We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistantly good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranallo's On 3rd - CLOSED

Ranallo's On 3rd
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistantly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

One of our "date night' spots. Great atmosphere, good bar, nice choice of wines and the food is always good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Having a good time, no one else was in the place, asked to not come back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Bar tender not friendly at all. Wow if someone spent 3-400 on a bar tab I think I would keep my mouth shut. Asked not to come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank firedud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We made reservations for the Lovers holiday expecting romantic ambiance. We weren't disappointed. Wait staff was responsive, the food was amazing, coffee was outstanding, and the experience was very memorable. It's expensive and the menu is limited, but a nice choice for a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ImaLadyBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were given a gift card for this place and decided to go on our wedding anniversary. We were impressed with the atmosphere, staff and the food. It is a bit pricey but we will probably only use it for special occasions. We don't recommend this as a child friendly place. The wines we had were excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jkindyDesMoines_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Special occasion only due to price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is one of those places that my wife and I use on a special occasion such as a wedding anniversary. The service is usually quite good. The food is excellent although as others have noted a bit overpriced. I will give the bartender an A+ for his Southern Comfort Old Fashions. They are the best that I have found in the Des Moines metro area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBoy8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing