We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Love me some HGI. Still riding out Diamond status and got upgraded to a parlor suite at check-in. Great room and great night's sleep. Conveniently located near Iowa State University. This location is the poster child for the HGI brand.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank diamosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    103
    56
    40
    22
See reviews for
194
43
13
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Adjustable air beds. Did not work properly. Staff pretty much ignored my complint and gave me a half hearted "sorry". Check the bed right away when you check in. Take 10 minutes to lay on it and feel comfortable. Otherwise move on to another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Hotel is located on Iowa state university property in the middle of dorms. This review is for people who are not there for the school. The hotel is an older garden inn that they made. Up to par. In my bathroom the towels were not folded but thrown up on the rack, the shower head was dirty and the ceiling was moldy and chipping away. The remote to the TV was broken and the carpets in the hallway were dirty. However the buisness center was excellent. Service was average nothing to brag about and price should have been 20 dollars cheaper but won't be because of the university. Wasn't a horrible stay but wasn't anything I'd recommend. Also do not recommend staying fri-sun due to college kids which was told to me by the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjv9179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

yes, it's a nice hotel but what was unique was how the chef came out and chatted and made recommendations on what he thought was extra good. There was a little extra noise from a big family celebrating a birthday and to help make up for it the hotel offered us a complimentary desert. [and then the family also felt bad and bought us a bottle of wine]. So the place just left us with really good feelings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt55128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Excellent hotel for family or business. Great service and reasonable pricing. Located on west side of town but only a 5 min drive to anything you need to do in Ames but also near a few eating places, etc. so overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

If I need to get to Ames (or even Des Moines Area) this is THE Hotel to stay at. I often have to get to Des Moines for work. If I end up leaving later in the day, I often pull into Ames HGI. Iowa has a lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Rajesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Have stayed here once or twice a year for the last 4 years and it's been very consistent - clean rooms, a few restaturants near by plus on-site food. Quality equipment in both the fitness center and business center.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank ParktonRDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Address: 1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014-5568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#8 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ames hotel is located in the heart of Iowa on Highway 30 west at the South Dakota exit and just five miles from Interstate 35. This Ames, Iowa hotel is three miles from Iowa State University, home of the ISU Cyclones, with Hilton Coliseum and Jack Trice Stadium less than ten minutes away. Notable among Ames, Iowa hotels, our flexible meeting rooms include an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people and a Grand Ballroom seating up to 175 people. From the Garden Grille with the cooked-to-order breakfast to our 112 beautifully decorated guest rooms with complimentary WiFi, Hilton Garden Inn Ames is the perfect complement to any corporate or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing