We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room -great price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Ames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great room -great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I travel alot for business & leisure. I usually shy away from Comfort Inns-but all hotels in the area were sold out. I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Rooms were in good condition & clean. Beds were very comfortable. Hotel was in good condition. Staff was very attentive, friendly & professional. There were a group of high school kids staying there also. When someone checking in next to me made a comment about the kids causing alot of noise. The desk staff person informed them that the chaperones had asked the front desk to notify them if the kids got too loud and they would take care of it. The high school kids were not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mro201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    42
    50
    43
    31
See reviews for
104
16
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

For an overnight on a road trip this was a very nice little place to stay. Some wear and tear is showing on the tub but all was clean. Pool is small but more than adequate if not crowded. Breakfast offered a variety and we were back on the road quickly. Deb at the desk was great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTrpTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Arrived late afternoon to see alcohol containers all over the lobby. A traveling hockey team was also staying at the hotel. Throughout the evening and into the night, a large group of teenage boys were running up and down the halls, slamming doors, knocking loudly, screaming profanities, fighting in the hallways. Meanwhile, their parents were in the lobby drinking hard booze and beer, getting drunk, overcrowding the entryway and overtaking the lobby, making it uncomfortable and nearly impossible to pass in/out to our car. (Parents were also hooting and hollering in the halls later.) Our children were terrified to leave our rooms, go to the pool, access the vending machine, etc. Multiple guests complained to the hotel - even provided cell phone video footage of the ensuing chaos - and NOTHING was done by the hotel to rectify the situation. The price we paid - $100/room - was OUTRAGEOUS for the feeling of being held hostage in a threatening environment. The lack of customer service and professionalism was astounding - it was like the motel grabbed our $200 bucks, threw us a key, and said, "Welcome to the free-for-all." Worst overnight motel stay we've EVER had and the the motel simply did not care. Guess the rowdy guests were spending more money and, therefore, more important.

Room Tip: If you want to be rowdy, get drunk in the lobby, run the halls all night - without getting in troubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ames hotels

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We are business travelers and stay in hotels over 100 nights a year. I can judge a property fairly well by how clean the public/common areas are. The stair wells were dirty with lots of dried mud probably from construction workers who stay there. Not much effort was made to keep the tile clean because the texture of the tile was filled with months of dirt. The room was OK. I always bring my own sheet to cover the hotel blanket. After a nice breakfast (standard for all Comfort Inns), I saw a big fat mouse or rat run across the floor of the hotel supply room next to the dining area. That was a first for me! Apparently, it was a common experience due to the response from the desk clerk.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmer City, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel is a little older but seems to have been maintained well. I would guess that it was one of the earlier hotels in this area that now has many hotels close together. The Hotel was clean and well maintained and the staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good. The one odd thing is that the elevator is not where you would think it should be. It is down the hall quite a ways.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
172 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Nothing spectacular except for the breakfast! Room had a heating/air conditioning unit that worked well but was a bit noisy if you are a light sleeper. Kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Clean and the staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papiomary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Very nice hotel, all of the people were very friendly, room was very clean and the breakfast had several options to choose from. Would stay there again if passing through.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJsKreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Ames

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
Address: 1605 S. Dayton Place, Ames, IA 50010 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ames)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Baymont Inn & Suites Ames hotel is a great choice when you want to visit Iowa State University (ISU). With our proximity to the company offices of 3M, Barilla America Inc. And Sauer-Danfoss, we are also positioned well for Ames area business travel. Our pet-friendly hotel in Ames, Iowa features a heated indoor pool, and free on-site parking for cars and large vehicles. Enjoy a delicious free breakfast at our Baymont Breakfast Corner, featuring hot items. Our spacious guest rooms and suites offer free Wi-Fi, as well as desk, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, coffeemaker, and flat screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ames
Ames Comfort Inn
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing