We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply: never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Algiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was my fourth stay in this hotel and I have already written two reviews on it.
The first two stays were excellent and I wrote a thankful review on that.
The third stay was disappointing and I wrote another review on that as well (it was a bad scoring of course)
When the manager of the hotel reacted to my blaming review, I took this as a positive point for them as giving care to customer reviews.
Thus I decided to go back to this hotel.
The check-in experience was just basic and I was given a small room with a very small window and almost without airing, there was not bath tube but just a damaged shower and the dressing could not fit the less of luggage that I have... and it was an executive room.
I asked to change the room and I was promised so in couple of minutes. After more than 45 mn, the guy came proposing me another room but I was already settled down and started a conference call.
The food in the executive lounge is just poor and once I attended there 30 mn before closure and I was told that the food was finished as they got lot of customers.
I tried the restaurantr as well for dinner and the buffet was really poor for such class hotel.
Last but not least, and cherry on the cake, I let some money notes on the desk, put the "Do not Disturb" tag on the door knob and went to the gym to come back with some notes that had disappeared (yes I got robbed but some small notes)
I have raised this to the executive desk giving him the exact time and he promised to check.
I got just an answer when I was checking out whether I found my money or not??????
As per the title, I simply will never be back to such a mess and pity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DjeridiAndProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

was not one of my best experiences i expected more!
It is expensive, but the staff display the best levels of service (mostly) that I have experienced in Algiers. I have tried two other hotels during my visits and always come back at one trip trying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noonymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience, following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers.

I take this opportunity to apologise that your experience does not meet your expectations.

Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nice hotel set behind a raft of security measures (necessary for this location) - tend to get the feeling of wanting to stay in and not go out but there are a few restaurants within the protective circle. Otherwise the rooms are good & the food is great. Service amongst the best

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience, following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers.

I am delighted that your stay in our house was just great. Our Ambassadors have had the pleasure to make you enjoy special moments, your satisfaction is our greatest reward.

We are pleased to welcome you back next stay.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was a classical Businesstrip to Algier. As it already have been recommended to me from other Businesspartners, i did went into this Sofitel Hotel and i can say, that it was a good Choice. It have a nice and cosy Design - i liked it. Top friendly Service there. Staff did speak good english and also they gave me few good Recommendation for some typical Restaurants in that Area. Also in that Area have been few very good Shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahgoesSUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

It is with pleasure that we receive your compliments; we will certainly share them with our team.

Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It is expensive, but the staff display the best levels of service (mostly) that I have experienced in Algiers. I have tried two other hotels during my visits and always come back at one trip trying elsewhere. Allow time for breakfast, the service is near the slowest ever experienced.
But t generally I like the gym, pool area, bar area and it is immaculately clean. Mini bar full of soft drinks is complimentary.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank pmcc1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013
Google Translation

Cher Hôte,

Je vous remercie d’avoir partagé votre ressenti suite à votre séjour dans notre maison, c’est avec bonheur que je lis que vous avez apprécié notre fitness et l’efficacité de nos équipes.

Par ailleurs je suis navré de savoir que votre petit déjeuner était un peu long.

Je ne manquerai pas de partager vos commentaires avec l’ensemble de mon équipe dont l’ultime objectif est de vous offrir une magnifique expérience au cœur d’Alger la Blanche.

C’est avec plaisir que nous vous accueillerons lors de votre prochaine escale Algéroise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This Sofitel in Algier had been booked thru my company, i have been there for 4 Nights. I did enjoyed this Trip very much, due the Hotel and it Service have been very professional and great Atmosphere there. Mostly Businesstravellers there and the Businesscenter was well outfitted. I had a Standard Room, wich was nice decorated. Good Service in their Restaurant too. Safe Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FantasyBlueStar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

It is with pleasure that we receive your compliments; we will certainly share them with our team.

Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Had a couple stays at this hotel. It is quite welcoming.
The rooms service is quick.
The check-in is rather slow but not painful.
The rooms are comfy and quiet.
I particularly like their bar at night, they have a great selection of teas and a piano musician playing classic French songs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors as there tends to be conventions and you can have noisy parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us following your recent stay at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.
It is with pleasure that we receive your compliments; we will certainly share them with our team.
Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algiers
2.1 mi away
El Aurassi Hotel
El Aurassi Hotel
#2 of 26 in Algiers
423 reviews
6.3 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#5 of 26 in Algiers
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#3 of 26 in Algiers
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Day
New Day
#8 of 26 in Algiers
7 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ibis Alger Aeroport Hotel
Ibis Alger Aeroport Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bab Ezzouar
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden

Address: 172, rue Hassiba Benbouali, Algiers 16015, Algeria
Region: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
#2 Best Value Hotel in Algiers
Price Range: £124 - £939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for your next business trip, the Sofitel Alger is just 5 minutes from downtown, less than 20 minutes from the airport, right by the Botanical Gardens, the National Library and the Fine Arts Museum. The funicular can take you up the hill overlooking the old souk and the port. The 3 restaurants offer a variety of options: El Mordjane serves fabulous Algerian dishes, Le Continental boasts French gourmet meals, the coffee-shop is a great place to catch a quick bite between meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Prestigia, ACCOR, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden Hotel Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing