We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sold our room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Bolckow, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sold our room”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We in person confirmed our room with a confirmation number but when we came back that night they had sold our room. We were then forced to find a place to stay or sleep on cots at a - DISCOUNTED - rate. Needless to say we moved on with that comment. I would suggest any person or business look at other hotels when staying in this town because this one has bad management!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at a different hotel probably will not be sold out from under you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback for us , we appreciate your comments. We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We are under new management since this spring and they have been emphasizing improved customer service throughout all parts of the hotel, including accuracy at the front desk. All hotel staff has been retrained since spring to fully understand the need of our customers. We hope in the future you will give us a chance to show that your first experience with us was not the normal course of business on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    31
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
16
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florenceville-Bristol, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Young people all need a job but they should be more attentive while performing duties. Upon arrival, the young man posted at the front desk was out front talking to his girlfriend and smoking. He opened the door for me and said he would be right in. He did come in after finishing his cigarette. Everyone needs a break, but take it when you have time. The room was average and slightly dated but fit the profile of what they offered. Not really noticing, earlier I found bugs in the bed on the last night. Was not impressed. Expressed my displeasure to the youg girl at the desk on check out and she could say nothing. She was so embarrased. Left a message for manager to contact me and sent email with no reply. Will never return and will never recommend to any collegues.Little dirt and young inexperianced staff I can handle. Bugs, no! Charged me full rate and I destroyed close to $500 in clothes and suitcase. Thank You Quality Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We appreciate your comments, and are sorry to you had a bad experience. As new management I have been emphasizing improved customer service throughout the hotel, including housekeeping and front desk service, as well as, retraining staff to always put the guests’ needs first. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback for us. We hope you will stay with us again and give us a chance to fully meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ankeny hotels

Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Room was clean, bed was comfortable, was pretty busy for during the week but never heard anything from the halls or neighboring rooms. Everything worked accordingly. Never got to experieince breakfast because I left before they started serving, but the girl at the counter did offer to get me a cup of coffee/juice and a roll/bagel if I wanted one, so she went above and beyond there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamCar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We are happy to hear that you had a good experience during your stay with us. I appreciate any feedback to improve upon or to acknowledge the staff. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This place is adequate but I think better values are available at nearby motels. The internet did not work in my room and after several tries i was asked to contact the IT provider myself in order to see if I could fix their problem. It was never fixed. The desk clerk was pleasant and tried to fix things but was unable to. I was given a slight discount on my bill at my suggestion. The room was dimly lit and with the furnishing being a dark color made it difficult to see things like a wallet, phone chargers, combs and such. All in all it was fair value for the price. In the future I will try to find a different place to stay when staying in the Ankeny area.

Room Tip: See comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hienie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We appreciate your comments. We are sorry to hear that the wireless internet wasn’t working properly during your stay. Our new management has emphasized an increased focus on customer service including adding multiple new access points for the wireless internet. We hope you will stay with us again and allow us to provide a more satisfactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

To keep this short we were double charged for our room after being given half off for a error on the hotels part (they gave our room away). We were charged the discounted rate and a full rate. I had to argue to get my money back for the charge telling them it was not a "hold" they claimed it was. I was told that they had done enough for us by giving us a discount and she was not going to do any more and a hotel employee can not stay at that rate. I am more upset that I expected a sincere apology and the answer we value you as a guest and are sorry attitude. After I asked for the district manager number or higher contact number I get told "I dont have it written on my hand". I was also told, "I havethe owners personal number but will not give it you." I do not expect anyones home number but I am sure they could have him contact me. If it were my hotel I would want to know how my guest feel. My biggest complaint is the rudeness from the manager. We stay often with quality Inns and suites and this is one to avoid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hotel. The property is under new management since this past spring. I have been emphasizing an increased focus on customer service in all areas of the hotel, including front desk accuracy and how guests are treated. We hope you will give us a chance to demonstrate our improved customer service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
348 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

When we checked in, the hotel was CRAMMED FULL with Boys Basketball tourney visitors. They let their kids run up & down the halls-at all hours and forget about us using the pool. Kids were sitting in the hallways, hollering and running everywhere.

By Sunday, it was peaceful & quiet.

Why don't families TEACH their children how to behave when they stay in a hotel? We find this at every hotel. When there are tourneys in town - IF we can find a vacancy - the kids ruin it for the rest of us.

As far as the amenities of this location - beds were comfy, weather was nice enough we left the windows open 24/7 (early March) but there was only 1 washer/dryer.

We would stay again, although it was quite a commute to Carlisle for our work project.

Room Tip: NOT during sports tourney time. 3rd floors avoid kids stomping as a wake-up call, but you willk hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment. We are glad to hear that your experience was mostly positive. Our new manager has instructed the front desk staff to put sports teams on the lower floors as much as possible so that other guests may have the quieter third floor rooms. We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was a respectable motel. This hotel will be in need of a make-over soon, as it's showing some wear - but it served our purposes for the two nights we needed it. It's not really obvious for getting into the lot. You have to turn in to what looks like the storage lockers & apartment building just beyond the motel and double back to get to the motel lot.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment. Our property has been receiving some updates this year, and our new management continues to look for ways to enhance the guest experience. Unfortunately, the City of Ankeny hasn’t permitted us to construct a driveway directly to the main road. We appreciate that you took the time to find the access road to our entrance, and we hope you will come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
3.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
#10 of 13 in Ankeny
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Ankeny - Des Moines
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ankeny
Comfort Inn Ankeny
#6 of 13 in Ankeny
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 201 SE Delaware Ave, Ankeny, IA 50021-9345 (Formerly Heartland Inn Ankeny)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 57 room hotel. All of our guest rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. We have an indoor heated pool and fitness center available for use. We offer a hot breakfast in the morning and snacks in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing