We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Roof Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ames
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ames
GreenLeadersSilver level
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was comfortable and the ladies who work at the front desk were welcoming and helpful. They offer nearly whey hygiene product that we left at home at the front desk for no extra charge. The hotel offered an excellent breakfast also at no extra charge. My only complaint was that the rooms were not very sound proof and I could hear people in neighbouring rooms and in the hall way. Other than that I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sjdoglover913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for all your kind comments about your past stay with us at our Hampton! Our team was thrilled to hear your review! Everything you mentioned are all the reasons we love to be apart of our Hampton family of hotels! We are always looking for ways to improve as well, and we will look into the issues you had with noise. On behalf of our entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back to Ames again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    112
    51
    34
    5
See reviews for
136
45
16
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stay at this Hotel often and am always greeted with a helpful friendly smile along with a warm cookie when you check in (evening). Andrea at the front desk is usually there for check in and always very friendly and engaging. I have stayed in many rooms on both floors and have never had a complaint on room condition or cleanliness. very comfortable beds with Large TV's and multiple plug ins for electronics fit my needs when I travel. Mornings always start with a nice warm breakfast with a lot of variety. Lisa makes sure she starts your day off with a smile. You tell her to have a good day and she will tell you to have a better one. They make you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for giving us a review on Trip Advisor! We strive to be the friendliest and cleanest hotel in Ames and we are happy to hear we were able to live up to our promise! We have shared your review with the team and they were excited to hear your comments. On behalf of all of us in Ames, we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hampton soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and had a great experience. This time, the staff was exceptional but the heater did not work and we received space heaters until it was fixed the next day. the staff was Very helpful and we were not charged for the first night because of the problem. Otherwise, the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank rzmz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide our team with feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! Our team is very sorry about the unexpected issue you faced with your heater during your stay with us. Our commitment to service and quality is always backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee and we are glad to see we were able to utilize this tool and we were able to get the heater fixed for you as well! On behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to our Hampton, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our stay was great. We were in Ames for a aunt's funeral and had to book last minute. The staff at the Hampton were very helpful not only for us but our extended family as well. The 1st night when we walked into our room there was a beautiful bouquet of flowers from the hotel extending their sympathy to us for our loss. This to me was a very kind gesture, going above and beyond customer service. I will make the Hampton of Ames my #1 place to stay in Ames.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your great review! Our entire team was very sorry to hear about your loss and are glad we were able to help you and your entire family during your trip to Ames! Providing great guest service is what Hampton is known for! (We even gave it our own name - Hamptonality!) On behalf of all your friends at our Hampton Inn Ames, we are thrilled to hear we are your number one choice and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just overall sub-par compared to what I am used to. Checkin staff did not seem adequately trained. The rooms are very small. Halls smell like stale smoke. Breakfast fruit was uneatable (old/mushy) , Out of coffee, the area pool was so hot that it was uncomfortable, The fan in room was very loud and temperature hard to regulate. When I arrived Temp was at 78 degrees... I like it at 65. Temp was 70 degrees at departure at 9 am... Positives: The breakfast lady was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank VPdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we were sad to see we didn't meet your expectations with your heating cooling unit in your guest room, our breakfast items, front desk staff, and our swimming pool. Again, thank you for letting us know so we can work with our team to try and resolve these issues. We have reached out to you via email so we can honor our 100% Hampton Guarantee. We would love to have to back as I assure you this is not the usual experience at our Hampton! Our entire team looks forward to seeing you again for a more enjoyable experience next time your travels bring you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a very nice small Hampton Inn. It is very warm and inviting. Lobby is small and quaint. Desk staff very welcoming and helpful. They had a map of Iowa State Univ. which is where we were heading and the gentleman at the desk gave us perfect directions. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was very quiet as well considering the parking lot was very full. The breakfast was small but good. They had several cereals, breads, muffins, waffle maker, yogurt and fruit. The hot breakfast consisted of an omelet, potatoes and sausage. I look forward to staying at this location again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for letting others know about your time with us at our Hampton! I'm very excited to share your review with our team. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to visit Iowa State University! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful. Our meeting went well and the hotel staff was very accomodating. The WiFi could have been quicker in the meeting room, but I have found this to be an issue at many hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We loved having you here and are glad you selected our Hampton not only for your past meeting but to stay with us as well! We have forwarded on your comments about our internet to our Stay Connected by AT&T support team to see what went wrong during your time with us in our meeting room! Thank you again for providing us with feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ames

Property: Red Roof Inn Ames
Address: 1400 S Dayton Pl, Ames, IA 50010-6436 (Formerly Hampton Inn Ames)
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
#8 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ames, Iowa home to Iowa State University. Located just off of US-30 our hotel provides easy access to all of Ames attractions whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Nearby businesses include Syngenta Seeds, Amcore Rigid Plastics, Barilla America Inc, Monsanto Co., USDA, Danfoss and Danaher Oil. Our hotel is also close to Pfizer, Workiva, DuPont, John Deere, Dow Chemical and the Mary Greeley Medical Center. Not traveling for business? Not a problem. Our guests enjoy events at the Jack Trice Stadium, Hilton Coliseum, and the Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad & James H. Andrew Railroad Museum. Start your stay off right with a complimentary continental breakfast (6am-10am) and coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby, then get your workout in, in our fitness center or indoor pool. Traveling for business? Take advantage of our business center or host your next meeting in our conference room. The Red Roof Inn Ames offers guests comfortable, pet-friendly, family friendly rooms equipped with free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a desk. Select rooms will also offer a microwave & refrigerator. A coin laundry is also available for your convenience. One well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ames
Ames Hampton Inn
Red Roof Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing