We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Mexican Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rodeo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Rodeo
Ranked #55 of 97 Restaurants in Avon
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Favorite Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

El Rodeo is hands down my favorite Mexican Restaurant in town. The staff is friendly, they service is quick, the place is clean, and they have great daily specials.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Maybe the shrimp needed the water?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ordered the shrimp taco salad. There was a good number of shrimp but under the top layer of lettuce, everything was soggy and there was a 1/2 inch of soupy stuff in the tortilla bowl. Meal was really not edible except for the shrimp. The staff apologized and offered a coupon for our next visit. My husband's taquito meal was tasty. The salsa had a good bite to it and chips were fresh. Will try the restaurant again but not the taco salads!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stopped by for lunch on a Sunday while passing through Avon. The restaurant has a homey feel, not elegant but comfortable. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. The menu is much different from the big chain generic Tex-Mex that has flooded the Indy area for decades. While there are many choices of enchiladas, tacos, burritos, etc., there are also a wide variety of dishes that are uncommon at the chains. I very much enjoyed the pork chile verde, with big hunks of tender pork in a green chile sauce served with rice, refried beans, and warm tortillas. One friend is a more frequent visitor, and had his favorite #10 combo. The house margarita is tasty, not overly sweet or boozy. The second margarita is even better. If you want to live mas, give El Rodeo a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhatChoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistantly Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We visit El Rodeo during thier busiest times and thier slowest times but the food is always out fast and is always great. Excellent job!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Better choice for Mexican in Avon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I've been here quite often and I've never been disappointed. The service is always good and the food is very authentic . While it's not the best Mexican Restaurant I've ever been to, it is a good deal for a great price. Excellent lunch menu and prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PastorMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rodeo also viewed

 

Been to El Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing