We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd Stay, disappointed this time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Algiers
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“3rd Stay, disappointed this time”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

It was my third stay in this hotel.
I have rated it once on Tripadvisor as excellent but this time was way too disappointing compared to the other two stays.

Starting from the fact that I'm A-club platinium no favor was given to me and nothing personalized was offered as the Accord advertising claims.
In the room there was not even a fruit basket welcome which was the case in the previous stays and in all other comparable hotels in Algiers that I have been staying in before.
I have ordered food from room service and it was one of the worst experience that I have ever had.
The dish took at least one hour to be delivered and it was extremely poor.
I ordered a Filet and a Salad.
The Filet was extremely small with almost no accompaniment.
The salad was not seasoned and the veggies were not that clean.
The other experience is with the towels were I have asked for a face towel that I never got (the face towels were not there when I checked in)
I will really think twice about staying in this hotel during my next visit to Algiers which is very soon unless I see a serious reaction from their management to this review.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DjeridiAndProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value all the feedback we get from our guests and share with all the Ambassadors as part of hotel policy.

I have noted your comments with great interest and we are all sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations.
I would like to apologize personally for all that you have felt during your stay, and for failing to answer all your legitimate expectations.

Be assured that the information has been sent to all our teams, so that this experience does not happen again.

I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel, and make you live another experience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    251
    88
    32
    18
See reviews for
38
59
47
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I'm told this is the best hotel in Algiers. This is sure to be a worrying statement for anyone planning to stay in any of the others!
This hotel really does not conform to what I would expect of a Sofitel (except in terms of price) and, if I were in charge of that chain, I would either remove the Sofitel name or initiate an immediate and dramatic improvement plan to bring it into line with what the Sofitel brand is supposed to represent. Following my experience here, I will simply never again assume that, because the name on the reservation says "Sofitel" I can be assured of a high level of quality and service.
It has it's good points - the main hall and reception area is impressive. However...
The bedrooms are 2 star at best. I actually experienced two - I was moved from the first after I complained about the aircon noise (not from mine, which was switched off, but from generators or something in the roof space).
In both cases, similar observations: cheap, white melamine cupboard interiors that were chipped and water-stained, damaged furniture including wobbly bedside tables with legs hanging off, plug sockets falling out of the plastic circuits that are stuck on the walls, IKEA-style TV housing units, mould around the aircon grilles, dowdy wallpaper (heavily marked), chipped bathroom tiles, cracked shaving mirror, dirty net curtains. I think the second room was an upgrade - it had a terrace (filthy: not swept for several weeks). The room also had a musty smell. I didn't bother too much at first (having been relocated from my first room in my pyjamas, I simply wanted to sleep), but the following morning I realised that it was a result of a large part of the carpeting being soaking wet - my guess, rain run-off from my terrace.
To sum up, the bedrooms are cheaply furnished and neglected.
I was there for a meeting. The meeting rooms are ok, the staff who service them less so. We didn't have big demands, but did need a functioning light box. The one in the room cut out if not used for a few minutes. Not a problem normally, except that the meeting room support staff refused to leave us the remote control. Every time we wanted to re-start the machine, we needed to find this person, who proved to be extremely elusive, always taking several calls and reminders to the reception staff to track down. Empty coffee cups were not replaced at breaks, nor water, etc. In other words, we got the room, but were on our own from then on.
Overall, I would not recommend it for either a meeting or a stay!

Room Tip: I don't think there is any advice to give on this. I would avoid the 8th floor, to get way from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingdave0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

It is with pleasure that we receive your points and remarks, as it allows us to improve the quality of services that we offer to our customers.

I take this opportunity to apologise that your experience does not meet your expectations, and rest assured that the information is shared with all our team.

If there is something I can do to make your future stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Sofitel algiers is a good place to stay ! Very nice lobby with bar & band in the evening. large rooms, clean and a very comfortable bed...
The staff is very helpfull...and will make your stay most enjoyable !

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

i stayed there a few months ago, now i wanted to go back.
I sended 3 e-mails before i made my reservation, to make some things clear.

For a 5* hotel you would expect that they would answer, never i received an answer, for my this is a very bad service for a hotel who pretends to be the best in Algiers

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didi091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luc l, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear guest,
I thank you for sharing your concern with us.
I would like to confirm that we do have a dedicated reservation center at the hotel, which can be reached over the phone or directly through the email address h1540-re@sofitel.com.
I am interested to better understand how this situation happened. In order to get more details, you can reach me directly at the following email address: luc.lamorille@sofitel.com.
I once again apologize for this inconvenience and I remain at your disposal for further information.
I look forward to your upcoming stay at Sofitel Algiers, with best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was my 2nd stay at the Sofitel in Algiers and I must say it was a poor experience over the 1st visit. I arrived on a 2 day business visit and was checked into my room. The A/C in the room was not working and I made several complaints before I was shifted into another room at 11pm at night. Again the A/C in the new room was not working and I had to complain. The technician was called in and he confirmed it was not working and that he had "fixed" it now. Needless to say nothing was done. I made a 3rd complaint in the morning before leaving for work and asked to fix the issue before I returned in the evening. Again nothing was done by the evening. Finally I had to call for the on duty manager and complained to her of my problem. I was made to change rooms again (3rd time in a 2 day trip) and was upgraded to an executive suite where the A/C was finally working.

I was very surprised that this was the sort of problem I faced in a 5 star hotel. The stay left a very poor impression of the hotel. The staff did not understand the challenges. Twice the front desk just transferred my call to another department while I was still explaining them the problem. Just re-direct my call while I was speaking... very rude I thought.

I dont think there is a lot of other better choices in Algiers and hence they are still doing good business. I would say strictly average.

Room Tip: Only recommend staying on the executive floor (4th I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_the_Globetrotter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Guest,

At first I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a comment on Tripadvisor, following your recent stay at SOFITEL Algiers Hamma Garden.

Any comments from you is appreciated, as it allows us to improve the quality of services that we offer to our guests.
I have noted your comments with great interest and we are all sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations.
I would like to apologize personally for all that you have felt during your stay, and for failing to answer your legitimate expectations.

Be assured that the information has been shared with our teams, so that this experience does not happen again.

Indeed, the quality of service and comfort that we are committed to providing our guests every day should be perfect, and we will consider all feed back to correct the issues that you have mentioned, and make the corrections and adjustments.
We are constantly working on improving our services and once again we apologize for the disappointments.

I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel.

I remain at your entire disposal, and please accept the expression of my highest consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graceland
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Pool was open for everyone else than those who didn’t stayed in hotel. Its pool was so filthy, bad smelling and not maintained properly. Service was poor, incredibly expensive. Lobby smelt like that of raw sewage. Wasn’t good for me I didn’t found it appropriate.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EthanT274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post an answer at Tripadvisor following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and points; we will certainly share them with our team.

I take this opportunity to apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations, and rest assured that the information is shared with all our team so that this situation does not recur.

If there is something I can do to make your future stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I have stayed 3 nights in this hotel during a business trip and it was excellent. It was my second stay in this hotel and the quality was just exceptional.
The rooms are big enough and extremely clean.
The service was at a world class level.
The food is just good enough and not exceptional.
However, the location is not the best and there is not much things to see around.
If you are going to Algiers for a business trip, I recommend this hotel as one of the best.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DjeridiAndProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Google Translation
Cher Hôte,

Je vous remercie d’avoir pris le temps de poster une répondre, suite à votre séjour au Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour nous tous qui travaillons jour après jour pour rendre votre séjour agréable.

C’est toujours un réel plaisir de vous accueillir dans notre établissement.

Merci encore une fois pour vos réponses.

Mes sincères salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algiers
2.1 mi away
El Aurassi Hotel
El Aurassi Hotel
#2 of 27 in Algiers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#3 of 27 in Algiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.3 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#4 of 27 in Algiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilton Alger
Hilton Alger
#14 of 27 in Algiers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
7.3 mi away
Ibis Alger Aeroport
Ibis Alger Aeroport
#1 of 2 in Bab Ezzouar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden

Property: Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
Address: 172, rue Hassiba Benbouali, Algiers 16015, Algeria
Phone Number:
Region: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for your next business trip, the Sofitel Alger is just 5 minutes from downtown, less than 20 minutes from the airport, right by the Botanical Gardens, the National Library and the Fine Arts Museum. The funicular can take you up the hill overlooking the old souk and the port. The 3 restaurants offer a variety of options: El Mordjane serves fabulous Algerian dishes, Le Continental boasts French gourmet meals, the coffee-shop is a great place to catch a quick bite between meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden Hotel Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing