We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renee kirby”
Review of Adventureland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adventureland Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Altoona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Renee kirby”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The room was 194 with the swim up bar.You could see anything. Pool staff did nothing but scream. My granddaughter accidentally went down the slide wrong he screamed at her as her guardian I told him it was a accident and he kept screaming at her.we left and went to the other pool.That pregnant lady was constantly screaming.She was giving dirty looks to me when I got in the hot tub with my granddaughter. I thought this trip was terrible. Our room was terrible.The stool didn't work properly. My husband fixed it.The beds were a nightmare. The coffee maker didn't work.I tryed twice nothing but ground.No pressure in the shower. No extra towels.no tv. Guide. The hotel room food was decent but unfriendly people.We have been to Adventureland Inn a lot but this time was unsatisfactory.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review. After receiving your review I had our maintenance and housekeeping staff check over the issues you brought to our attention in room 194. I have spoken directly to both pool and restaurant staff and have shared your comments with them as evidence of room for improvement. As a returning guest we thank you for your past business and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    66
    68
    38
    39
See reviews for
181
2
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We come to Adventureland Inn every year but this year was a little different because we had such a big group. I was very annoyed that as much as we paid for the rooms, there was NO breakfast included in on this. And even after spending money on the breakfast, it wasn't very good. There are so many dumb rules at the pool and we felt like we were being hounded all day long. We couldn't have ice water unless it was in a cup from the bar. Well first of all the bar doesn't open till later in the day and even then it is so hot in there that our ice didn't stay. Which is why we brought our own tervis cups but no, we weren't allowed. After speaking to the manager, Joe, he told us he would let us have them. He was VERY nice by the way! I wish that they would open up the ceiling more because of the temperature in the pool area. It was unbearable! The rooms were okay, I just think the whole hotel could use an update or not charge as much! There was a lot of rude staff members also! Overall, I am not sure if we will come back or go somewhere else next year.I think if they would allow food and drinks before the bar opens would be different. I mean they didn't even have any food at the bar area so why couldn't we bring in our own snacks?

Room Tip: Rooms outside of the swim up bar (which I think is the East side is our favorite place to be!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KKulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and criticisms. We sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your stay. There is simply no excuse for bad service. I have shared your comments with the entire staff as evidence of room for improvement. We will also take your suggestions under advisement as we make decisions on ways to improve. Were glad Joe was able to provide you good service and assist you during your stay. We hope not all parts of your stay were negative and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, Iowa, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This place is convenient. Very close and kids love riding the troll to the park. Rooms are clean. Tile in bathrooms is like ice when wet. Just not smart to use glossy tile. The pools are nice. I just expect more for that price range.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review and staying with us. We are delighted the kids enjoyed the trolleys. Thank you very much for the positive comment in regards to the room cleanliness. Our housekeeping staff has done an excellent job this season. We apologize we did not meet your expectation for the price. We will strive to make improvements and hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The Adventureland Inn could use some updating, but at least our rooms were clean. If you go to bed before 10:30, avoid the poolside room as it is noisy. But was quiet after that. The bfast buffet was a very poor excuse for a buffet. Eggs burnt into the pan, only white bread/English muffins, no cereal options. A very minimal buffet at best. It doesn't Take much to make a decent buffet, but they have missed it here. Go to McDonalds across the street.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank kktooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review and positive comments for our housekeeping staff. They have truly done a wonderful job this season. I apologize for your experience with our breakfast buffet. I have shared your comments with our culinary staff and we will strive to improve the buffet while keeping the option as economical as possible. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralston, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a family reunion. It was very convenient for family members going to Adventureland Amusement park. There is a shuttle and it is within walking distance. However the hotel itself was very ho-hum. The decor is dated and tired. Because it is overutilized I'm thinking the staff has a difficult time maintaining the facility. We enjoyed the pools in the hotel but it was not a peak time so they were not crowded. The breakfast buffet was very good and reasonably priced. Customer service in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us for your family reunion. We appreciate your feedback about the décor and condition of the hotel. We will convey your comments to the owners of Adventureland and strive to improve. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the pools and the trolley to Adventureland Park. We hope to see you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent a very relaxing day at the pool with grandchildren. It is small enough that you can keep your eyes on the kids, but large enough that they had a great time! Swim up bar opens at 3 pm!
We had a two room suite. It was perfect for us. We had three adults and four children. The adults had the bedroom with 2 queen beds. The living room area has a couch that pulls out to a bed and then we brought an air mattress. There was plenty of room for everyone. The tricky part was one bathroom! There is a sink area outside of the bathroom, so you at least have 2 sinks. All in all, we were satisfied with the room and the hotel. The staff was VERY friendly. We stayed our first day at their pool, and then the next 2 days at Adventureland. There is a shuttle that runs very frequently between the two, so it is very handy. Basically door to door service. So if you want or need to go back to the hotel during the day and return to the park later, it's no hassle!

Room Tip: If you get a room opening to the poo, keep in mind the pool is open until 10:00 or 10:30 so it could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Suite and the swimming pools. We hope to see you are your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting the Adventureland Amusement park. We chose this hotel because of it's indoor pool facilities, location near the park, and free trolley to and from the park. I'll start with the good. The two separate courtyard pool areas were great! Our 2 year old enjoyed the East courtyard with the frog slide and other water features. This area also had a hot tub and separate pool with swim up bar. The roof was retractable so there was plenty of sunlight! The West courtyard had a pool with two larger slides and a hot tub. All in all, very nice pool facilities for families. We also ate the buffet breakfast ( $8 per adult and $3 per child over a certain age) which consisted of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, French toast sticks, bacon, sausage, muffins, etc... Overall a good breakfast. There is a McDonalds right across the street if you're looking for something cheaper. The room was clean and included a fridge but no microwave. The one major complaint I have is that once we checked in we were directed to the back of the building by a door close to our room. The front desk person said there would probably be luggage carts by our entrance, which there were. HOWEVER, there is a step down from the door to the sidewalk, and thus NO POSSIBLE WAY to get your luggage cart into the building without pushing it all the way around to the main entrance. You tend to travel with a lot of stuff when you travel with kids, so this was a big inconvenience. We loaded up the cart by our room door (since we parked and got our kid out of the car) and then pushed it through the parking lot to the main entrance. Here is another problem. No automatic doors. It is a giant pain in the butt to navigate a full luggage cart through small doors. One person pushing the cart, another person holding the door, then trying to squeeze through before the door slams on the cart. This really needs to be addressed by the hotel. If you are going to make everyone using a luggage cart enter through the lobby, at least have automatic doors! Moral of the story, unload your luggage onto a cart in front of the lobby and navigate the hallways to your room. It's just easier to do this and then move your car when you're done!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 125 and it was really close to the pool area and still quiet. It was in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. These are great tips for future guests. We apologize our team failed you and will work harder at explaining to all guests that unloading in the front is the way to go. We will forward on your suggestion for automatic doors to the owners. We are delighted that you enjoyed our pools, trolley to Adventureland Park, and our breakfast buffet. We hope to see you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Altoona Inn
10.6 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
0.3 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 10 in Altoona
227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Property: Adventureland Inn
Address: 3200 Adventureland Dr, Hwy 1-80, Altoona, IA 50009-1697
Region: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventureland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing