We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not a fancy restaurant, but I love it. Worth driving for a while.”

Restaurant Chez Sauveur
Ranked #37 of 304 Restaurants in Algiers
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“It is not a fancy restaurant, but I love it. Worth driving for a while.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was my second visit to this restaurant. It is about 20-30 min drive from the city center of Algiers depending on the traffic. OK, as some commented below, it may not be a fancy restaurant, but I love this place. I can just keep eating the shrimp, calamari, and fried fish. I hope the owner and chefs of the restaurant will improve their services. I am a Japanese, and so I hope you would trust my comment. You'd better be prepared eating shrimps in a bit messy way with hands.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fukuyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    10
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scandicci, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fried fish, delicious”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Good quality-price ratio. Real algerian port-restaurant..gentile people and very nice view from window..

Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algiers, Alger, Algeria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bad, Just plain bad”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The service is horrible, the food isnt fresh, They had calamari, but when I ordered it, the waiter acted like there wasnt any calamari even though it was in the open fridge! I also took a quick peek in the kitchen from that small window, and it was so filthy and the cook's clothing were stained and the pots were greasy. It is kinda costy though and indeed there are much better restaurants in Algeria for the exact same price.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanaa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisons Alfort
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This restaurant serves excellent seafood in a basic local atmosphere. Althiugh it is by the sea there is no particular view.

Everything is fresh and sold generally by weight.

Try the shrimp as starters (you will keep ordering more).then the fish according to your taste (which you can chose). I prefer red mullets myself. With local (cheap) white wine.

The service is OK, rather friendly.

It is a little far (about 2500 Dirams by taxi including waiting and return.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlbrillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banjul, Gambia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EWWW it was so disgusting”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

hi I went to this restaurant and it was awful there was a worm in my soup and when i told the waiter he said i should drink around it. So I did, then when the dessert came i asked for the cream bullet and they brought it to me and I ate it later I asked what they made it out of and he told me they made it out if his mother's milk.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jallowjahou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Chez Sauveur also viewed

Algiers, Algiers Province
Algiers, Algiers Province
 
Algiers, Algiers Province
Algiers, Algiers Province
 
Algiers, Algiers Province
Algiers, Algiers Province
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Sauveur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing