We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely enjoyable evening”

Basil's Greek Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil's Greek Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 300 Restaurants in Aurora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 59 & New York
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Extremely enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Remarkable features: A menu that offers multiples of choices to enjoy Greek/Mediterranean cuisine. A chef that knows how to cook and run a kitchen. An owner that understands what it takes to deliver "truly outstanding" service. Well trained servers, bus boys and kitchen runners that all work together to not miss a beat! Entertainment on Friday night offering two excellent string artists playing traditional Greek music. Very interesting architecture and a building that offers a pleasant feeling.

Add it all together and it equals our excellent evening. We can suggest that you ask for Mayra as your server, she is upbeat, always wears a smile and appears to be thankful for life itself! She just made us feel good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    56
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Naperville,Il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Went there on Saturday with reservations. Popular you need them. Husband and myself got Prixe fixed meals best way to order. Started with flaming cheese Opa ! First my appetizer shrimp in a delicious tomato sauce would be delish on spaghetti. Lemon rice good but have had better. Entrée Scallops and more shrimp on Orzo only ate half so much food and getting dessert. Fried dough covered with a Walnut sauce and vanilla gelato. Only could eat 2 got 4. Husband Got lamb sliders amazing. Greek salad good portion. Mediterranean pork chops got 2 could only eat 1.Very good in a delicious sauce. Remember dessert coming. Lava cake with vanilla gelato. Both entrees get a side got broasted potato and green beans didn't like green beans sauce/ tomato. Spouse got mixed vegetables and broasted potato. Service was very good. Décor was upscale.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bartsNaperville_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
779 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Excellent food and microbrews”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We go here often-enjoyable on all fronts.

They have a nice collection of small beer producers on tap. Fun to try different producers.

Taramasalata is the best as is the gyros.Generous portions always ensure a take home container.

Live music on Friday night is Loud!!- we stay away because of it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Mousaka was as Good as my Mom made it”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I am working in Aurora, IL so I checked tripadvisor for a place to eat dinner. I saw that Basil's Greek Dining was rated #1. So I thought I would give it a try. I loved it. I ordered mousaka, a traditional Greek dish made with eggplant, meat sauce, bechel sauce and potatoes. It was wonderful, as good as my mother would make it. There was a touch of nutmeg in it. The restaurant was very nice, many people sitting outdoors because it was also beautiful weather. There were many ethnic families enjoying this traditional type of cooking. I would defitely be back. The only complaint is that there was not a sampler platter to try the many wonderful Greek traditional dishes have to offer on the menu. Definitely a great asset to the community.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidwood
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Food & Service”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had arranged a small surprise party for 32 people in the Rigas Dining Room. We had the Greek Family Style meal served. It was awesome! All the food was authentic Greek Style, very delicious, hot and plenty of it. Our servers (Jackie & Lee) were very attentive and accommodating. Samantha was fantastic with the arrangements! An enjoyable evening was had by all!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nukeguy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil's Greek Dining also viewed

 

Been to Basil's Greek Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing