We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much more value than we expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
University Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Iola, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much more value than we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The room was very sizeable, clean and comfortable, complete with recliner, my spouse, with a bad back was elated. Management was most helpful in matching the room to our special needs and in helping us with our internet connection. Our room had a separate closet and dressing area outside of the bathroom. We were doing some sightseeing in this segment of the state and the manager was very knowledgeable and helpful. We would highly recommend this

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    1
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Room was clean but bring your own Bed blanket if you are someone who does not use comforters. The blankets in the room are hard and just as bad as a comforter. There is no phone but most have cell phones there is no hair dryer in the room. Have to walk to office to get one. Our key did not work well and at 1am caused a bit of panic. After 5 min we were able to open the door. Owners were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babybf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

First trip to Angola in search of a Lake Home. Retired and just needed a clean room that offered the basics for a two night stay. Didn't see the need this trip to pay for the typical services chain hotels offer - pool, exercise room, buffet breakfast, etc. University Inn met that need. Safe environment, clean room with Wi-Fi - a must - cable tv, mini-fridge - adequate for a few things I picked up at the local farmers market and a microwave. Several places to eat and drink nearby. Had one small problem the night of my intended arrival. The Inn was having some phone problems so I couldn't reach them to reschedule my arrival time. "No Show's" are charged a full night's rate. Arrived the next day and told them I called several times and they admitted they were having some problems and didn't charge me. Now that's telling me they valued my business. Sleep Quality would have been a bit better if I didn't have neighbors that watched t.v. into the morning hours a bit too loud. Didn't find the lake house this weekend so I'll definitely be coming back and staying at the University Inn until I do, which likely will be many more visits.

Room Tip: I was checked in by a very helpful young lady, but if additional assistance is needed ask for Debbie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantua, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Don't judge a book by it's cover. I've got to admit, the University Inn isn't much to look at from it's outward appearance. However, the remodeled rooms on the inside are top notch, clean, and new. Combine this with the value offered versus the "chain" hotels in the area (about 40 dollars less) and you've got the perfect place to stay for the night. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant. I'd definitely come back and recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manateesneeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting friends. There were no reviews at the time so I was a little concerned about choosing this place, but we did and were pleasantly surprised. The building is older and looks a bit worn but the new owners have done a nice job at remodeling the rooms. Our room was large, new, and clean. The ladies at the front desk were also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingTrowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here for a month while working in the area. The owners who took over 3 years ago are awesome. The staff really go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. The rooms are rather large, cleaned spotless, many have been recently remodeled. They gave us good weekly rates and were very accommodating to make us feel "at home". Frig and microwave in rooms are helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnafromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angola
4.4 mi away
Ramada Angola/Fremont Area
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn hotel in Fremont
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#1 of 7 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
22.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Property: University Inn
Address: 1208 W Maumee, Angola, IN 46703
Region: United States > Indiana > Angola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the University Inn; a great hotel choice in Angola, Indiana. The University Inn is an ideal choice for travelers on a budget. As an independent hotel, we provide our guests with clean rooms and quality customer service all for an affordable rate. Because of our service, courteous staff, and prime location, you’ll be sure to keep coming back. The University Inn is conveniently located right across from Trine University, and just minutes from all of the best attractions and activities in Angola, IN! Check rates and availability and start planning your vacation to Angola, Indiana today! Hotel rates, amenities, and location couldn’t be better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing