We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was here running a seminar for a client...”
Review of Hilton Alger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Alger
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Algiers
Reviewed 21 August 2014

so my review will cover 3 areas; my personal experience of the hotel; the restaurant facilities; and the hotel as a conference venue. My stay was fine, the room was spacious with a balcony looking out over the tennis courts and pool. While I was here, they experienced a burst water main, which meant that there was no hot water on one day, but that could happen anywhere. Service at checkin/out and in the bar patio area was fine. I personally found the public areas a little warm, but the bedroom temperature was just fine.
I used 2 restaurants, the Sara for lunch where there is waiter service, and the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The Sara was fine, and the food is good, but as a trainer/ facilitator of many years' experience, my suspicions that they would not be able to turn around 25 people in one hour was completely justified. We never managed to get lunch done in under 75 minutes.
Breakfast was fine, with the option of chef-cooked omelettes or whatever. I have to say that the salad buffet in the evening is one of the finest I have ever experienced, in terms of variety, presentation and content. Congratulations to the creator! Mohammed at front of house was friendly and welcoming always.
This hotel is pretty good as a conference venue. The rooms are on the first floor, and when I asked Lilya to reorganise the room layout, this was done quickly and without fuss. The room itself was very hot, the aircon seemed not to be working, so we depended on a draft from outside to keep somewhat cool. I would like to have seen more of Lilya, and to feel she was looking after us carefully. I'm sure my client was paying large sums for use of the hotel. The training room was serviced adequately and we got regular supplies of coffee, croissants and cakes. All in all, not bad - I have experienced both much worse and somewhat better - let's say 6/10.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALVAIRE, Gérant at Hilton Alger, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on tripadvisor.

I inform you that your report will be shared with our heads of departments and they will take it in consideration to improve our services.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Hilton Alger and I hope that I will have the pleasure to welcome you on the occasion of your next trip to Algeria.

Best Regards

Mohamed Amine OuldAli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Good : location in business next door. Rooms with see view..large size rooms with internet
Service : bad
Food : average to bad. Had a dinner, food was not tasty at all and service too slow.. drink come only after I already started and after 2 reminders
Lobby bar cafe not air conditioned
Long queue on checking
Taxis brought by hotel concierges do not use surprisly metering but start at 10 euros fix pricing..if u walk 100m, u can grab a taxi for 2 euros

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMAMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALVAIRE, Gérant at Hilton Alger, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on tripadvisor.

I inform you that your report will be shared with our heads of departments and they will take it in consideration to improve our services.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Hilton Alger and I hope that I will have the pleasure to welcome you on the occasion of your next trip to Algeria.

Best Regards

Mohamed Amine OuldAli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hotel was recommended for our visit to Algiers, and was conveniently located for the airport. Expected a 'run of the mill' Hilton and first impressions were quite good. However, check in took an age - 4 of us in queue for at least 30 minutes - just one very unhappy and slow person on the desk and 5 empty positions...lots of staff 'milling around' and pretending to be busy. Not a good start - and the air conditioning seemed to be off in the lobby too (for our entire stay), so quite hot & bothered quite quickly!

Room OK. Free internet good, and worked well. Breakfast was very poor. Limited choices and no variety. Most of it looked like it had been out for hours - dried and curled up meat & cheese. Scrambled eggs with a thick 'skin' on top. Didn't eat much. Expected better.

Other restaurants in the hotel were OK, but service everywhere was very slow - with the exception of the Pool restaurant, which was mostly OK. Bar staff were frequently absent and had to go and find them most of the time - which clearly annoyed them...and it wasn't that busy.

One big shock was the price of food - not sure how expensive it is elsewhere in Algiers, but $22 for breakfast (i wouldn't normally pay a quarter of that for what we got - but price not mentioned until check out!) and nearly $30 for very average pizza...total rip-off.

Will be trying the Sheraton next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALVAIRE, Gérant at Hilton Alger, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on tripadvisor.

I inform you that your report will be shared with our heads of departments and they will take it in consideration to improve our services.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Hilton Alger and I hope that I will have the pleasure to welcome you on the occasion of your next trip to Algeria.

Best Regards

Mohamed Amine OuldAli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel several times over the last 12 months and I disliked almost everything about it. Why did I go back then? you'd ask. Well, there isnt much choice in Algiers...

At 186 euros a night excluding breakfast, this property is definitely giving a bad reputation to the Hilton brand !

Chek-in and check-out: I had to queue up for almost 30 minutes before i was attended to.

The room is never cleaned properly and when it stinks ! Room service ? You need to call them 10 times and wait 1 hour before you get what you ordered.

State of the furniture leaves much to be desired. I bet the balcony had not been cleaned for years: the window pane was full of bird droppings as was the balcony floor.

On one instance, i head a loud noise in the corridor and went out ! wow ! workmen were dismantling the door of the room opposite mine and replacing it :).

One exception though: the food in all restaurants is very good, as is breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IbnBattutadeMalte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALVAIRE, Gérant at Hilton Alger, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014
Google Translation

Cher Client,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi l'hôtel Hilton Alger

Nous avons pris connaissance de vos commentaires avec beaucoup d'intérêt et nous n'avons pas manqué de les partager avec l'ensemble de nos collègues afin d'améliorer notre qualité de service

Nous espérons toujours vous compter parmi nos clients fidèles et vous prions de continuer à nous aider à maintenir la qualité de service appropriée que vous méritez bien.

Cordialement

Mohamed Amine Ouldali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here 3 nights, top money for a hotel in Algiers. Check in was manned by one person (8pm) so took an age for the queue to go down, and when it was my turn, surly service, no recognition of status in the hhonors programme, no upgrade, no lounge access, nothing.
Lobby was hot, AC nowhere near good enough, and the AC in the room struggled to keep it habitable, even flat out.
Pool bar was good, for a drink and a snack meal, but a limited menu.

Breakfast was actually very good, wide selection.

Taking an early evening nap I was awoken with a call from reception asking why I had not checked out. Seems despite me having a confirmed reservation for 3 nights, and pre-authorisation of my card for a princely sum, they thought I was only there for one night.

Laundry service good and prompt.

Check out was a bit fof a fiasco, no connection possible to the card authorization number, so had to be done manually, and took an age, when I had a flight to catch.

A hilton by name, but not a top one for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALVAIRE, Gérant at Hilton Alger, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on tripadvisor.

We are sorry to learn that on this occasion our service did not satisfy your expectations, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this caused you.

Do not hesitate to contact me for you next trip to Algiers. I personally would assure that you will be delighted during your stay.

Best Regards

Mohamed Amine OuldAli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

After some bad experiences in the past, I was pleasantly surprised to discover a great and professional team which made my work as a site officer very efficient and very easy.

The General Manager was great when introducing us to three great ladies who did an excellent job; so once again thanks and good luck to: N. Dib, A. Nadri, H.Halimi, R. Bouhrar in addition to the whole staff.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALVAIRE, Gérant at Hilton Alger, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments,it a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Alger and I hope that I will have the pleasure to welcome you on the occasion of your next trip to Algeria.

Best Regards

Mohamed Amine OuldAli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Checking in to this hotel, I expected that breakfast would be included in the price of the room, which is over $200 USD. No chance. You are also quite a walk (you probably would need a taxi to get to a restaurant serving breakfast) from the shopping center which only has fast food. The breakfast buffet in the hotel is average but the price is whopping $24.00. A hamburger at lunchtime was $24.00 USD. The rooms are not large but seem clean, and the staff in the hotel is accommodating and pleasant. You can do better than this at the Sofitel nearby, and less cost. I probably would not stay here again. I hate one meal at the pool bar area, and the service was terrible.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 70TucsonTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALVAIRE, Gérant at Hilton Alger, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

At first I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a comment, following your recent stay at Hilton Alger.

Any comments from you is appreciated, as it allows us to improve the quality of services that we offer to our guests.

I have noted your comments with great interest and I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel.

Please accept the expression of my highest consideration.

Best Regard

Mohamed Amine OuldAli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algiers hotels
4.7 mi away
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
6.4 mi away
El Aurassi Hotel
El Aurassi Hotel
#2 of 26 in Algiers
430 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#6 of 26 in Algiers
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
New Day
New Day
#7 of 26 in Algiers
8 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
1.3 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#3 of 26 in Algiers
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alger

Address: Pins Maritimes | El Mohammadia, Algiers 16000, Algeria
Phone Number:
Region: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Algiers
#7 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
Price Range: £183 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Alger 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax among pine trees overlooking the bay at the Hilton Alger hotel. Take the complimentary shuttle service from Houari Boumediene Airport to reach the hotel in approximately 15 minutes. The center of Algiers is a 15-minute drive from the hotel. Ideal for business, the hotel is adjacent to the Algiers International Exhibition Center, has meeting and event space with WiFi for 15-1000 guests, and a business center with a complimentary printing service amongst other supportive business services and equipment. Settle in to a contemporary guest room with a balcony and garden views. Surf the web with high-speed internet access at the large desk or relax watching the HDTV. Choose a deluxe room for sea views or indulge in more space with a suite featuring separate areas for living and sleeping. Take advantage of the array of recreational activities in this oceanfront Algiers hotel. Admire Mediterranean views from the outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens. Enjoy a workout in the fully equipped fitness center, play tennis on the two complimentary floodlit courts or simply relax in the sauna. Savor locally and internationally inspired cuisine in one of seven dining and beverage venues in the Hilton Alger hotel. From relaxed poolside fare at The Poolhouse to authentic tagines at Casbah restaurant, there are culinary options to suit any occasion and taste. By night listen to the live music at Kantar bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Alger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Algiers Hotel Algiers
Hilton International Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing