We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Owatonna, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you are in the Ames/Des Moines area, this is your best bet. Nice hotel, great staff and good clean rooms. It's a 10 for me! This is a Best Western Plus, which puts it in the same catagory as many NICE hotels. We have been using the plus hotels more and more and find them a great place to stay. We look for clean rooms first, price is not our main objective. This is a clean hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback on your experience. It's great to hear that the Best Western PLUS amenities are comfortable for you during your stays. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for continuing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    105
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
187
38
17
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Clean, comfortable, courteous. Will stay again. Stayed for a family wedding. Used the nice banquet room for family gathering. Let us check out a little late, which was helpful. Felt safety was important to the employees, which is nice also. Good breakfast. Nice little pool.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowa502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Ames for your family wedding. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a nice hotel. Convenient to Iowa State Campus and the highway. We always stay here when we visit our daughter in Ames. The rooms are clean, people are friendly, price is good and we like that breakfast is included. Breakfast selections are very good and everything is hot and fresh and they have a wide variety of foods so even a choosy person should be able to find something to please them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lsskes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for staying with us during your trip to Ames to visit your daughter. I'm glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast, cleanliness of the hotel, and our friendly staff. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Thank you for the clean hotel, rooms, great breakfast, and outstanding service! Highly recommend! Being a member of Best Westerns program helps save 20% on the room giving it great value. Nice little gas station next door if you need anything other than what is supplied. Pool area and hot tub were at a great temp and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SamanthaMarieThatsME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving feedback on your stay. I'm glad you found our location convenient for your college visit. Hopefully next time you have time to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. Thank you again and please visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

No complaints with this hotel! Check-in was fast and the staff was very friendly and helpful in giving directions. The bed was very comfortable (if you like it a little on the soft side) and the bedding was lovely. The shower had great water pressure and hot water. The hotel has a perfect location close to the university. Very clean as well! Did not eat breakfast there, but it was available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLMSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Ames. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Went to Ames to check out ISU, The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, important to me because I have Fibromyalgia. They gave me extra pillows per my request. The Breakfast was great, best yogurt ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your weekend in Ames and that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed in this motel before and every year we have not been disappointed. The staff is awesome by being so helpful and friendly. Everything about the room was more than you could ask for! Often when you stay at any motel, there always seems to be something that is not quite right (ie. pool water is too cold, breakfast is skimpy, no clean towels given, mattress and pillows may be uncomfortable, or whatever) but during this stay, we could absolutely not find one thing that was not top rate! Love this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. I'm glad you found our hotel comfortable and hope you enjoyed your visit to Ames. Thanks for staying with us and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
1.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Address: 2500 University Blvd., Ames, IA 50010-8621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ames
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ames
#3 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Ames, Iowa hotel located close to the Coldwater Golf Course, Iowa State University and the Ames Municipal Airport.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, a full-service hotel located just minutes away from the Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. This Ames hotel offers convenient access to the Iowa State Center, home to sporting events and concerts as well as the Iowa State University Research Park.The BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 87 spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with a refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast. This Iowa hotel also features an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome!Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites will be close to the Reiman Gardens, the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad and the North Grand Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to the Iowa Department of Transportation, the United States Department of Agriculture Disease Lab, 3M®, Sauer Danfoss and the Ag Information Center.For superior customer service and a convenient location in Ames, Iowa make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ames
Ames Best Western
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing