We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a nice hotel. Convenient to Iowa State Campus and the highway. We always stay here when we visit our daughter in Ames. The rooms are clean, people are friendly, price is good and we like that breakfast is included. Breakfast selections are very good and everything is hot and fresh and they have a wide variety of foods so even a choosy person should be able to find something to please them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lsskes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for staying with us during your trip to Ames to visit your daughter. I'm glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast, cleanliness of the hotel, and our friendly staff. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    98
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
158
34
16
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Thank you for the clean hotel, rooms, great breakfast, and outstanding service! Highly recommend! Being a member of Best Westerns program helps save 20% on the room giving it great value. Nice little gas station next door if you need anything other than what is supplied. Pool area and hot tub were at a great temp and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SamanthaMarieThatsME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving feedback on your stay. I'm glad you found our location convenient for your college visit. Hopefully next time you have time to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. Thank you again and please visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

No complaints with this hotel! Check-in was fast and the staff was very friendly and helpful in giving directions. The bed was very comfortable (if you like it a little on the soft side) and the bedding was lovely. The shower had great water pressure and hot water. The hotel has a perfect location close to the university. Very clean as well! Did not eat breakfast there, but it was available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLMSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Ames. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Went to Ames to check out ISU, The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, important to me because I have Fibromyalgia. They gave me extra pillows per my request. The Breakfast was great, best yogurt ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your weekend in Ames and that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed in this motel before and every year we have not been disappointed. The staff is awesome by being so helpful and friendly. Everything about the room was more than you could ask for! Often when you stay at any motel, there always seems to be something that is not quite right (ie. pool water is too cold, breakfast is skimpy, no clean towels given, mattress and pillows may be uncomfortable, or whatever) but during this stay, we could absolutely not find one thing that was not top rate! Love this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. I'm glad you found our hotel comfortable and hope you enjoyed your visit to Ames. Thanks for staying with us and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton,MN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a find on this hotel. Very relaxing and comfortable. Gals at check in very helpful with even maps to all eateries around area. Hotel on outside very charming with wrap around front porch and hanging flower baskets. Inside lobby is very spacious and plenty of room for having breakfast in the AM. Room very nice as had small living area with microwave and mini frig. Also has sink with running water nice and handy. In between this area and room is the bathroom so that is in the center and makes it so handy. Room and bed very comfortable and had very good night of sleep. Breakfast in the AM consisted of "hot" scrambled eggs and sausage, cold cereals, fruits, waffles, choice of juice and coffee, sweet rolls and breads. All was presented well and kept clean. Will stay again if in area.

Room Tip: Would stay on side of lobby area as gas station on opposite side and you could hear cars coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the king suite you stayed in. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This Best Western is welcoming and I highly recommend it. The facility is cozy and very well kept! Very clean! Staff are helpful and really care that you have a great experience! My family will definitely utilize this hotel any time we are in the area and selecting a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charolette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
0.2 mi away
Gateway Center Hotel
Gateway Center Hotel
#13 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Address: 2500 University Blvd., Ames, IA 50010-8621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ames
#3 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Ames, Iowa hotel located close to the Coldwater Golf Course, Iowa State University and the Ames Municipal Airport.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, a full-service hotel located just minutes away from the Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. This Ames hotel offers convenient access to the Iowa State Center, home to sporting events and concerts as well as the Iowa State University Research Park.The BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 87 spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with a refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast. This Iowa hotel also features an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome!Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites will be close to the Reiman Gardens, the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad and the North Grand Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to the Iowa Department of Transportation, the United States Department of Agriculture Disease Lab, 3M®, Sauer Danfoss and the Ag Information Center.For superior customer service and a convenient location in Ames, Iowa make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ames
Ames Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing