We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Red Roof Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ames
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ames
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 April 2014

a good place to stay in Ames Iowa where the people are friendly, the hotel is comfortable, and the price is very affordable leaving little doubt that Hampton is the working-man's choice for a decent night's accommodation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

"Real Value From Your Friends At Hampton" is one of our best mottos and your review reflects that we are a great choice when you are looking for real value! From free high speed internet, free breakfast, free coffee tea and hot chocolate you can't go wrong when booking at Hampton! On behalf of our entire team in Ames, we thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Ames
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Needing a hotel for the weekend to visit college Son, this fit the bill. Staff was super welcoming and friendly all weekend. Pool was ok, not very big and no hot tub. Lobby worked great for playing games after dinner. Room was nice but a little small for the pull out couch. Great Staff!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your past stay with us at our Hampton! We have many different room types at our Hampton, and we would love for you to try out our two room suite during your next stay with us. This room has nearly three times the space of the room you booked during your past stay with us and is perfecft for the entire family! Check us out at Hamptoninn.com to see pictures or even better become our friend on facebook! If there is anything else we can do for you prior to your next visit please let anyone on our team! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Really love this hotel! The staff is really awesome and they will definitely take care of you when you stay. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family when looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 175reneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your kind recommendation of our Hampton! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We love to continue to build our circle of friends, and are glad to hear we have you as a new loyal friend to Hampton! On behalf of our entire team in Ames, we look forward to welcoming you back to Ames the next time your travels bring you to Ames!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We just returned from a similarly priced hotel in Washington D.C. and were very impressed by how much nicer and cleaner this hotel was.I have 2 kids going to Iowa State and have now found a home base for visits.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our Hampton! We love to hear we have acheived our goal, and just by reading the title of your review we know have met our goal of being one of the cleanest hotels in the Ames area! We are glad you have selected us as your home base during your family's adventure at Iowa State! We have so many exciting changes happening everyday and we look forward to sharing these with you over the next few years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was comfortable and the ladies who work at the front desk were welcoming and helpful. They offer nearly whey hygiene product that we left at home at the front desk for no extra charge. The hotel offered an excellent breakfast also at no extra charge. My only complaint was that the rooms were not very sound proof and I could hear people in neighbouring rooms and in the hall way. Other than that I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sjdoglover913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for all your kind comments about your past stay with us at our Hampton! Our team was thrilled to hear your review! Everything you mentioned are all the reasons we love to be apart of our Hampton family of hotels! We are always looking for ways to improve as well, and we will look into the issues you had with noise. On behalf of our entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back to Ames again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stay at this Hotel often and am always greeted with a helpful friendly smile along with a warm cookie when you check in (evening). Andrea at the front desk is usually there for check in and always very friendly and engaging. I have stayed in many rooms on both floors and have never had a complaint on room condition or cleanliness. very comfortable beds with Large TV's and multiple plug ins for electronics fit my needs when I travel. Mornings always start with a nice warm breakfast with a lot of variety. Lisa makes sure she starts your day off with a smile. You tell her to have a good day and she will tell you to have a better one. They make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for giving us a review on Trip Advisor! We strive to be the friendliest and cleanest hotel in Ames and we are happy to hear we were able to live up to our promise! We have shared your review with the team and they were excited to hear your comments. On behalf of all of us in Ames, we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hampton soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and had a great experience. This time, the staff was exceptional but the heater did not work and we received space heaters until it was fixed the next day. the staff was Very helpful and we were not charged for the first night because of the problem. Otherwise, the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rzmz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide our team with feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! Our team is very sorry about the unexpected issue you faced with your heater during your stay with us. Our commitment to service and quality is always backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee and we are glad to see we were able to utilize this tool and we were able to get the heater fixed for you as well! On behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to our Hampton, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ames

Address: 1400 S Dayton Pl, Ames, IA 50010-6436 (Formerly Hampton Inn Ames)
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
#8 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range: £55 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ames, Iowa home to Iowa State University. Located just off of US-30 our hotel provides easy access to all of Ames attractions whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Nearby businesses include Syngenta Seeds, Amcore Rigid Plastics, Barilla America Inc, Monsanto Co., USDA, Danfoss and Danaher Oil. Our hotel is also close to Pfizer, Workiva, DuPont, John Deere, Dow Chemical and the Mary Greeley Medical Center. Not traveling for business? Not a problem. Our guests enjoy events at the Jack Trice Stadium, Hilton Coliseum, and the Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad & James H. Andrew Railroad Museum. Start your stay off right with a complimentary continental breakfast (6am-10am) and coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby, then get your workout in, in our fitness center or indoor pool. Traveling for business? Take advantage of our business center or host your next meeting in our conference room. The Red Roof Inn Ames offers guests comfortable, pet-friendly, family friendly rooms equipped with free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a desk. Select rooms will also offer a microwave & refrigerator. A coin laundry is also available for your convenience. One well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ames
Ames Hampton Inn
Red Roof Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing