We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best...but glad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines Area
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Ankeny
Reviewed 14 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ike R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Galen G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I booked our room online. All the hotels in and around Des Moines had doubled and even tripled their rates. I booked our room at $65 per night. They were charging more than $100 per night. The room ate nit worth $100. We stayed in room 129. The room was clean. The air conditioner didn't work well, luckily I brought a fan along. The room was equipped with a fridge and microwave. We needed that. The manager was nice and very helpful. The pool was down. I wanted to swim. Overall it's an okay hotel for the price we paid.

Gran'e

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraneMarie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

First floor, handicap room had no screen on the window and the bathtub/shower was FILTHY!! Mold around the faucets and under the track where the shower seat would go. We did NOT bathe here! Breakfast area was SMALL with minimal choices. Pool is still not repaired as of the end of June. It was down in April when we made this reservation - what's the hold up? Health department should be notified. We are contacting the state attorney general with this matter.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

i booked with travelocity first for the colfax inn which they said i couldnt book it and charged me anyway my family and i arrived after a 4 hour ride to the central air being broke they booked the wrong room that was fixed by getting a room with the 2 beds the key did not work so noone could leave all together. disgusting mildew smell in the whole place turning on the air made it worse!air unit fell apart bedbug cover on the beds bathroom disgusting! manager and employee knew it was disgusting and just kept apologizing i was there about an hour an couldnt take it i packed my family up and went to
the quality inn across the street it was cheaper and a palace compared to this place do not waste your money this place should be shut down or tore down

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeNTanyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

are absolutely correct! This is the worst Super 8 I have ever stayed in. The sign on the front door was a pre-cursor......Pool Closed for Repairs. I was not especially concerned because I didn't come here for the pool. The message here is, the whole place should be closed for repairs! The toilet in my room needs fixed . The trickle of water running in the tank was a signal that repairs are not done on a regular basis and that wasting precious water is of no concern to the owner .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Beavercowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived around 9:30 pm. Outside looks terrible. Got inside and hit square in the face with the heat. lobby and halls were so hot. absolutely no air. there was noone at the desk. had to call for her. she was outside on her cell phone. she was very nice. she had a fan blowing on her because of the heat. we got checked in with 2 rooms near the desk area - filthy. in my room, we couldn't close the curtains so had to use the ironing board to keep them closed. the air conditioner worked in both rooms. good thing, because i would have left the hotel and gone across the street. both rooms stunk beyond bad. our towels were filthy. stained. you could tell they did not bleach them clean. took back two towels and got the last two towels they had. in the other room, there was a garbage can full of garbage. i went to take it to the front desk. no front desk person. she was outside on her phone again. when she did come in, she was shocked and apologized for the garbage left in the room. we sprayed the rooms and i wiped everything down with sanitzer. checked for bugs in the beds. none. pillows were flat and bedding was not white. need to use bleach or some sort of whitener on them. blankets and bedspreads very thin. we had no choice but to stay there because we were all exhausted and tired. decided it was like tent camping - dirty but when you're tired, who cares. it was quiet in the building, so sleep was good. i did wake up at 3am. went to my car to see if i could find my cellphone. nobody was at the front desk. Again! i went to car, came back. still nobody. i dialed the 0 number on the phone by the couch. it rang and rang and rang. a few minutes later, a young man answered. i asked him where he was at. he finally popped in from outside and said he had been doing errands and such. what baloney! i don't know what he was doing but i let him know that he is responsible for everyone in this hotel and needs to be at his work station. he apologized. i went back to bed. got up and ready. we left around 9 or so. the breakfast there was a big joke. but, we didn't care. we just wanted out of that hotbox. i asked the day clerk why it was so hot. he said the air conditioning broke down. i felt very sorry for the workers there because that had to be miserable. also, no pool. the whole place is in very dire need of a cleaning. day clerk was very friendly and helpful. felt sorry for him. Owner and management is neglecting this hotel that could be a very nice one.

Room Tip: I would not reccomend staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Ankeny
Ramada Ankeny
#8 of 15 in Ankeny
361 reviews
3.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
#11 of 15 in Ankeny
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 15 in Ankeny
112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines Area

Address: 206 SE Delaware Ave, Ankeny, IA 50021-6530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range: £43 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines Area 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ankeny
Super Eight Ankeny
Ankeny Super Eight
Ankeny Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing