We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiddeen Gem - But who goes to Ames”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Hiddeen Gem - But who goes to Ames”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were here for a wedding. A long way from the UK but we found this hotel, thanks to our US relations and it turned out to be a Jewel of a Hotel. Ames is the home of Iowa State University and apart from that it is a mid western American small town. Very nice, affluent and pleasant to look around. Why then is there such a good hotel effectively in the middle of almost nowhere? Who cares - enjoy it if you are in the area. Good points. Staff - smart, friendly & nothing too much trouble, the rooms - large, clean and well appointed, public areas, pool & gym. The bad point and the only thing i can honestly say was disappointing was the breakfast, very hit or miss, although the porridge (USA oatmeal) was good. If you are in the area you can rely on this hotel to deliver - try it - but its a long way from anywhere apart from Ames - took us 7 hours from Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
On behalf of our hotel staff, I'm writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind review! Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding. Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you.

We accommodate many guests every night and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all guests at reasonable prices. It's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of our accommodations and services.

Again, we appreciate the kind review. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and look forward to your next visit.

Jessica Preston
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
515-233-8000 (Ext 406)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    103
    55
    40
    22
See reviews for
193
43
13
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sankt Polten, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I guess I ended up in a smoker room. since I arrived at 2am, I was too tired to hike down to the reception to change that. AC was very loud. no way one could sleep there with ac on. and also the fridge I had to switch off. And no, I'm not some super nois sensetive guy.I arrived lage and was really tired, so I would fall asleep anywhere, but here it was just too loud. after some small corrections it wored out fine. breakfast could e improved too.

Room Tip: switch off the AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernoulli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmesHGIGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the air conditioning unit and the refrigerator. Your comments have helped us to improve our guest experience as we have worked with maintenance to get those issues corrected. We will also take your review into consideration when we plan on upgrading our breakfast options. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can show you a true hospitality experience. Thank you. Sincerely Fredrick Killian GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My friend and I stayed here for four nights while visiting with my daughter. The room was very clean and up to date which are the most important things to me. The staff was so nice and very helpful. There are a couple of things I want to mention. The door did not lock properly so you had to really tug hard for it to lock. We came back one evening to find the housekeeper had left our door unlocked. They also don't have the ability to rent movies-not a huge deal but a little disappointment. Also no am room service but they did supply our room with lots of extra coffee for the little coffee pot.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Free wi-fi, which is always nice. The fitness center, pool and hot-tub were very nice. Good value and option if you are visiting Iowa State.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedrothelion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We started our weekend at another hotel that was not up to par so arriving here was lovely! The hotel is beautiful, it smells good. The staff are kind, competent and very friendly. Our room was clean and cozy. The structure of the building is solid, it felt private.
We had a great time in their pool.
In the morning there were several options for breakfast. Yes, you pay a little extra but it is worth it. Their food is excellent. You can get a cold continental-style breakfast or a full, ordered-from-the-kitchen, hot-off-the-grill breakfast. They have waitstaff. It was a Sunday morning. If we had waited until 10:30 and paid a bit more we could've had a fabulous brunch! Next time.
The one con was that one of the adjustable beds in our room did not seem to be working properly.
Thank-you Hilton Garden Inn!!

Room Tip: Their beds are adjustable but one in our room didn't seem to be working properly so check the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NannerSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Very good place to stay while visiting kids at Iowa state university .CLean , good price especially with Aaa .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joenel476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Hilton Garden Inn is a good stay in Ames, IA. Quality service, clean rooms, but $120 a night wasn't worth the rock hard bed. Knowledgeable staff, easy interstate access.

Room Tip: Always ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Address: 1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014-5568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#8 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ames hotel is located in the heart of Iowa on Highway 30 west at the South Dakota exit and just five miles from Interstate 35. This Ames, Iowa hotel is three miles from Iowa State University, home of the ISU Cyclones, with Hilton Coliseum and Jack Trice Stadium less than ten minutes away. Notable among Ames, Iowa hotels, our flexible meeting rooms include an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people and a Grand Ballroom seating up to 175 people. From the Garden Grille with the cooked-to-order breakfast to our 112 beautifully decorated guest rooms with complimentary WiFi, Hilton Garden Inn Ames is the perfect complement to any corporate or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing