We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Memorial House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
1
3
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
3
9
4
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Recommended by an ISU grad.......and maybe thats the only folks that should stay here. I was on the sixth floor facing away from campus right next to the ice machine and the elevators. Guess they knew I was a Jayhawk. Oh well, it was close to my meeting on campus and the room was clean. Just like my Jayhawks I came to town, had a winning experience at my meeting and got out of town. I recommend you skip this one unless you want to add it to your bucket list.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators - very loud
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

One hour was enough for me before checking out of this place and going to another hotel .the noise would be the first complaint ,the elevators noise comes thru the vents and sounds like a freight train and the final straw was the carpenter ants in the bed,called the office and told them we were wanting a refund and during this conversation she never apologized The same price as other hotel and customer service needs to be looked at as we'll the updating the rooms and replacing the mattresses .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed two nights in the Memorial Union Hotel on a recent trip to ISU. First off, the location is great. You can walk to everything on ISU campus and the nearby business district. No other hotel is even close in Ames in terms of having a walkable location near so much.

The room was small (Queen Bed), but large enough. Just do not plan on doing much in the room. Everything except the medium-sized LCD TV is very dated. Bed sleep quality was so-so at best. It was reasonably quiet, but I was not near the elevators. It was also very difficult to adjust the temperature in the room. Service was fine. Campus parking included with the hotel, which is a nice perk.

Overall, there are drawbacks. However, the location will keep me coming back.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshuaClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The only thing good about this place is that it is part of the campus. The beds were awful, shower was not cleaned- they were hairs (someone else's) in the tub. The coffee pot had some sticky stuff in the bottom of it. They have a hard port to connect to the internet but no wifi. Expensive for a 1 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

It is difficult to find the hotel from the parking lot - and I am a former ISU grad! I stay here once before 10 years ago and thought the room and bed were awful then, well they haven't been updated since!

The only available room was one next to the elevators, and it sounded as if a freight train was going through the room.

The rooms are cleaned with some sort of noxious chemical, and it smelled musty inside the room. No fans available to move air around the room.

The bed was at least 15 years old, and extremely uncomfortable- I could feel the springs through the mattress.
I can't believe this passes as acceptable......

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyMcBits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews