We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we have enjoyed our stay at the El Aurassi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Aurassi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Aurassi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Algiers
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“we have enjoyed our stay at the El Aurassi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Attended a conference there together with my colleagues from abroad.Very big halls, good multimedia equipment.
Rooms were very spacious, each with a nice balcony overlooks the city.
Staff were very kind and helpful. Food in general was tasty. Too much of cakes and western style desserts, would have loved trying real authentic Algerian cuisine.

The hotel is very huge.Ample car parking is available. Have not tried the swimming pool.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NaderYM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    143
    93
    40
    20
See reviews for
19
25
12
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

it's an excellent hotel, fully renovated, near the city center.the rooms are very good with a nice decoration. They have a nice swimming pool and the stuff is very friendly, free wifi, a variety of tv channels. it is better to book a room with a sea view even if it's more expensive.
beware, in ramadan almost all the restaurants are closed. food is not that good and is very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

A nice surprise because I had read so many bad reviews of hotels in Algiers and so I was really expecting the worst. We arrived early evening after a long transatlantic flight and a long stop over in Paris so was looking forward to a nice room and a good bed. The check in was swift, professional and very warm; we got a fantastic room -with a great view on Algiers' harbour, the whole city, the Mediterranean sea and the mountains far away... Stunning! Room was nicely decorated in a modern style, new, spacious. Not a lot of amenities (no coffee maker, of course no mini bar, no wifi, no ice cubes etc) but that did not really bother us as we are used to more European/Asian hotels which generally do not have the standard north american amenities. All the personnel speaks great French. While service can be slow in the restaurants, if one speaks a bit of French and makes the effort, I found that service could be very warm and waiters were more than willing to give you extra helpings of soup, talk very pleasantly -and even be very funny and helpful to my young daughter. All personnel greets you very warmly in corridors. There is a choice of restaurants; we liked the Algerian one -personally because they serve a great Chorba Frick soup-. There is also a good swimming pool but the choice of shops in the hotel is limited although there is a bank -useful given the difficulty of getting access to an ATM which will accept our cards in the city!- and also a newly opened bookstore.with a good range of various books including art and history ones on Algiers and Algeria. The hotel is not very close to central Algiers but is still within walking distance (easier on way down than on way up!) and the concierge can help arrange for guides to the city. Again, had very good service at the Concierge.
Price is high but overall had good experience and would return if I planned to return to Algiers. Just by way of quick comparison: we went to the hotel formerly known as the St George -an old Turkish palace with great gardens- for a quick lunch and look around and were very glad we stayed at the Al Aurassi: there prices were much higher and service was borderline contemptuous.
Also: one hears and reads a lot about the potential/actual danger in Algiers; in the 4 days we were there we had nothing but kindness and a warm welcome (that in spite of being a "pied noir"!). The city has great architecture, wonderful old palaces that are being renovated, parks, steet life etc.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on Algiers port are stunning -worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer-north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed briefly at this hotel during a stay in Algiers. The rooms are top-quality for the price and the balcony shows a good view of the nice side of Algiers. The bathroom is particularly well constructed. The breakfast buffet was varied and tasty -- a bit expensive, but it's hard to find a good breakfast in Algiers so you're probably limited to the hotel anyway. Randomly, former California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger happened to be staying at the El Aurassi when I was there -- I didn't see him, though I did catch sight of his motorcade and the horde of well-dressed fans in the lobby -- and you should trust his vote for the best hotel in Algiers!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jujubean45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

At first sight this hotel is a gem. The location, architecture and general ambience are attractive features, but sadly the experience is undermined by the poor service levels.

The rooms are beautifully appointed. They have good bathrooms and, for some rooms at least, there are stunning views of the city. For some bizarre reason there's no wifi. The room service facilities were limited. Everything was very clean.

The restaurants and bars are stylish, but the service is slow and the staff were all a bit rude. The quality of the food and drink was good but by no means amazing.

Would still recommend the hotel to any visitor, but mainly because of the lack of alternatives in Algiers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Algiers hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Recently renewed, the acomodation is of a 5 star hotel.
Large lobby, and the rooms are good, with a balcony with table and sofa on the outside.
The hotel is on the top of the hill.
Breakfast is good for a 5star, but not great.
Lots of people on the desk, but service not that fast.
Had to wait a few hours to wifi access on the room. (Problem was just the name that was introduced wrong on checkin)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio_cf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Regardless of the brand you stay, generally the quality of service is very low in Algeria. I think El Aurassi is a rare exception. With a totally renovated hotel, clean rooms, great restaurants and good location, I believe it is the best and only option.

Still they have some way to go but this is the best you can get.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpaslan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algiers
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
6.4 mi away
Hilton Alger
Hilton Alger
#10 of 24 in Algiers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#4 of 24 in Algiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#3 of 24 in Algiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ibis Alger Aeroport
Ibis Alger Aeroport
#1 of 2 in Bab Ezzouar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Aurassi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Aurassi Hotel

Property: El Aurassi Hotel
Address: Ave Frantz FANON-02 | Alger, Algiers 16000, Algeria
Region: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Aurassi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business Urban Hotel,located in the center of Algiers,20 km from the airport.453 rooms:414 rooms/ 39 suites. 4 restaurants :Self /continental / Italian / Traditionnal . Piano bar ans a coffee shop. Fitness center :gym,sauna,hammam,squash,swimming pool,tennis court. Meeting rooms and conférence rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your El Aurassi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Aurassi Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing