We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfy and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and welcoming”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here based on others' TripAdvisor reviews, and we were glad we did! Hotel is a bit older, but the rooms are nice, the staff is very welcoming (and serves cookies upon arrival!), and the workout room and indoor pool were nice (although the pool was a bit cold). The complimentary evening beverages were nice, and the free AM breakfast had everything we wanted. Compared with other hotels in Ames, the Country Inn is a bit pricier, but I believe you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.. We look forward to your next stay here in Ames Iowa.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!


Debra
Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    98
    40
    25
    11
See reviews for
212
39
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarinda, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The staff members were very friendly and helpful. The shower drain was clogged, but it was fixed very quickly after I told the front desk. It was a clean, comfortable hotel for a fairly low price. The breakfast was great. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 597KLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!



Debra
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I just stayed at the Country Inn & Suites in Ames while attending the Big 12 indoor track meet. My first impression was, oh no, this is older than I expected; however, it was actually a very pleasant visit. As is common in Ames, there were college kids staying in the hotel. Some were with a leadership group, others with a church affiliated group. As expected, the kids were not quiet, not even close----but, the room set-up allowed us to sleep peacefully undisturbed by the noise. Our room, as it appeared many rooms did if not all, had a large sitting area at the hall entrance which totally muffled the sound and kept 100% out of the bedroom. Breakfast wasn't great but ok and the people and service outstanding for this level hotel.

We liked it well enough that we have made reservations for next year already. The locations is good, only a few miles from the university, an easy drive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsbost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Debra
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great stay here last week. Hotel is very clean and comfortable and the staff is terrific. Great value for price. Hotel is well located on the south end of Ames right off of the Freeway. Restaurants and shopping close.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Country Inn & Suites,Ames,IA. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Warm Regards,
Debra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We arrived right at 3 p.m., and they were ready for us. Property is very clean. It is a bit worn, but they are remodeling. That's a good sign. We will probably be back to Ames & will stay here, again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVMountaineerinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Thank you,
Debra
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My family and have stayed at Country Inn numerous times in Council Bluffs, IA. Because of the great service we have always received (friendly welcome, cookies, and enough pillows and towels to meet mine, my husband's and my children's needs) I made it a point to stay at Contry Inn in Ames, IA for my most recent business trip. This required me to drive a few extra miles from where my training was rather than starying practically next door to my trining facility but I did not mind at all as I was certain I would receive great service and I sure did. I would like to congratulate both the staff and the management as it takes the whole team's effort to ensure this 5 star quality service. Thank You from a very Satisfied Customer. Karina Wardlow

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Thank you
Debra
Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monona, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I have stayed countless times at Country Inn & Suites of Ames over the past six years as all three of our children have attended Iowa State University. We are always warmly welcomed at the desk, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the pool and hot tub are relaxing, the WIFI is efficient and the breakfast offers a wide variety of choices. For each ISU graduation the suites have been wonderful choices for our party with their kitchen sink and countertop, microwave, full-size refrigerator, kitchen table & chairs, and spacious living room. We also love all the "extra" touches such as the "homey" feel of the lobby with its fireplace, comfy chairs & open stairway, cookies, fruit & hot beverages in the lobby and a book loan system where you may borrow a book from their lobby bookshelves and if not done reading at time of check-out, you may take it with you and return it to ANY Country Inn & Suites. It's not uncommon for us to receive a free "upgrade" on our room if we stay at a less busy time. We always feel at home away from home at Country Inn & Suites of Ames!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Debra,
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites, Ames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
5.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Address: 2605 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
#5 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ames
Ames Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing