We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed one night in the accessible room. The room/lobby/hotel was clean & well maintained.
We didn't try the breakfast. The desk staff was helpful. It was a good location with restaurants nearby. No complaints, except for me, the pillows are very firm to my taste.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaotrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Chaortl,

Thank you for rating us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you had a good stay with us and hope that you will come and see us again.

Juile GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    56
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
100
25
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is one of the better AmericInns that I have stayed in. Much better than the one just 15 miles north in Ames. Our stay was pleasant, the halls were quiet, the staff was very friendly, and the room was clean. Only two complaints would be that the temperature of the hot tub was way too hot and a few of the breakfast items did not seem fresh. Good fruit selection at breakfast though so that was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kate M

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. As always I am passing this along to my staff. We hope to see you in the future.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I first stayed at AmericInn in Ankeny back in March. I was very impressed with the front desk staff, the cleanliness of the room, and the free breakfast.

Because of my good experience, I decided to spend the extra money to stay at AmericInn again last weekend even though there were much cheaper options. We had to stay in a King Suite because that's all that was available so it was $150 a night.

The breakfast was even better this time around, but that's where the positives end. The room was not very clean. I was already turned off when I opened the coffee maker and saw bits of "stuff" inside the water reservoir. No clue what it was. However, that was nothing compared to finding children's underpants in the lampshade. We don't have children.

I told the girl at the front desk and she apologized, but that was about it. Perhaps it was a busier weekend than usual, but in the future, I'll save my money and try another hotel. Definitely not worth the $300.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Bree S

Thank you for responding on Trip Advisor, your feedback is important to us. I am terrible sorry about the issues you had when you stayed. We have working more intensively with housekeeping to avoid any such issues. If you would ever decide to give us another opportunity please contact me at the hotel and I will see that you recieve a discount and a free upgrade. Thank you again.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked our softball team into this hotel at the last minute and was immediately impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the person who helped with our reservations. Much of our team arrived before I did, and all feedback was postive even before I checked in. Upon arrival, we were able to check in a little early, and everything was clean, fresh and pleasant. Botton line, it was a great stay and we will stay here again next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Jill H,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, our guests are our top priorty. I appreciate the staff compliments and will pass them along. We hope we will see you again.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed for a family weekend getaway. I was a little apprehensive at first because we have never stayed at this chain before. When I made the reservation, I received a great rate. The clerk also informed me they had no elevators so she would put us on ground level which I appreciate with 3 kids. I also mentioned we would need a cot, she would make a note, but could not guarantee us one because of the first come, first serve basis. Fair enough. Check in was a breeze, and to our surprise, a cot was waiting for us in our room. Wow! Sometimes it's just the little things that leave the biggest impression! We liked the open feeling of the lobby area. The pool and spa impressed us by being the largest we have ever come across. Nice stretched out design. Spa rules are enforced, no children under 12, which ok, I get, but my 7 year old really loves the warm water and I didn't see anything wrong with him sitting on the edge as long as an adult was around. It was kind of bummer, but whatever.
The fitness room is tiny, a treadmill and a bicycle, but the treadmill did the trick for us. If you're huge on fitness, make other arrangements.
Overall, we were pleasantly surprised.
If I had to be picky, I would say they could step up the cleaning a bit. (Ex: wrappers, straws, beside coffee display was left on the floor beside garbage can for too long.) Also some of the coffee carafes were broken; they would pump slowly and one lever would always break. But, that's being picky. We did see workers cleaning the windows and counters which was nice to see.
We would stay again. Great location and friendly staff! Keep up the good work, customers do notice.

Room Tip: Nice room décor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMichelle312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
DMichelle312,

Thank you for the review, it is important to get guest feedback so that we may know where to improve. I glad your check in and stay were pleasant. We will step up on our cleaning. We hope to see you in the future. Thanks again.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This past weekend was my husband and my first anniversary. After our original for a different hotel went down hill, Alyssa from Amerinn hotel in Ankeny changed our day from bad to wonderful!!! The roo
was beautiful and very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Ashley,

I am glad one of our employees turned your evening around. I will pass the info along to her. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberling City, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We held our annual "cousins reunion" at this hotel for the second year and we're once again very pleased. The staff is exceptional and go out of their way to make sure everything is ok. We always use the meeting room at the hotel and somehow seem to use the lobby also and the staff is always helpful and pleasant to everyone. We try to use AmericInns wherever we hold our reunions and have always been very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Kae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Kae S

Thank you for responding on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, customer service is our priority. I will pass your comments on to my staff. We look forward to hopefully seeing your group in the future.

Julie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Ankeny
Comfort Inn Ankeny
#6 of 13 in Ankeny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
Address: 1610 SE Oralabor Rd, Ankeny, IA 50021-9451
Region: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ankeny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing