We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous :) The Best in Algiers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Aurassi Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
El Aurassi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Algiers
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tremendous :) The Best in Algiers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

First of all, I really cannot understand the bad reviews from others since I don't what they expect...
Anyways, I flew out of Dubai for a 3 nights escape to catch up with my wife in El Aurassi and despite minor challenges, all went perfect!
I was in room 927 (top floor) with the usual breathtaking view of Algiers.
I spent also an entire day at the pool which is awesome with a 5 meters depth!
For the deposit, you may choose the option "No Post" which means that you'll settle on the spot any consumption.
Finally, it's by far the best in Algiers compared with the others such as the Sheraton which is way too old now as well as very far, or Hilton or Sofitel...
I advise to prepay your booking online to avoid hassle of method of payment.

Room Tip: Ask always for the last floor (9th) and the sea view rooms at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenicioDelToro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    149
    94
    40
    21
See reviews for
19
26
12
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Businessman with a lot of travel experience writing these.

This is the first time I had to write a comment about o hotel, so people had to know about my experience...
Already stayed there 3 different occasions (I had to) and 8 nights all together.
You cannot bring any food or beverage from outside. Even you put them in your bag, they scan everything on x-ray machine. Security(!)
Tap water is not drinkable so there goes euros for bottle of waters.
In my last stay I was asked to pay 75000 dinar (750€) in advance to stay 2 nights, even though it was now my fourth time (I had to) in the hotel and paid a lot of money so far myself and company employees. My colleague was also asked to pay deposit.
Deposit means for them, full payment of the stay and expenses that you "may" make.
Deposit applied randomly, so you may be the lucky one.
Breakfast is not included, and you have to pay 25€ for just for breads, coffee, overcooked eggs and cheeses.
Restaurants open at 7 PM, do not get hungry before 7PM.
People at the reception "acts" like they can understand english but they definitely cannot.
They look at your face and speak in "french" with attitude (they are not even french, ı do not understand the attitude part)
Hospitality is 50 years behind from any other hotel in the world.
Rules are changed and applied based on the employees decision.
I know book for any other hotel now. better location better place, better hospitality

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Algiers hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Colleagues and I have stayed at Sheraton Club Des Pins, Staoueli and the IBIS and Grand Mercure near the airport. Our party were obliged to move out of these others because they were full. I told everyone that I was booked in at the Aurassi and only found out I had no reservation when I attempted to check in. One of my colleagues had made a last minute online booking which the hotel honored and extended to two more guests at the same cheap rate.

Not only was this welcome, but the front desk staff were friendly, helpful and sufficient in number to handle such situations. This absolutely does not apply to any other hotels I have stayed in in Algeria! Better than that our rate was cheaper than the Grande Mercure and over 150 euros per night cheaper than the Sofitel where I should have showed up and whose website allowed me to cancel my reservation without charge.

For view, amenity and central old town location the Aurassi is fantastic. For exactly the same reasons it is not ideally located with long traffic jammed rides to anywhere becoming a part of our stay.

Unlike any of the other hotels mentioned, the Aurassi is modern, hi-spec, and actually approaches the stars it boasts. Food and drink in the casual bar was as extortionate as any of the other hotels but we did not care. There are stores and kebab shops in walking distance, so we generally ate elsewhere and did not try the highly rated restaurant.

Decent air conditioning, in room broadband, very nice rooms (even the ones at the back have a sea view), private balconies - this hotel is apparently where government and civil service people stay. I can see why. My stay was back in May/June and it is Sept as I write. I cannot quite recall but I am not sure if there was wireless broadband throughout the hotel.

Part of my delight at staying here was that our lowered expectations for hotels in Algeria did not apply here. When I went back to GM it was to a sagging bed, broken bath plug and insufficient a.c. but the location, regrettably, dominates when the workplace is more easily accessible.

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea view - even the cheaper ones at the back; it is not the over the harbour view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lipeshends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Attended a conference there together with my colleagues from abroad.Very big halls, good multimedia equipment.
Rooms were very spacious, each with a nice balcony overlooks the city.
Staff were very kind and helpful. Food in general was tasty. Too much of cakes and western style desserts, would have loved trying real authentic Algerian cuisine.

The hotel is very huge.Ample car parking is available. Have not tried the swimming pool.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NaderYM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

it's an excellent hotel, fully renovated, near the city center.the rooms are very good with a nice decoration. They have a nice swimming pool and the stuff is very friendly, free wifi, a variety of tv channels. it is better to book a room with a sea view even if it's more expensive.
beware, in ramadan almost all the restaurants are closed. food is not that good and is very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

A nice surprise because I had read so many bad reviews of hotels in Algiers and so I was really expecting the worst. We arrived early evening after a long transatlantic flight and a long stop over in Paris so was looking forward to a nice room and a good bed. The check in was swift, professional and very warm; we got a fantastic room -with a great view on Algiers' harbour, the whole city, the Mediterranean sea and the mountains far away... Stunning! Room was nicely decorated in a modern style, new, spacious. Not a lot of amenities (no coffee maker, of course no mini bar, no wifi, no ice cubes etc) but that did not really bother us as we are used to more European/Asian hotels which generally do not have the standard north american amenities. All the personnel speaks great French. While service can be slow in the restaurants, if one speaks a bit of French and makes the effort, I found that service could be very warm and waiters were more than willing to give you extra helpings of soup, talk very pleasantly -and even be very funny and helpful to my young daughter. All personnel greets you very warmly in corridors. There is a choice of restaurants; we liked the Algerian one -personally because they serve a great Chorba Frick soup-. There is also a good swimming pool but the choice of shops in the hotel is limited although there is a bank -useful given the difficulty of getting access to an ATM which will accept our cards in the city!- and also a newly opened bookstore.with a good range of various books including art and history ones on Algiers and Algeria. The hotel is not very close to central Algiers but is still within walking distance (easier on way down than on way up!) and the concierge can help arrange for guides to the city. Again, had very good service at the Concierge.
Price is high but overall had good experience and would return if I planned to return to Algiers. Just by way of quick comparison: we went to the hotel formerly known as the St George -an old Turkish palace with great gardens- for a quick lunch and look around and were very glad we stayed at the Al Aurassi: there prices were much higher and service was borderline contemptuous.
Also: one hears and reads a lot about the potential/actual danger in Algiers; in the 4 days we were there we had nothing but kindness and a warm welcome (that in spite of being a "pied noir"!). The city has great architecture, wonderful old palaces that are being renovated, parks, steet life etc.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on Algiers port are stunning -worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer-north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed briefly at this hotel during a stay in Algiers. The rooms are top-quality for the price and the balcony shows a good view of the nice side of Algiers. The bathroom is particularly well constructed. The breakfast buffet was varied and tasty -- a bit expensive, but it's hard to find a good breakfast in Algiers so you're probably limited to the hotel anyway. Randomly, former California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger happened to be staying at the El Aurassi when I was there -- I didn't see him, though I did catch sight of his motorcade and the horde of well-dressed fans in the lobby -- and you should trust his vote for the best hotel in Algiers!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jujubean45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algiers
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
1.5 mi away
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
6.4 mi away
Hilton Alger
Hilton Alger
#11 of 24 in Algiers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#4 of 24 in Algiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#3 of 24 in Algiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ibis Alger Aeroport
Ibis Alger Aeroport
#1 of 2 in Bab Ezzouar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Aurassi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Aurassi Hotel

Property: El Aurassi Hotel
Address: 02 Ave Frantz FANON- | Alger, Algiers 16000, Algeria
Region: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Aurassi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business Urban Hotel,located in the center of Algiers,20 km from the airport.453 rooms:414 rooms/ 39 suites. 4 restaurants :Self /continental / Italian / Traditionnal . Piano bar ans a coffee shop. Fitness center :gym,sauna,hammam,squash,swimming pool,tennis court. Meeting rooms and conférence rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your El Aurassi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Aurassi Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing