We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay”
Review of Red Roof Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ames
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ames
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and had a great experience. This time, the staff was exceptional but the heater did not work and we received space heaters until it was fixed the next day. the staff was Very helpful and we were not charged for the first night because of the problem. Otherwise, the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rzmz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide our team with feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! Our team is very sorry about the unexpected issue you faced with your heater during your stay with us. Our commitment to service and quality is always backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee and we are glad to see we were able to utilize this tool and we were able to get the heater fixed for you as well! On behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to our Hampton, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our stay was great. We were in Ames for a aunt's funeral and had to book last minute. The staff at the Hampton were very helpful not only for us but our extended family as well. The 1st night when we walked into our room there was a beautiful bouquet of flowers from the hotel extending their sympathy to us for our loss. This to me was a very kind gesture, going above and beyond customer service. I will make the Hampton of Ames my #1 place to stay in Ames.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your great review! Our entire team was very sorry to hear about your loss and are glad we were able to help you and your entire family during your trip to Ames! Providing great guest service is what Hampton is known for! (We even gave it our own name - Hamptonality!) On behalf of all your friends at our Hampton Inn Ames, we are thrilled to hear we are your number one choice and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just overall sub-par compared to what I am used to. Checkin staff did not seem adequately trained. The rooms are very small. Halls smell like stale smoke. Breakfast fruit was uneatable (old/mushy) , Out of coffee, the area pool was so hot that it was uncomfortable, The fan in room was very loud and temperature hard to regulate. When I arrived Temp was at 78 degrees... I like it at 65. Temp was 70 degrees at departure at 9 am... Positives: The breakfast lady was very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank VPdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we were sad to see we didn't meet your expectations with your heating cooling unit in your guest room, our breakfast items, front desk staff, and our swimming pool. Again, thank you for letting us know so we can work with our team to try and resolve these issues. We have reached out to you via email so we can honor our 100% Hampton Guarantee. We would love to have to back as I assure you this is not the usual experience at our Hampton! Our entire team looks forward to seeing you again for a more enjoyable experience next time your travels bring you to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a very nice small Hampton Inn. It is very warm and inviting. Lobby is small and quaint. Desk staff very welcoming and helpful. They had a map of Iowa State Univ. which is where we were heading and the gentleman at the desk gave us perfect directions. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was very quiet as well considering the parking lot was very full. The breakfast was small but good. They had several cereals, breads, muffins, waffle maker, yogurt and fruit. The hot breakfast consisted of an omelet, potatoes and sausage. I look forward to staying at this location again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for letting others know about your time with us at our Hampton! I'm very excited to share your review with our team. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to visit Iowa State University! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful. Our meeting went well and the hotel staff was very accomodating. The WiFi could have been quicker in the meeting room, but I have found this to be an issue at many hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We loved having you here and are glad you selected our Hampton not only for your past meeting but to stay with us as well! We have forwarded on your comments about our internet to our Stay Connected by AT&T support team to see what went wrong during your time with us in our meeting room! Thank you again for providing us with feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I spent one night at the Hampton Inn as I could not make it home after work due to a snowstorm. The check-in staff were very efficient. What a nice surprise to see warm soup and cookies waiting for guests if they chose not to venture back out into the awful weather!
My room was on the first floor and was very clean and suited my needs. Very comfortable king size bed, large flat screen tv, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker available. Free wi-fi in the room. This is an older hotel, but has been remodeled. However, the walls seem a bit thin and could hear noise next door and in the hallway at night. My room door didn't seem to fit very well in the door frame and jiggled as people walked by. Thank goodness for the deadbolt and security latch!
I did use the exercise facility--one treadmill and one elliptical. The treadmill and elliptical were both Precors and were in good working order! Pool was small but adequate for the size of the hotel.
Breakfast the next morning was good. Hot items included cheese omelets, sausage, make your own waffles and a breakfast bagel sandwich. Cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, breads and pastries rounded out the menu.
I prefer to stay in Hampton Inns when traveling. Was very thankful that this hotel had a spare room for my last minute booking! I would definitely stay here again if Mother Nature decides not to cooperate when it comes time for my commute home from work!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krileyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We love to really "wow" our guests and our team was excited to offer our guests fresh soup during the most recent blizzard that came through Ames! We can't wait to summer to arrive! Our team was thrilled to hear your review about our hotel, and we are sorry about the noise issues you had during your time with us! We have undergone many changes the past few years and we look forward to continuing to better our Hampton by using your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Ames!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Extremely pleased with our stay at this Hampton Inn. Exceptional and helpful staff, quiet rooms, wonderfully comfortable beds, easy to get to from the highway, and a great continental breakfast offering! Will definitely stay here again on future trips.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank J_and_T12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Its always great to hear such postive feedback from our guests! We strive to provide the best service in Ames, and our team is dedicated to your 100% satisfaction! We are glad you enjoyed our cloud nine clean and fresh beds by serta, cuppled with our freshly washed duvet and fluffy pillows sometimes it can be hard to wake up in the morning! We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Ames!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ames

Address: 1400 S Dayton Pl, Ames, IA 50010-6436 (Formerly Hampton Inn Ames)
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
#7 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range: £43 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ames, Iowa home to Iowa State University. Located just off of US-30 our hotel provides easy access to all of Ames attractions whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Nearby businesses include Syngenta Seeds, Amcore Rigid Plastics, Barilla America Inc, Monsanto Co., USDA, Danfoss and Danaher Oil. Our hotel is also close to Pfizer, Workiva, DuPont, John Deere, Dow Chemical and the Mary Greeley Medical Center. Not traveling for business? Not a problem. Our guests enjoy events at the Jack Trice Stadium, Hilton Coliseum, and the Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad & James H. Andrew Railroad Museum. Start your stay off right with a complimentary continental breakfast (6am-10am) and coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby, then get your workout in, in our fitness center or indoor pool. Traveling for business? Take advantage of our business center or host your next meeting in our conference room. The Red Roof Inn Ames offers guests comfortable, pet-friendly, family friendly rooms equipped with free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a desk. Select rooms will also offer a microwave & refrigerator. A coin laundry is also available for your convenience. One well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ames
Ames Hampton Inn
Red Roof Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing