We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I always travel with Holiday Inn Express when I can and this hotel is the reason why. I can expect everything to be the way I need it. From being greeted as a platinum member and being upgraded to a suite and waking up to a variety of healthy eating options. I always choose to stay at a Holiday Inn Express when possible!!

Room Tip: ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamMan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    193
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
183
54
15
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood, MN.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stay at Holiday Inn Express locations frequently. We generally get the suite for the extra room for our family. At this location, the suite was smaller than in other locations we have been at. Usually the suites have the sofa sleeper with a separate TV in a separate room with a door. This one had the sofa sleeper right next to the beds with a tiny 1/4 wall divider and no second TV. The room was clean and the beds comfortable, the breakfast typical hotel fare. My complaint was the rate they charged for the room. We were there during ISU Family Weekend to visit our son. Hotel rooms book up quickly for this weekend. Thus, the hotels can and do charge VERY HIGH rates for this weekend. In our case,the rate was double the normal rate for a weekend. $259/night for an average room in an average hotel in Iowa! OUCH! Not worth it and we won't attend Family Weekend again because of it.

Room Tip: Don't expect much with the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Iowa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My son moved into ISU and we stayed here the night before. For some reason they have the Cardinals on Fox Sports instead of the Twins. The breakfast wasn't as varied as I've had at other Express locations and the internet connection had some reliability issues. The location is close to the interstate and convenient to campus. Fine place for a quick overnight.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrqTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Had traiing in the area and this hotel was located right off the expressway. Front Desk Staff was very helpful. Room was clean and good sized. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onthego7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We are a family of 5 and needed 2 beds with sleeper- so our options in town were limited. Of the Holiday Inn Expresses I've stayed at, this rates at the bottom. It wasn't bad- but a bit disappointing compared to other ones I've stayed at.
Our room was on the 3rd floor. Apparently one end of the 3rd floor is smoking rooms, so the entire hallway reeked of smoke and the smell even came in through our door. I didn't realize that smoking hotel rooms were even an option anymore! I really wish the desk clerk would have made that clear to us.
The room itself was fine- but some nastly black mold in the bathroom. They only left 3 bath towels, which I thought was pretty stingy. Same with the pool- where the number of towels was very, very limited. The pool was very, very small and very, very chlorinated and very, very crowded with kids.
Break fast was a highlight of the stay here, where the kids were fascinated by the "magic pancake machine". As always, they have a pretty good breakfast spread.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor (unless you are a chain smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to inform us about your recent stay at our hotel.
I have shared your comments with all of our staff and be assured our number one goal is to assure guest satisfaction. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. I encourage you to call me directly during your next trip. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

My family and I were here visiting and we absolutely loved this hotel and their staff. They had the warmest pool I have ever been in and my kids loved the breakfast. Their pancake machine is something I have never seen before!! Hot pancakes in 30 seconds that were delicious! Will definitely stay at this hotel next time I am in town!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamMan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

I had a great time at this hotel. Staff was on top of everything from the moment I checked in until the time I left. They recommended this great pizza place on main street. The staff was very chatty and made me feel at home! Will be back again next month.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrailsAway02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
2.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
5.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ames

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ames
Address: 2600 E. 13Th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ames
#2 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Ames, Iowa. The hotel is conveniently located in Ames, off I-35 at exit 113 on 13th Street. We are minutes away from many local attractions, including Iowa State University, Jack Trice Stadium, Cy Stephens Auditorium, NorthGrand Mall and downtown Ames. Several corporate and government offices are also nearby, such as USDA, NVSL, National Farmers Organization, Sauer-Danfoss, Hach Chemical, Barilla, Ball Co. and 3M. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel was designed with keeping comfort in mind by providing spacious guest rooms and amenities to make travel less stressful. Here, we offer recently renovated guestrooms and public areas with contemporary decor and tons of great amenities, such as an indoor heated pool, a modern well equipped Fitness Center and a new Sundry shop stocked with snacks and toiletries. We also feature the complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. All rooms offer free high-speed Internet & refrigerator/microwave. The hotel features suites offering all the same amenities as our standard rooms plus a separate parlor area. Whether it's for business or pleasure, you can enjoy peace of mind at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ames. The Holiday Inn Express Ames is conveniently located within walking distance to Sauer DanFoss, 3M, and the USDA. There are also restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk! Comfort, convenience, and warm hospitality are all located in Ames - it happens at the Holiday Inn Express Ames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ames Hotel Ames
Holiday Inn Ames
Ames Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing