We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AmericInn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Ames
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport
1 review
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great stay again at American Inn. Sarah the manager is superb!!! Family loved it, price was excellent, staff were very helpful, always stay here no matter what the event. Thanks again Sarah and staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you for the wonderful review! Our staff is indeed an amazing group, and we appreciate the feedback. We are so happy to hear that we will be seeing you again!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    70
    34
    19
    12
See reviews for
136
31
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pella
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very nice room with fireplace and hot tub. Great price compared with other hotels nearby. Short easy drive to ISU. Front desk lady was very helpful! The room was large and quiet which was a little surprising since they were fully booked. The sofa bed was really bad, stained and very uncomfortable. The pool/hot tub area in the hotel was nice. The hot tub was huge. Overall very nice would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Crb10105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites! It was also nice that you were able to make use of the pool and spa, which are 2 of the highlights of our hotel. Glad the front desk staff were able to help you with your reservation and finding your way around Ames. We welcome you back the next time you are visiting Ames or attending an ISU football game. Go Cyclones!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home, Arkansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Had a great stay, rooms were very clean & beds & pillows were comfortable. pool & hot tub were very refreshing. staff was very friendly. breakfast was delicious. we will stay there again. price was reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxstoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Max,

Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, the pool, and the breakfast! These are all areas of pride for us, so we are happy that you felt the same. Our staff is amazing and we welcome you back the next time you are visiting from beautiful Mountain Home!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantorville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had compared prices of many hotels in Ames. This offered the best value with a pool, great breakfast, and allowed pets. It is about 10-12 minutes from ISU campus and easy to find. Not much to do in walking area around the hotel, but that was OK for our plans.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Jennifer,

I want to thank you so much for sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor travelers. I'm delighted to hear that you found our amenities to be of great value. We strive to offer as many amenities as possible to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.

When traveling I know it can be difficult to find things to do in the nearby vicinity of the hotel, however there are a few walking trails nearby the hotel that myself of any staff member could speak with you about during your next stay.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our family was in Ames for a college visit for our daughter. The hotel is conveniently located as was not far from Iowa State University and was also close to area restaurants. We found the hotel to be clean, friendly staff, the lobby had a family atmosphere, rooms had comfortable beds/pillows, very quite. Enjoyed the breakfast variety. The pool looked inviting, but we did not have time to enjoy it (maybe on our next visit!) We had requested a roll-a-bed when making our initial reservation and were quite impressed that it was already inside our room upon our arrival. Great service!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Anita,

Thank you for sharing your kinds words regarding our hotel. I am glad to hear that we went above and beyond your expectations. We really strive to provide an excellent product with extraordinary customer service for all of our guest.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Hopefully this time you will get a chance to check out our pool and hot tub!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Was in Ames for the Iowa/Iowa State game. Had a vehicle breakdown and the superb staff let me check in a bit earlier than usual and saved the day. Very clean, very friendly. We enjoyed a good nights sleep and then had a hot delicious breakfast at the motel in the morning. Thanks AmericInn Ames.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Phillip,

Thank you for taking a few moments out of your day to say a few nice words about our hotel. The Iowa/Iowa State game is always an exciting time of the year for everyone. Ames is always so full of life during this match up. We always enjoy seeing the new faces that this game brings to town.

I am sorry to hear about your vehicle problems that weekend but am happy to know that our staff was able to help makes things a little easier for you. It's exciting to know that we are meeting your expectations and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have stayed at the Americinn Ames a couple of times when in the area. Our recent visit was exactly what we have come to expect when staying at an Americinn. The rooms are quiet, the facility is nicely appointed, our room was clean, the breakfast is good and better than what most hotels offer, the staff was friendly and helpful and we had a great nights sleep. Our daughter is considering attending Iowa State in which case I expect we will become more frequent customer at Americinn Ames.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms so comfortable. We are continually working to make our breakfast as delicious as possible and it's great to see that you found it so satisfying.

Thanks again and good luck with choosing a college with your daughter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Property: AmericInn Ames
Address: 2507 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6971
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ames
#7 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
AmericInn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing