We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Des Moines East
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Altoona
Storm Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No frills, but clean.”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is definitely a no-frills place to lay your head for the night. Plain white walls, no artwork, nothing fancy. There isn't even much space in the lobby. However, it is clean and comfortable. Also, there is a truck stop next door with a nice diner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuba-IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    26
    17
    22
See reviews for
32
10
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This Motel 6 exemplifies why I usually choose this chain as I travel coast to coast: Low cost, clean, basic, no frills, no surprises/hidden costs. A clean basic place to sleep, shower, get up, grab some coffee and go.
And location, just off the main highway.
And that's what I got. The room was clean, the linens and bath clean, shower was nice and hot, internet worked well. I slept well in a nice clean bed and I was off.
So, for basic a basic, no frills, clean room that you need for sleep, internet, basic cable, a good hot shower and sleep at a budget price...I can highly recommend the Motel 6 Des Moines East, Altoona..
Oh, and they don't even mind when you check in at 3 am, like I did, the clerk was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telenurse2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is your typical average Motel 6....This property is one of the older/non renovated motel 6's. Very Good location along the interstate, plenty of food/gas stations at this exit. (as well as a racetrack/ casino~Praire Meadows) This hotel shares part of its parking lot with a large truck stop, so it is always very busy which translates into a little bit of noise at nite! The rooms are very basic, however the room I had was clean and served the purpose for a one nite layover. The front desk staff was friendly upon both check-in and check-out. The room rate was also very fair at the time of my stay in October, less than $40.00 including tax. Overall Rating~ Average

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altoona, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2011

they helped us ever way,when halloween came they helped with costumes and the school bus picked the kids up at the door,if u need a place that u can pay weekly this is it,the kids loved the pool and the workers were great.stayed back in 2007 to 2008

Room Tip: if in between moves or temp. homeless great value and freindly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

For the price, this was a decent facility. I had trouble with the WIFI, it kept knocking me offline. However, I was given a full refund. The desk clerks were friendly and helpful in recommending shopping and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cici587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wi
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Surprised to have a pool in the least expensive motel in the area. No problems checking in or sleeping and then

on the road again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tv2107
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Smell in room was extremely musty, & room felt very wet. Pressure of shower SUCKED, only a mist came out, couldnt even get shampoo out of hair (not relaxing AT ALL) No fridge or alarm clock in room.. (for spending $200 for only 2 nights I would at least expect an alarm clock-COME ON!) Halls were HOT & dirty, carpet in room was dirty. TV was TINY and volume on remote didnt work, along with half of the 15 channels available.

Dont waste your money, go down the street to Heartland Inn, pay $3 more a night & get a MUCH better hotel for your money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tv2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altoona hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Altoona Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#7 of 9 in Altoona
107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#6 of 9 in Altoona
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#2 of 9 in Altoona
219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Des Moines East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines East

Property: Motel 6 Des Moines East
Address: 3225 Adventureland Dr, I-80 at exit #142, Altoona, IA 50009-9571
Region: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines East 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Altoona
Altoona Motel Six
Altoona Motel 6
Motel 6 Des Moines East Altoona, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing