We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel El-Djazair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Algiers
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Depend on the price quality is low
There is a pool as well .There is also fitness saloon
Food are very bad eventhough so high prices especially lunch and dinner .i really do not advice to go . Parking area is so small

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sky_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

if you like charming hotels, where you can breath history and let your imagination go, this is the hotel for you. If you are in town this is a must see attraction, absolutely lovely environment and great memories.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucakun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stay for the history and charm, but it's not quite up to international standards, a bit old and run down. My room (which had a fantastic view of the harbor and a great balcony) smelled a lot like strong lemon cleanser and a bit like human sweat - a potent combo, but not that big a deal. Coffee outside was nice, but I didn't eat here. Came for work and then stayed to visit friends.

Room Tip: Go for a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

There aren't many 5 star hotels in Algiers but this one is definitely the best one. It has the best location, best facilities and has some of the most charm, character and history of any hotel in the Arab world! Rooms are fine, comfortable and clean. Staff are very friendly and courteous. Food is not great and is certainly not 5 star in terms of quality and range. Compared to 5 star hotels around the world the hotel is a little over priced in terms of what you get back but you don't have a lot of choice in Algiers. Warning - don't go to Algeria if you can't speak either Arabic or French as you will not be able to get around. Stay in the central area and you will be fine, any problems, ask the police. Lots of them about and they will do anything to help a tourist!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonXYZ1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This Hotel is today a light shadow of the famous Saint Georges Hotel, one of the best hotels in Africa at those times when Algeria was a French colony, more than 50 years ago. Property of the State after the independence, the management went it a little worst every year. I was in it 30 years ago and the old times where still present. Not now. Decadence is visible in every "chambre" (room), at the baths, floors or stairways. Only the high prices maintain a similitude with the ancient hotel.
If you travel to Alger, choose another option. Only if you are looking for some phantom you will have a reason to go there.

Room Tip: Go far and away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexmartin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Classic hotel placed in a centennial palace. Historical and good location. It pretends to be a 5* hotel but it would be the equivalent of an 4*minus hotel in any Western country hotel. Maintenance and personnel service requires to be improved.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I just spent a week at the El-Djazair. I really don't like hotels in which you feel like you could be anywhere, Singapore, Stockholm or San Francisco, and for this, I did greatly appreciate the El-Djazair. A historic building, a stunning garden, beautiful tile decorations and other 'local' touches, a pleasant room... all provided that sense of 'elsewhere' for which many of us travel. However, there were a number of minor irritating factors. First of all, the same elevator music version of the BeeGees 'How Deep is Your Love' every morning at breakfast and in the lobby (not even the same CD, the same song, over and over), drove me to distraction. The internet was capricious, making it difficult to work in the evening. The maids had a tendency to barge in, a millisecond after knocking, when I forgot to put the extra lock or chain. The restaurants were expensive and mediocre, with very limited vegetarian fare, and there wasn't much in the neighborhood for an alternative not requiring a taxi. And, it took me 45 minutes to check out the morning I left! Fortunately, I had allowed extra time before my driver was scheduled to pick me up for the airport, but several other people were getting nervous about getting to the airport on time, or annoyed at not having time for breakfast. Several customers asked other staff if someone couldn't help out the poor guy alone at the cashier's desk, but to no avail. Otherwise, however, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I will be returning to Algiers later this year, but am undecided as to whether or not I will return to the El-Djazair.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassiope_fastigiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algiers hotels
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
1.5 mi away
El Aurassi Hotel
El Aurassi Hotel
#2 of 26 in Algiers
423 reviews
7.8 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#5 of 26 in Algiers
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#3 of 26 in Algiers
58 reviews
2.7 mi away
New Day
New Day
#8 of 26 in Algiers
7 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hilton Alger
Hilton Alger
#17 of 26 in Algiers
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George

Address: 24 Avenue Souidani Boujemaa, Algiers 16070, Algeria
Region: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
Price Range: £131 - £838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Djazair Hotel Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing