We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rev. Bob M”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My wife and I were very pleased with the personal attention we received during our stay. Our suite was very clean and all the hosts from front desk folk to the custodial staff did everything they could to make sure our stay was fantastic! An hour after we checked in and were in our suite, the front desk called to make sure we were totally satisfied with our room. She even volunteered to make a change if we were not satisfied. We have stayed in a lot of motels and have never had that happen before. We stayed two nights and told the custodial person that all we needed the second day was to have the waste baskets emptied and more towels. She saw that we had used one of the tea bags and asked if we wanted another one. Shortly after she left, the front desk person showed up at our door to make sure we had received everything we wanted from the maid. Again, we have never received such treatment in even much more expensive motels/hotels. The swimming pool was great and so was the hot breakfast.
We would not be afraid to recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: I believe any room would be comfortable but the two room suite was fantastic.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon as your travel brings you back to Ames, Iowa.

Warm Regards,
Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
515-233-3935

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Country Inn. It was a very nice hotel. The rooms were nice. The breakfast had an awesome variety what ever you wanted for breakfast was there. The front desk staff is very helpful and very informative. We will stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Hot tub room on 3rd floor is very quiet!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyedyour stay. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was really impressed with this hotel. The room was very clean and very quiet. They had a full breakfast in the morning which was very good. The people at both the check in and check out were very helpful and courteous. Overall a very nice property.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

We want to thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review on Tripadvisor. We do hope to see you again when in our area.


Debra
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Nice and clean room- lots of space and well arranged- if not our taste. After a half hour, the front desk called to check to see if we needed anything- a first. Cookies on check-in, nice wide screen TV, and more than the promised continental breakfast in the AM. As a college town, we had low expectations- but this was a nice room at a very fair price. Excellent free internet, secure doors and fixtures, and very nice towels and other amenities. We aren't pool users- but several adults and children were- on check-in- and check out. Good heat and water pressure.

Recommend with no exceptions.

Room Tip: Try the breakfast burrito and salsa at the buffet continental breakfast. The best CB at a regular h...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsageHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon as your travel brings you back to Ame, Iowa.

Warm Regards,
Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
515-233-3935

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Ames for 3 nights. The room was nice and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the other living area was divided by a door that made it very nice when someone wanted to sleep. The best part of the stay however were the staff. They were very helpful and went out of their way when asked for suggestions for dining and directions. This is a college town and we enjoyed it very much. The best and most fun restaurant we dined in was Texas Roadhouse. If you're visiting you have to try it out!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank totallymalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about our hotel. We hope to see you again when your travel brings you to Ames.

Thank you
Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
Ames, Iowa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Room was clean but the room was not quite. Walls must be thin as you could hear everything. The pool area was very nice as was the workout room as we used both. Breakfast was good and they had a good selection. For the price not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a one night stay at a quiet property a bit out of town. It was clean and more than adequate with spacious king bedded room.
Bottom sheet bedding was smaller than mattress and kept coming off the mattress, AC was quieter then many,a nice feature.A nice big desk and work chair for laptop.Pillows firm and soft.

Though more spacious than many more contemporary properties, the bathroom needs an up date. No hand rail in shower for us advancing middle agers. The toilet too low. The sink spigot was slow and the screen cap needed cleaning. The sink top could be raised. And the dreaded original Country Inn wall paper in bath should be replaced immediately.
Price with points was reasonable. Good,fresh check in cookies!!

Room Tip: the higher the better as building is 'stick built' and like all of those it can be a bit no...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#11 of 20 in Ames
341 reviews
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA

Address: 2605 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
#5 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range: £78 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ames
Ames Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing