We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AmericInn Ames
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$62
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Gateway Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$66
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
146
76
37
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
76
37
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areamexican restaurantwafflesroom was cleanstaff was very friendlyin townbiscuits and gravyhot tubnice poolother hotelsiowa state universitygreat rooma great stayone night stayup to dateno elevatorhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were in the area for an event at the ISU campus. We booked the room on-line, had never stayed there before, and were very happy with our stay. Very comfortable sitting room near the entry, nice breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. The teenagers enjoyed the pool and hot tub. I will book at this hotel again when attending the same event next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseM223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Rose,

Thanks for staying with us while you were visiting ISU! We are so happy to read your wonderful review, and to know that you had such a great experience at the AmericInn! Our rooms are comfortable and clean and we offer many in-room amenities. We take pride in offering a satisying complimentary breakfast, in a warm and inviting atmosphere. And glad to know that your children enjoyed the pool and spa!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

If you've been in this area, you know that there is a cluster of hotels in this area. I've never stayed at the AmericInn, I've always stayed at the Microtel. I was pleasantly surprised. Whenver I see a 2 star rating, I get nervous. I read the reviews and thought we'd give it a whirl.

This is a great spot! It was clean, the staff was friendly, our beds were comfortable, we had in room coffee, fridge and microwave. There was some type of boys basketball event going on. We had many kids both nights at the hotel. Never heard a peep and we were on the 1st floor by the vending machines. I would definitely stay here again. We did not use the pool but it looked nice and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Shannon,

We are so happy that you discovered the AmericInn in Ames, and that you had such wonderful things to say about the time you spent with us. We are glad that you slept well on the comfortable bed, and appreciated the in-room amenities, such as the microwave and refrigerator.

We look forward to the next time you stay with us, and thank you for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were in the area for a kids basketball tournament. we book the room online and had no problems at check in. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Very nice motel for a very good rate. we booked this hotel for a state coming up again in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Cory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Cory,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at the AmericInn! We appreciate the positive feedback and we are so happy that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable rooms.

And thank you for booking for your next tournament. We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

For the second year in a row we were extremely disappointed with the noise level at this hotel. There were unsupervised children in the lobby until 1am and the front desk refused to hunt down their parents or mandate that the kids noise level remain somewhat moderate. After 3 phone calls my in-person visit to the front desk resulted in a clear message "I am not authorized to" manage the noise level of unsupervised children, stated by the front desk staff. The pack of 10-13 year olds were in the lobby carrying on until nearly 1 am.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, although I apologize for the noise issues in the lobby. Our hotel rules stipulate that the lobby area is to be vacated, or at least quieted and under control, by midnight.

I am sorry that you had to call and stop by the front desk so many times, I assure you that this has been addressed with my front desk staff, and that we have been enforcing the midnight rules.

Please feel free to contact us again with any further comments or suggestions.

Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This motel is fine for the price. Not much of a breakfast selection. I would stay here again. the pool and spa area is very clean. The beds are fine to sleep in. Just disappointed with the breakfast...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Dawn,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, so happy to hear that you found the beds comfortable and the pool/spa clean and inviting.

We are continually working to improve our guest experience, including our complimentary breakfast. We offer a hot meal each morning which we feel is getting better all the time. We invite you to visit us again in the near future and see for yourself the many changes that have been ongoing in this hotel.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews