We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a nice hotel and a reasonable rate. The lobby area has been updated and is very nice. They have a very good hot breakfast which was great as we were there for a basketball tournament tournament. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

If there was a negative it was that there is no elevator. I found it really odd that a major hotel chain would not have an elevator. Therefore if you are handicapped, have an injury, or have lots of stuff to carry to your room you should request first floor.

Overall a good stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: As mentioned, choose first floor if you have lots of stuff or dislike stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcs122499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving feedback on your stay. We do have plans to add an elevator to our hotel in the near future. Thank you for mentioning our complimentary hot breakfast and I'm glad you found that convenient. I hope you enjoyed your weekend in Ames at the basketball tournament and please visit us next time you are in Ames.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    101
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
166
36
17
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jabbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
395 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Jun 16th till Jun 17th in room 105. The room has a bath with whirlpool, a seating area with TV. As a platinum member they presented us a gift when we checked in. The staff is helpful and polite. The breakfast features hot waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt and granola.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmarilisVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us. I appreciate the photos you posted too as they show our new televisions and keurig coffee makers. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Ames and please contact us if you will be in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed here because my son's baseball team was staying here. It would not have been my first choice in Ames. The floors throughout the hotel and our tub creaked. I think the biggest thing is, it needs a major renovation. Our air conditioner made an annoying noise all night. The hot tub was shut down until further notice and the pool was going to be down starting the day we checked out. What's going on with that? The breakfast was fairly decent. Our king bed was comfortable, which is important to me. Overall, I just think it was overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor (there are only 2) and didn't mind it, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krise1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to leave a review of our hotel. It sounds like you must have stayed the day we had a problem with a pipe below our pool flooring that had to be fixed immediately. If we have planned repairs scheduled we alert guests that the pool and/or spa will be down before they book and we put an alert on our website. Unfortunately things occasionally malfunction unexpectedly and need to be repaired immediately. We did post a sign telling guests that this was unexpected and that our guests were welcome to use the indoor pool and spa at the facility across the street at no charge. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed Friday and Saturday night as we were in town for a University visit.

We were greeted with very friendly and helpful staff.

The hotel was full both nights as there were dance and basketball activities in town. I was concerned that we would be disturbed as often happens when a hotel is booked full with youth. I was pleasantly surprised!!! The beds where incredibly comfortable and sounds/noise was not an issue at all. The rooms were quiet and a peaceful nights sleep.

Breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebigticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Our proximity to the university seems to work well for many travelers coming to visit ISU and I hope your visit was fun. Please come back and see us next time you are in Ames!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knob Noster, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband, my daughter and I had stayed at the Best Western Plus a year ago while visiting Iowa State University. We were pleased with the rooms for the price, so when we needed to visit again, we chose it again. Big mistake. Although the staff is still very nice and helpful, the condition and cleanliness of the hotel has gone downhill. My daughter had a non-smoking room, which was not too bad, except the carpets were very dirty where the floor met the wall. The thermostat in the room did not work--it would only spew out hot air, so my daughter did not get a good night's rest. My husband and I had to sleep in a smoking room, since there were no non-smoking rooms left. This was the most disgusting room I have ever stayed in! We used a whole bottle of febreeze in the room, and kept the window open, but it did not help. The fixtures were coated yellow with tar and the carpet was sticky. We dare not sit on any of the furniture. The thermostat in our room didn't work, either. Whenever I woke-up during the night, all I could smell was smoke. I felt dirty and gross. We couldn't wait to get out of that room. On top of that, the breakfast was average as best. We have another event at the university for next weekend and had made a reservation at the Best Western, but after this experience, we cancelled the reservation and will not stay here again.

Room Tip: If there are only smoking rooms available, stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My family rented a block of 10 rooms plus the party room for my mother's 80th birthday celebration this weekend. The hotel staff was extremely professional and responsive. Breakfast was excellent (particularly the coffee and yogurt bar.) The lobby is open, airy and comfortably furnished and was a nice place to gather in the evenings. The party room was a perfect venue for the festivities.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetV829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. I'm glad our hotel worked great for your mother's 80th birthday party and hope it was a memorable experience. Thank you again and we hope to see your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The Best Western Plus hotels get 2.5 stars in the bidding sites, but this is not accurate. While this hotel was not bad, it was not the equivalent of a Fairfield Inn or Hampton. Staff was nice. Room was ok, carpet was dirty, shower didn't work well. What I expect of a Best Western (1 star, maybe 2 star), not sure why this got to be a PLUS.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving feedback about your stay. The star ratings that are assigned by bidding sites often have rating systems that are inconsistent with hotel brand descriptor differences. For the most accurate descriptions of hotels and amenities I would recommend booking directly at brand websites in the future. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
1.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Address: 2500 University Blvd., Ames, IA 50010-8621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ames
#3 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Ames, Iowa hotel located close to the Coldwater Golf Course, Iowa State University and the Ames Municipal Airport.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, a full-service hotel located just minutes away from the Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. This Ames hotel offers convenient access to the Iowa State Center, home to sporting events and concerts as well as the Iowa State University Research Park.The BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 87 spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with a refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast. This Iowa hotel also features an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome!Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites will be close to the Reiman Gardens, the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad and the North Grand Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to the Iowa Department of Transportation, the United States Department of Agriculture Disease Lab, 3M®, Sauer Danfoss and the Ag Information Center.For superior customer service and a convenient location in Ames, Iowa make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ames
Ames Best Western
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing