We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Ames
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Mason City, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Staff was awesome, very accomodating. I would definitely stay here again. It very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff were so helpful and very friendly. We could not have asked for a better visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Sandy,

We could not have asked for a better review! So happy that we were able to meet (and possibly exceed) your expectations and make you so comfortable!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    68
    34
    19
    11
See reviews for
133
31
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Everyone was courteous during our stay. Rooms very clean & beds comfortable. Also, I had left my iPhone charger by mistake and the hotel was able to locate and return to me promptly.

Thank you for the great service!!

Jacque

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Jacque,

Your review was excellent! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, we are very proud of our awesome staff! Glad we were able to find and return your phone charger.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable as well as nicely decorated. The rooms were very quiet and I could not hear any of the noise in the hallway.
The breakfast bar was more than enough for those in my group. The food was hot and tasty.
Americinn is quickly becoming my go-to place for lodging.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for this very kind and thoughtful review of our hotel! I am so glad you were pleased with your stay here at the Ames, IA AmericInn. Our staff strives to be welcoming and accommodating, and we are proud to offer sound guard rooms so guests can get a good peaceful night's sleep! I am glad you had time to in the morning to enjoy our hot homestyle breakfast. Hopefully your business meeting went well; we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in a king suite, not the honeymoon suite but a standard king suite with a Jacuzzi tub....it was a great room for us. The Jacuzzi worked great and was comfortable, the bed was great and comfy and the room was quiet. The only issue we had was there was a birthday party with some kids the day we arrived and the kids were apparently not being watched by the parents because they were horrible in the pool area and splashing my husband repetitively, even after being told to stop, by us. I know this was not the staffs fault but with cameras in there and us saying something once to them I would have hoped it would have been taken care of immediately.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monroe_1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for such positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us in our King Whirlpool Suite! I am glad to hear you were able to relax and unwind in the whirlpool suitable for two. I am so especially glad to hear you enjoyed some good nights' sleep during your stay! Our recently upgraded bedding package are quite comfy and our SoundGuard construction does provide each guest with quieter rooms.

I do want to recognize the disappointment you had during your visit to our pool. Please accept my sincere apologies for this unpleasant experience during your stay at our hotel. I appreciate your feedback and appreciate you bringing your concerns to the front desk staffs attention.

I am glad you were able to have a romantic evening and glad we were able to be apart of this memorable weekend. I hope to see you back again and hope you continue to share your memories with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stay at many hotels for my occupation, As you may have read an earlier review, I have stayed since them to give another go at one of my favorite chain of hotels. I have stayed approx 4 more times with each time getting better and better. The manager is now available to discuss concerns and will address problems/concerns immediately if available. The staff has changed considerably since the college has completed for the year. With that being said I have seen still great staffing and the housekeeping has improved greatly since my last posting/review. I know the housekeeping lead now in person and rooms are now being inspected with more oversight by her. The breakfast was changing slightly from day to day, which is nice if you live out of a suitcase. Manager Sarah is pleasant to speak with and genuinely appears to care for the property. The parking lot has some concerns which she is addressing though the owners/corporation. Great stay and continues to get better each time I get the chance to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckEIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Chuck,

Your review was wonderful to read, and we could not be happier that you gave us another chance after an earlier experience. We are indeed under new management, and we have been making many changes and upgrades. We continually strive to meet our guests' expectations and we try to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible!

Thank you for giving us another chance! We truly hope to count you as one of our regular guests!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at AmericInn while in town for orientation at Iowa State University. The room was very clean, beds were comfortable, and we slept SO WELL both nights! One thing we really liked was how quiet the hotel was. Breakfast, while not a huge selection, was perfectly adequate for our needs. We will definitely stay here again when we go back to visit our son.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRUMLINEMOM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks for the awesome review! We certainly hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Our stay could not have been more enjoyable. Great rooms, great price and excellent service! If we return to Ames we will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend if you are looking for a place to stay in Ames!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for your very thorough & considerate review of our hotel!! Exceptional Customer service, clean and spacious rooms, a relaxing indoor pool & spa, and our hot homestyle AmericInn Perk breakfast--these are all things we work hard at and I am so glad to hear they met your expectations! Hope to see you when your travels bring you back to AMES!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Property: AmericInn Ames
Address: 2507 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ames
#6 Business Hotel in Ames
#7 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
AmericInn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing