We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly nice hotel, but won't be coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence
Orland Park, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mostly nice hotel, but won't be coming back”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I love most Country Inn & Suites hotels, so this hotel was a strong contender for a place for family to stay for our son's wedding. However, this hotel has a policy that the rooms must be held by credit card. We checked with several other hotels in the area and no other hotel has this policy. Management's attitude was bordering on belligerent, and definitely not tactful. Found another nearby hotel that is glad to get our business.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    42
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
65
22
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We were uncomfortable in the Comfort Inn in this business park, so we checked into this one for the weekend.

The cookies in the lobby are the. best. ever.

The room was well appointed, attractive and clean.

Its only downfall was the bathroom with its uber-cheap fixtures, overhead flourescent lighting (ACK!) peeling wall paper and sloppy grout and paint and caulk fixes. HOWEVER, it beat not having the repairs made at all. The sink stopper was lying in the sink; the tub would be great for bating pets or small children or perhaps even little people. I think the only smaller ones I've seen have been in campers. The towel allotment was pretty stingy (two) considering their thinness.

Extra pillows for the comfy bed made for a good night's sleep. Outback Steak House is right in the business park. IHOP and a number of fast food places are within a 2 minute drive acrpss the interstate.

Walgreens (open til 10 pm) is nearby, as are Menards, Home Depot, Target and other shops. Just minutes to Des Moines - I would happily stay here again..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangabitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2009

I stayed at this location during a winter storm. Nick the front desk clerk was very nice. If you have to talk to anyone up there talk to him, The other staff members were more concerned about doing the job, rather than making me as a guest happy. Everyone was still very cheerful.

The room itself was beautiful. I was told they had just completed a remodel of the entire hotel and you can tell. The room was a little pricey, but you get a lot with it. you get internet, free breakfast...and it is huge. Free cookies and hot coffee.

The area is great too. There are lots of restaraunts and plenty of places to get the things you need when stranded and it was so much fun swimming in thier super warm pool while it snowed out the windows all around us. I reccommend this place to anyone that needs a place traveling along I35

  • Liked — Breakfast and the great people.
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank staceyplarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

A standard but nicely appointed Country Inn and Suites hotel. We booked by telephone "on the road" late in the evening and arrived at almost 11pm. Friendly staff and a an excellent, if typical motel-style, room. Breakfast was sparse but adequate (if you ignore the hot food). Very adequate for a quick overnight stay.

  • Liked — -Clean, efficient and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, given the type of hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank il_tenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2006

Hotel has a non-standard and deceptive cancellation policy. They say you may cancel a reservation within 48 hours of the day of arrival. What they do not say is that they mean cancel by midnight of the morning of the day of arrival even though you can not check in until after 3PM.

The reality is that you really have to cancel 3 days before your arrival. This is not an industry standard policy nor is it evident on their web site. Further they do not send email confirmation of the reservation so the unwary traveler may be caught with unnecessary charges.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank FrglTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 June 2006

I was able to get a new key with no photo id or questions asked. The hotel staff gave out my room number instead of calling my room.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2005

I just returned from a business trip and stayed at
the Country Inn. For the most part the hotel is fine,
but the room I stayed in was a bit too warm for my
tastes. Other then that I would recommend this place.

Helpful?
2 Thank Stpauliaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Ankeny
Comfort Inn Ankeny
#5 of 13 in Ankeny
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
Address: 2510 SE Tones Dr, Ankeny, IA 50021-8860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ankeny
Ankeny Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing