We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank BARRY G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

I recently travled to Ames, Iowa for a college tour with my daughter. I am a former Best Western Employee and I know what is expected of this hotel chain so I choose to stay at Best Western. The hotel was conveniently located off highway & near Iowa State University. Hotel had a very attractive lobby. Room was very clean and all we needed. Staff was friendly but the front desk staff needs a bit more education on what there is to do in area and how to get there. They were all friendly but had no idea how to answer questions as to what or where there was to do in the area. If my daughter is accepted at Iowa State - I will become a regular at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dniester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving us a review about your stay. We appreciate feedback from our guests and use it to make improvements to our property. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We have stayed here in the past so we knew this place was a great place to stay. From the moment you check in the staff is very friendly and very helpful. We had questions about some needs in the city, which they took care of. They have a comfortable lobby with a great breakfast to start the day. Our room was clean and quiet. We will stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janesh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here two nights this week for work. Very convenient to Iowa State campus. Easy to get to. Good restaurants nearby. (Went to Hickory Park and Aunt Maude's - both good.) Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trek150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your business trip and I'm glad you had a comfortable stay. I'm glad you enjoyed some of the great local restaurants in Ames as well. Please contact us next time you need to come to Ames. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My Husband and daughter stayed at the Best Western for a Cyclone football game. The hotel did meet our expectations except for the breakfast. The breakfast just seemed to have less food options than we have had at other Best Westerns. Otherwise the stay was nice, the hotel is within walking distance to the football stadium and a short drive to the campus. That and the comfy beds had to be the best part. We definately would stay here when return to Ames next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to an ISU Cyclone football game. We're glad you enjoyed your weekend and your stay with us. Thank you for the feedback; we are constantly making improvements based off of what our guests tell us. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Ames!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. The room was very clean. Clean bathroom with plenty of towels. The only noise I heard was from the gas station outside our window. Overall it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay. Congratulations to you and your husband on your anniversary! Please give us a call if you ever need another getaway and ask about our Romance Package that includes a night in a presidential suite, a bottle of wine, and chocolates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Best Western Ames has a great full breakfast every morning. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. For a small town in low season I was surprised at their 150.00 a night charge for the room. That would be my only complaint!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our expanded complimentary hot breakfast and that you noticed how clean our hotel is. Thank you for staying with us and please visit us again next time you are in Ames.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
1.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 2500 University Blvd., Ames, IA 50010-8621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ames
#3 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range: £89 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Ames, Iowa hotel located close to the Coldwater Golf Course, Iowa State University and the Ames Municipal Airport.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, a full-service hotel located just minutes away from the Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. This Ames hotel offers convenient access to the Iowa State Center, home to sporting events and concerts as well as the Iowa State University Research Park.The BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 87 spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with a refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast. This Iowa hotel also features an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome!Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites will be close to the Reiman Gardens, the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad and the North Grand Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to the Iowa Department of Transportation, the United States Department of Agriculture Disease Lab, 3M®, Sauer Danfoss and the Ag Information Center.For superior customer service and a convenient location in Ames, Iowa make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ames
Ames Best Western
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing