We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were looking for something low cost, no frills expected, so we did a search for the area, low to high. There was one place with lower cost (not much lower) but horrible reviews so we took a chance on the Econo Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised. The facility was relatively new, very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly, the free breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to provide you with the best service each and every time we have you as our guest. you are the reason we are here and hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our one night here was quite nice. The room was small but very clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a fridge and microwave. The person at the desk was very competent and committed to great service. We had one small issue that she resolved immediately and graciously. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your last stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Hollie P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2013

A very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast and good service at a time when they were very busy. Clean rooms, clean lobby and kitchen area. Convenient location for anything in Ames. A good value. I would stay there again. The rice krispies treats when you checked out were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed at this EconoLodge in Ames on the way through. The queen bed room was very basic. The furniture was sparse and cheap looking. The TV was about a 32 inch flat screen which was nice. The carpet looks like it needed replacement which I understand they are in the process of doing in many rooms. The bathroom was nice in that it had a granite countertop around the sink much like that of a Hampton. The tube insert was nice and clean. A mirror was in the room apart from the bathroom which is nice for multiple guests. The breakfast included biscuits and gravy (not my favorite), a waffle maker, cereal, donuts, toast and fruit (of which the bananas were starting to turn black and way past ripe). The coffee was empty and the person working the breakfast seemed to be working the front desk as well so may have had too much on his plate (no pun intended). Overall, an okay place to stay a short stay for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of highway 30 for a little more quiet from the trucks passing by...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottS898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bansri A, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This stay was good. We came on a busy weekend when lots of hotels were booked. We usually stay at another hotel, which we really like. The breakfast choices were very good, but they weren't able to restock quickly. Our room had a fridge and microwave (ask for one), had comfortable beds, and was clean.

Room Tip: Request a room with a fridge/microwave
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Very nice motel and room. Were able to have ground level room as requested. Staff was very nice. Great service! Room was clean. Breakfast was very good and fresh. We had a lot to choose from. I would gladly recommend them. Motel was right off the freeway so it is easy to find. An excellent value for the money! Lots of restaurants within 1.7 miles. Thank you for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#11 of 20 in Ames
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2600 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010-6495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price Range: £45 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our pet-friendly Econo Lodge hotel in Ames, IA near Iowa State University is an easy stop on the road where you can find a great place to stay, all at a great rate. Enjoy these popular Iowa destinations near our discount hotel in Ames: Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad and Museum, Ames Municipal Airport, Reiman Gardens, and North Grand Mall. Make travel a little easier on everyone by taking advantage of these amenities at our hotel which include a computer with Internet and copy and fax services so you can get work done, in addition to: Free continental breakfast, Indoor heated pool, Guest laundry, Popcorn machine, and Sauna. Your inviting guest room includes a flat-screen TV, desk, coffee maker and hair dryer. This Ames hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. This Econo Lodge hotel in Ames allows you to stay on budget so you can focus on the important reasons you travel. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Ames
Econo Lodge Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing