We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place”
Review of Colony Inn - CLOSED

Colony Inn
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Helena, MT
Level 6 Contributor
975 reviews
623 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Amana colonies are great fun, an interesting stop in Iowa, The food at these places is homemade and you get a lot. Not gourmet but good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    19
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, SD
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not authentic German food.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

When you go to the Amana's and you stop to have dinner you might expect to get some authentic German cuisine. Not here. My Wiener schnitzel came out of a deep fat fryer! It was awful. The family-style sides were acceptable and setting was truly Amana Colonies but the kitchen should be ashamed of themselves. Would not recommend if you are hoping for something authentic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank foodpeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not good as expecting”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stopped for breakfast. We found out it was only family style which didn't bother me I like family style. The food wasn't great bacon chewy eggs over easy (which I don't like). I liked the coffee, fruit, and the thinnest pancakes ever! The service was good the coffee kept being poured and waitress was around frequently to offer refills on food. I have been here for dinner and it was good so I was a little disappointed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lisamarie9456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tell City, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First trip to the Amana Colonies”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It was a beautiful day to walk around and take in the sights of this historical place. It makes a person get hungry so we stopped in this place to eat. I ordered a Reuben sandwich. It was very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinaPowell-Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My two sons and I stopped here for an early dinner and we were very disappointed. The waiter did not smile, did not make eye contact and was generally unapproachable. We had to find the hostess twice to get drink refills and other needs met. When the waiter came to the dining area he would not even make eye contact with his customers so we could call him over. When I finally did get a refill he gave me the wrong drink and when I told him it was wrong he did not bring me my correct drink. It was a Labor Day menu so for three people with drinks our bill was 70.00...I feel cheated. When I complained at check out I was not offered any recompensation which I found quite sad...her only answer was for me to leave a poor tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank juliebrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing