We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really think this is going to be my favorite restaurant in Algiers!”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #1 of 298 Restaurants in Algiers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$60
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I really think this is going to be my favorite restaurant in Algiers!”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

I love indian food and was really suprised to find such a tasty good food. The atmosphere is great and the place is neat, clean and warm. Having a non smoking room is a plus and having it right in front of the kitchen is also quite entertaining. It is not cheap cheap but I kind of feel it is in line with the country and the same level other restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gianluigi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    250
    63
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
208 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A fair choice in Algeria, since not much of real good restautants in the City”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Good restaurant, food is normal, service quiet good, choice of dishes also. It is very far from the other indian restautants around the world, specially the ones in Dubai. But for a night out and a change from hotel restaurants, this is a good choice. No idea about the prices as we were invited for business dinner, but it doesn't seem expensive,

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WissBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algiers
1 review
“Taj Mahal - like Real Taj Mahal !”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Algiers is a beautiful city but evenings and eating out are dull and devoid of options. Taj Mahal is like an oasis in the desert. Food is very good and service excellent. The staff is smiling and very hospitable. The Algerian man at the gate speaks Hindi and is full of warmth - an extra touch to the fare, really ! All said, I think the Rogan Josh has a scope for improvement. Their mixed kebab platter (sizzler) and Dal Makhni are really masterpiece. Yes, as some reviewer said, adding Pappadoms and some mango chutney would take Taj to even sublime levels. And all this in Algeria !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guru Sharan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the better choices in Algiers”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

There are not a lot of eating options in Algiers. It becomes doubly difficult if you are vegetarian like me. A few colleagues took me to Taj Mahal during my last visit to Algiers and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food. The food tasted quite authentic and the service was good.

We ordered a number of dishes and were not disappointed. I recommend it for your next evening out in Algiers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_the_Globetrotter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algiers, Algeria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok Indian”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

World wide culinary choices are few and far between in Algiers and therefore the opportunity to eat Indian whilst living there for 2 years was quite exciting. Whilst the curry and rice was good, I was disappointed that there were no poppodums or mango chutney

Helpful?
1 Thank Mahdiyyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Algiers, Algiers Province
Algiers, Algiers Province
 
Algiers, Algiers Province
Algiers, Algiers Province
 
Algiers, Algiers Province
Algiers, Algiers Province
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing