We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AmericInn Ames
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$123
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$125
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$66
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
146
76
37
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
76
37
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areamexican restaurantwafflesroom was cleanstaff was very friendlyin townbiscuits and gravyhot tubnice poolother hotelsiowa state universitygreat rooma great stayone night stayup to dateno elevatorhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Very nice hotel, clean, very comfortable soft beds. Staff was friendly and of great help. Quiet with nice atmosphere, close to highway and freeway exits.Nice complimentary breakfast, lots of choices.

Room Tip: Double queens and sngle king rooms are available. KIngs suites have large room, with a corner bed.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for the kind response to your stay! We are so happy to hear that everything went so well, and we agree that we have an amazing staff! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The good: big rooms, pretty comfortable beds, recently refreshed decor.
The no-so-good: housekeeping was very lazy and after three days my skin began to crawl. All of the fixtures and appliances are quite old. Looks like they just painted and bought new linens, but the sink was very worn and the fridge motor so loud - just reminded me of how much energy was being wasted to keep it going. Walls so thin you could hear normal conversations on both sides. And, finally, the location is depressing. We were calling this the 'motel ghetto'. A collection of 5 or 6 motels with no services nearby. A real bummer for a town that has so much to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddyEdster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at AmericInn. We want to let you know that the hotel is under new management, and we have been undergoing many upgrades. The issues you described have been dealt with and we would like to invite to back the next time you are in Ames to see how comfortable you can be when staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

there was a noise every 15 minutes from a motor. I am not sure if it was the big black fridge or the heater. There was a baby screaming most the night. It was clean. The waffle maker totally did not work,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Lori,

So sorry that your sleep was interrupted during your stay. We want you to know that we have been working on many upgrades in the hotel, and we have dealt with many of the issues you described. We would love to have you come back and give us another try when you are in Ames!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was my first stay in an Americinn so I wasn't sure what to expect. I felt the price was very average. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast included cereal, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, make your own waffles, biscuits and gravy, donuts, muffins, danishes, coffee, milk, and juice. There is a nice sitting area with a TV to enjoy the beginning of your day. Pool area was enjoyed by my family. I would book a room here again if I return to the Ames area!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saritaj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello! Thank you for your kind review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we are glad that you liked the breakfast, we have a wonderful breakfast staff who will appreciate knowing that their efforts are so well-received!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My son won a trip to Ames at an ISU athletic event, and it included a one-night stay in a suite at the Americinn.

Therefore, we stayed in a 2-room suite with a fireplace and hot tub. I typically don't stay in suites at average interstate hotels, so this is probably not a regular review.

The Ames AmericiInn is very similar to other chain hotels - breakfast, pool, etc. It's at the intersection of I-35 and Hwy 30, so is certainly quick for arriving and departing.

The hotel was filled with girls' youth soccer teams during our stay, so it was noisy at night and quiet in the morning after they had left. However, the room was quiet, so the walls must be fairly thick.

The hotel seems clean and the staff reasonably helpful. The breakfast was blessedly uncongested, because the soccer games must have started early that morning.

My bed was extremely hard, and not particularly comfortable.

AmericInn is probably quite similar to several other hotels in Ames. From my limited exposure, it seemed suitable for families or a basic business trip. It's an average interstate hotel, and satisfies the needs of an average Ames trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We appreciate your review and are happy that you had a good stay with us. Since your stay, we have replaced the mattresses in our rooms, and we have been working on upgrading many other aspects of the hotel. Please stop back if you are ever in Ames and say hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews