We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it, but...”
Review of El Aurassi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Aurassi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Algiers
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We loved it, but...”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went to Algeria for the first time 2 weeks ago, to attend our friend's wedding at El Aurassi so we thought we would treat ourselves and stay at the hotel for 3 nights. It was amazing. The hotel is very luxurious and clean, the rooms are super spacious and the bed is comfortable. The view of the Bay of Algiers is spectacular and overall we loved our experience. The employees were great, from the front desk to the cleaning staff.
A few things to note:
-No heating devices can be plugged in the room, so there isn't any iron in the room. The pressing can be done by the hotel for a little extra cost.
-If you're North American and you use hair conditioner bring your own, as they don't seem to know what conditioner is in Algeria.
-The breakfast is EXTREMELY expensive. If you don't want to pay 35 euros per person for buffet breakfast, you can order a 22 euros continental breakfast in your room. It's still way too expensive in my opinion but it's the best option they offer at the moment.
-As much as my bf and I are usually comfortable traveling and walking everywhere alone, if you want to visit Algiers, you might want to pay a little extra and get a private driver to show you the city. As Algiers is not a touristy city, you will feel more comfortable and secure if you are with a local.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    155
    102
    44
    24
See reviews for
19
28
14
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great rooms, but not so great breakfast buffet - must be lucky to get some omlets or pancakes. Gym can also have some more excercise machines and also some windows. Sauna is great and also check in and check out.

Room Tip: Go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drazen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

A good room, everything ess very clean, but 2 days asking for toilet paper is too much...also a poor breakfast for the hight price we've paid ( 25eur). The pool was also closed and when i asked to take some pictures there, they have refuse.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Olga N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My second stay here and no improvement noticed... The only good thing is the hotel itself as in the premises: new renovated modern and spacious rooms, great gym and spa, breathtaking view and that's it... Everything else is terrible: limited menu, tasteless food, very poor breakfast and above all: very bad service. I called for AC maintenance thrice in the same day and no one came so I gave up....

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MrFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Algiers hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agadir, Agadir, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The El Aurassi is a striking presence perched on a hill, providing views of the Algiers port. It's up a winding road, excellent in terms of security, and the grounds are expertly turned out. There are some surprises, given how pretty things look. First, our room had no tp, second the shower wall which should act as a 'curtain' isn't adequate to keep the bathroom from flooding. There's no way to keep the water within the confines of the barrier AND wet your body. It's not a huge thing, but in a hotel in this price range, it's unexpected. It would be great to have a coffee pot in the room. The linens are clean and luxurious, the fridge is stocked with cold water. Algerians are among the most hospitable people in the world!
This was shocking--breakfast is the equivalent of $32~ outrageous!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algiers, Algeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Writing from the room, before leaving, hopefully never to come again here. The hotel is indeed very luxurious, but Algeria still suffer of "soviet" attitude: the personnel is so arrogant you can hardly stand. The internet connection is probably based on donkeys bringing the bits one by one. The elevators are run by a stupid software that doesn't allow another elevator to come if one is already at your floor. So if one is stuck for some reason, you can wait 15 minutes without even seeing one of the 6 elevators. (Yeah, six useless elevators...). And if you happen to be there on an official meeting, bodyguards and assorted thugs use to block an elevator for their important masters. That means, you have to wait until another elevator appears. Ah, by the way: forget the stairs: the floors are strangely divided (with letters and strange un-official floors between one and the other) and often the door that brings to your floor is blocked from the inside for some reason that I don't understand. That means, you just cannot go to your room. The food is nice, even if pricey if you compare it with the restaurants in Algiers. But the breakfast is really bad: it looks like in a former french colony they cannot bake a decent croissant, not even plain bread. Of course outside the hotel you can find wonderful bread and croissant, so... The mineral water in the hotel is just from Ifri, a company of government friends, horrible taste, even salty. All in all, not a place that you want to remember.

Room Tip: Skip this hotel, or stay here only if you want to enjoy the sight of Algiers port (beautiful indeed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gip8531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

rooms are nice and massive with balconies, some have seaview but it is not actually a sea, it is a port but the bay of algiers is beautiful, such a shame this hotel is managed by local people who have no clue whatsoever about hospitality, I so wish this hotel was a Sofitel or a Shangri-la as it would be the best in Algeria, food is really bad and overpriced

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank othmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algiers hotels
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
1.5 mi away
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
7.8 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#4 of 27 in Algiers
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#3 of 27 in Algiers
52 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel d'Hydra
Hotel d'Hydra
#13 of 27 in Algiers
83 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Alger
Hilton Alger
#14 of 27 in Algiers
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Aurassi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Aurassi Hotel

Property: El Aurassi Hotel
Address: 2, Boulevard Frantz Fanon | Les Tagarins, Algiers 16000, Algeria
Region: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Aurassi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business Urban Hotel,located in the center of Algiers,20 km from the airport.453 rooms:414 rooms/ 39 suites. 4 restaurants :Self /continental / Italian / Traditionnal . Piano bar ans a coffee shop. Fitness center :gym,sauna,hammam,squash,swimming pool,tennis court. Meeting rooms and conférence rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Aurassi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Aurassi Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing