you can buy eggs, butter, milk, yogurt, etc.....AND birthday cakes ($22.99) with candles conveniently for sale on the same shelves. You can also buy ice cream pies ($17.99) neatly divided into 8 slices.
The dining area is large and clean and they supply a really darling coloring page for young visitors.
Because Tripadvisor won't let you post until you indicate whether you were there for breakfast, brunch, lunch, coffee or tea, dinner, drinks, or late night food -- I had trouble completing my review. None of those choices apply. I decided to amuse myself by saying I came for breakfast -- because they do have fruit smoothies on the menu -- but the truth is I came for the decadent ice cream, as a late-in-the afternoon snack. Snacking is not (yet) a Tripadvisor choice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank illinois travelere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great ice cream and chocolate milk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

While in the Chicago area I had the chance to try Oberweis Dairy. Over several days, I had a milkshake (with chocolate chip ice cream), a frostbite with M&Ms, and the famous chocolate milk (half gallon glass jug). Everything I tried was awesome. If you are ever near an Oberweis Dairy you have to give them a try. If you like milk or ice cream you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbinark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Get the hand-packed pints or quarts. This is the BEST ice cream I have had. Better even than Blue Bell and I live in TX!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank txbbqdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oberweis Dairy also viewed

 
Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 

Been to Oberweis Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing