We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had never stayed at this chain previously and we were very pleasantly surprised! It was very clean and had a nice environment and they are pet friendly. We did not have any complaints, very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    69
    26
    4
    9
See reviews for
124
20
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I recently stayed at the GrandStay and loved my time there. The management is beyond terrific, and the staff is efficient and helpful. I felt very much at home there. And due to unfortunate circumstances, I didn't check in till a very late 3:00 a.m. Nonetheless, I was greeted by a kind and helpful front desk clerk. The bed was very comfortable, the facility was very clean and quiet and I would go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had reserved a two bedroom suite online, but when we arrived they had us in a one bedroom suite and didn't have any two bedroom ones left. So I asked for the one bedroom rate and the lady said "oh that is the one bedroom rate". I didn't buy that so I was prepared to talk to the manager at some point. Well I didn't get the chance. When I checked out the next morning the same lady said "my manager dropped your rate for the mixup". Soooo the bottom line is they did an excellent job of damage control and I would stay there again. Nice rooms, clean. On the downside, hard beds, and breakfast was so so. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, MN.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for one night. Got a good price on Orbitz. Suite was very nice, great value. Clean, comfortable and big, Would be great for a family. Drain in shower was sluggish. Only stayed one night so I don't know if they responded to my request to fix it.. Bed was hard, no pillow top here. .Pillows were poor. All in all, a good place to stay in Ames. Directly connected to Old Chicago. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know about your stay at GrandStay Ames. We appreciate that you let us know about the slow drain -- you can be assured that this was fixed after you checked out. And remember . . . Old Chicago will deliver lunch or dinner directly to your room! We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Ames, IA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Recently ,my son had knee surgery in Ames Iowa.
We stayed at the Grandstay in a room for handicapped individuals before and after his surgery.
This place is wonderful. The staff is so helpful. The room was on the 3rd floor but there was an elevator. The room was huge with a complete kitchen and a shower which could be entered with a wheel chair and also had a large seat. There were 2 Queen beds and a couch that opened into another queen. Two tv's.
In the morning there was a compete hot breakfast available on the first floor.
We would definitely stay here again whether or not we needed help with special needs.

Room Tip: We had room 308
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you, Ann, for your kind comments regarding your stay at the GrandStay in Ames, IA. We hope your son has a speedy recovery from his knee surgery!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Rooms are great with a kitchen, living room, bed room and bath. Quiet, clean and well maintained. The bed was too saggy for my taste and the pillows very stiff. Lack of a dresser in the bedroom was also inconvenient. Daily breakfasts were well stocked and offered a good variety of food. Staff was attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We are local residents and were welcomed in after a house fire one evening when they made accomodations for 3 of us and our two dogs on one of the coldest nights this winter. The next day they moved us to a larger suite to fit our needs better. What started out as a 1 week stay turned into 3 until we were able to return home. The motel manager and front desk staff were more than helpful helping us with our ongoing needs. Any extra linens, kitchen needs were promptly met by the housekeeping staff. We made use of the breakfast bar a few times, and the restaurant attached was great on not having to go out on the COLD Iowa nights! Many kudos to the staff for their help during our stressful time. We definitely recommend this hotel to area travelers!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
We were glad we could help ease the stress of being displaced from your home. It was a pleasure to have you and your two well-behaved dogs stay with us! Please keep GrandStay in mind if you have visiting relatives or have any other need for hotel accommodations in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Address: 1606 S Kellogg Ave, Ames, IA 50010-8000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ames
#6 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXTENDED-STAY, FAMILY & EXECUTIVE SUITES HOTELGRANDSTAY AMES, IOWA. GrandStay(R) Residential Suites Hotel in Ames, Iowa offers spacious family and executive suites. Conveniently located off Interstate 35 at the corner of Duff Ave and Hwy 30, our Iowa hotel offers all the comforts of home with complimentary Grand Start Breakfast™, high-speed Internet, and fully equipped kitchens in every suite. In the heart of the Midwest and Iowa, Ames is the source for tradition, discovery, diversity and of course the Cyclones. Enjoy 33 woodland parks, hop on our 55 miles of bike and pedestrian trails or do what we do best and cheer for the best college teams in the nation! With a variety of Studio, One & Two Bedroom suites, with nightly, weekly and monthly extended-stay suites and accommodations available, our Ames, Iowa hotel is perfect no matter your needs. Enjoy the best of Ames and the all comforts of home when you stay in our luxurious business and family hotel. Reserve your hotel suite today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Ames
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing