We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”
Review of AmericInn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Ames
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in a king suite, not the honeymoon suite but a standard king suite with a Jacuzzi tub....it was a great room for us. The Jacuzzi worked great and was comfortable, the bed was great and comfy and the room was quiet. The only issue we had was there was a birthday party with some kids the day we arrived and the kids were apparently not being watched by the parents because they were horrible in the pool area and splashing my husband repetitively, even after being told to stop, by us. I know this was not the staffs fault but with cameras in there and us saying something once to them I would have hoped it would have been taken care of immediately.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monroe_1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for such positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us in our King Whirlpool Suite! I am glad to hear you were able to relax and unwind in the whirlpool suitable for two. I am so especially glad to hear you enjoyed some good nights' sleep during your stay! Our recently upgraded bedding package are quite comfy and our SoundGuard construction does provide each guest with quieter rooms.

I do want to recognize the disappointment you had during your visit to our pool. Please accept my sincere apologies for this unpleasant experience during your stay at our hotel. I appreciate your feedback and appreciate you bringing your concerns to the front desk staffs attention.

I am glad you were able to have a romantic evening and glad we were able to be apart of this memorable weekend. I hope to see you back again and hope you continue to share your memories with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    76
    35
    20
    12
See reviews for
144
34
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stay at many hotels for my occupation, As you may have read an earlier review, I have stayed since them to give another go at one of my favorite chain of hotels. I have stayed approx 4 more times with each time getting better and better. The manager is now available to discuss concerns and will address problems/concerns immediately if available. The staff has changed considerably since the college has completed for the year. With that being said I have seen still great staffing and the housekeeping has improved greatly since my last posting/review. I know the housekeeping lead now in person and rooms are now being inspected with more oversight by her. The breakfast was changing slightly from day to day, which is nice if you live out of a suitcase. Manager Sarah is pleasant to speak with and genuinely appears to care for the property. The parking lot has some concerns which she is addressing though the owners/corporation. Great stay and continues to get better each time I get the chance to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckEIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Chuck,

Your review was wonderful to read, and we could not be happier that you gave us another chance after an earlier experience. We are indeed under new management, and we have been making many changes and upgrades. We continually strive to meet our guests' expectations and we try to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible!

Thank you for giving us another chance! We truly hope to count you as one of our regular guests!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at AmericInn while in town for orientation at Iowa State University. The room was very clean, beds were comfortable, and we slept SO WELL both nights! One thing we really liked was how quiet the hotel was. Breakfast, while not a huge selection, was perfectly adequate for our needs. We will definitely stay here again when we go back to visit our son.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRUMLINEMOM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks for the awesome review! We certainly hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Our stay could not have been more enjoyable. Great rooms, great price and excellent service! If we return to Ames we will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend if you are looking for a place to stay in Ames!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for your very thorough & considerate review of our hotel!! Exceptional Customer service, clean and spacious rooms, a relaxing indoor pool & spa, and our hot homestyle AmericInn Perk breakfast--these are all things we work hard at and I am so glad to hear they met your expectations! Hope to see you when your travels bring you back to AMES!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel has it all. Clean rooms, amazing service,wonderful hot tub & pool, and a great breakfast all for a good price. Kylie makes sure you have a great stay with a wonderful smile and a great attitude, the staff is tops.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mitchell,

Thank you for the wonderful review! This hotel has been undergoing lots of changes, from new management, to new beds, a redecorated lobby, and a hearty breakfast. But the best part of this hotel is our amazing staff!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times and the service is always top notch. The Staff always seems to be in a good mood and have a smile on their faces. If you're looking for a clean room for a decent price this is it. The only "problem" is that it really isn't within waling distance of anything except the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Jeremy,

Thanks for the kind words about our staff! We agree that we have amazing people here! And we hope you are able to stay with us the next time you are in Ames!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wall lake, ia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Kylie was very friendly and accomodating in our stay. We were able to have the pool for a little longer to have a family birthday party. Children enjoyed the swimming longer, too. The breakfast burritos were delicious, and the people doing that were pleasant, also. The people doing the cleaning were very considerate of us, also.

Room Tip: King size room was very spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyfungetogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to have a birthday party at the pool!

Our staff are very friendly and accomodating, thanks for letting us know how much they are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
77 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Property: AmericInn Ames
Address: 2507 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ames
#6 Business Hotel in Ames
#7 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
AmericInn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing