We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at the Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites this past weekend when visiting Iowa State to facilitate a conference. This Best Western Plus was, hands down, the best hotel stay that I had at a Best Western Plus. The Front Desk staff was absolutely courteous and respectful and always greeted the guests with a smile. The young man and woman working on Friday and Saturday nights (04/04-04/05/2014). As part of a Front Desk management team, I have to say that they were very impressive and would love to have them on my team. Overall, during my next trip to Ames, I will definitely be staying at the Best Western Plus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for staying with us and for leaving us feedback on your stay! I'm very pleased to hear that our staff helped make your stay comfortable. We take customer service very seriously and know that many hotels are clean and comfortable - it's the customer service that sets hotels apart. This is why we put a large focus on customer service and we're thrilled to hear that it helped you have a great stay. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here while attending a conference in town because the location was convenient. Even though the lobby was under construction, the room was clean; the bed was comfortable; and the breakfast was really good. I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeniffer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for being patient with us as we remodel our lobby, business center, breakfast area, and fitness center. It is almost done and we hope you will stay with us again to see it all completed. THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites in Ames, IA. The hotel had construction going on in the lobbly and I received a letter to advise me of the inconvenience. The staff was wonderful I needed a special accomodation for a walk in shower when I arrived they had already determined the best way to help was put me in the executive suite. The rooms were wonderful, clean, bright and bed was very comfortable. I'll be back next year and the lobby will be renovated and the facility even nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have been commuting on a weekly basis for the last 3 weeks, staying a minimum of three nights. I am ALWAYS greeted by the front desk, check-in is quick & smooth, any issues or questions are handled quickly and efficiently, and any changes I need to make are done without hassle. The front desk staff are great to work with and remember when you go in & out.

They are going through some remodeling right now - improving their hotel with an elevator and an completely re-done interior front entrance way. They are pretty good about not starting loud noises before 7 AM and are wrapped up before 6 PM. Right now the breakfast area seems a little limited as far as choices go - perhaps with the changes they might be able to expand in this area.

I have been requesting the business suite which has a little more room to stretch out in; it can get kind of claustrophobic when stuck in a small room for 3+ days. It has an extra TV, small kitchen area with dorm-sized fridge, microwave and small sink. Nice enough to bring a meal back to the room and eat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetCat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a great hotel. The beds are very comfortable. It is extremely clean, and the service is excellent. They are improving it because they are adding an elevator. The breakfast is OK, limited selection

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Recently My daughter and I needed a place to stay in Ames, IA. We were fortunate to get the last room available at the Best Western Plus in Ames, IA. My college daughter had just had minor surgery & I was stranded in Ames for an extra day, due to the winter storms. The young ladies at the front desk were incredible! They were very professional, genuinely friendly, and I sensed that they truly cared about our well-being. (the impressive part of this experience was... they had no idea of our situation). They were just naturally very kind. I highly recommend staying at Best Western Plus in Ames, IA

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Good new breakfast items. Renovations will be great when completed, but I have not experienced any inconvenience during the changes. I stay at this location between 20 - 30 nights a year, and have been for at least 13 years. I feel like I'm 'home when I'm there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
1.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 2500 University Blvd., Ames, IA 50010-8621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ames
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ames
#3 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range: £90 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Ames, Iowa hotel located close to the Coldwater Golf Course, Iowa State University and the Ames Municipal Airport.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, a full-service hotel located just minutes away from the Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. This Ames hotel offers convenient access to the Iowa State Center, home to sporting events and concerts as well as the Iowa State University Research Park.The BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 87 spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with a refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast. This Iowa hotel also features an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome!Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites will be close to the Reiman Gardens, the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad and the North Grand Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to the Iowa Department of Transportation, the United States Department of Agriculture Disease Lab, 3M®, Sauer Danfoss and the Ag Information Center.For superior customer service and a convenient location in Ames, Iowa make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ames
Ames Best Western
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing