We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A so-so hotel, good for the budget”
Review of Hotel d'Hydra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel d'Hydra
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Algiers
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Considering the overall hotel offer in Algiers this hotel gets a pass-mark but nothing more than that.
The hotel definitely needs a renovation. The rooms are big but poor. There is a free Wi-Fi in the rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful, and they were able to communicate in English. Everything is very basic.
If you don’t set high expectations the hotel is OK for the budget.

Tip: There is a nice pica restaurant called Red Flames across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaimondsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have stayed two or three times in this hotel as other ones were full (Algiers hotels are not so numerous).

The rooms are adequate and clean but sometimes dark, with no real view. The building itself should be renovated.

The location is limited, as the good restaurants are rather far.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlbrillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Excellent Locations (in the heart of the city)
Average but clean rooms.
Good value for a two stars B&B Hotel in Algiers!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cemgsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

It is really a pity to check only a limited number of hotels in a such big city, so I had to follow the advise of a local partner who suggested the D'hydra hotel.

I stayed for 5 days at D'hydra during business trip to Algeria, the room was extremely small and I kept hitting the bed wooden sides almost every time I moved around, cleanness of the room was not up to the basic standards specially the smelly bed and color of the (white linning), mattress was very uncomfortable, however the room was warm enough because of efficient central heating system.

Clean bathroom, but they need to re consider the location of the water sprayer as it is too close to the towel..!!!

No Gym, very limited english TV channels, empty minibar and no room service.

Breakfast was a traditional continental breakfast (selection of bread, pastries and croissants, juice, milk, coffee & tea, Butter & Jam, Yogurt) no Cereals or fruits.

No room service, so you are really stuck with the morning breakfast and in the evening the hotel main restaurant, which I tried once and was "OK".

I could not check the surrounding area, but noticed a Pizza restaurant just outside the main entrance.

I suggest to investigate other options.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mihyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I've stayed in a few hotels in Algiers and I found Hotel Hydra to be the best all rounder.

The location is good. Hydra is renowned as the most sought after neighbourhood in Algiers.

The room rate was 20000 Dinars (approx £150/$200) for the 3 bedroom apartment on the top floor (7th floor). This represented extremely good value for money considering the apartment had a living room, 2 toilets, a bathroom and a terrace. The apartment could sleep 9 people altogether (1 triple room and 2 double rooms with spare beds).

The staff were courteous and helpful. No complaints.

The parking is underneath the hotel. One major drawback was the bottom of the car kept scraping the ramp when entering the car park. The car I was driving wasn't a sports car with low suspension so I can see this drawback causing a problem for most people. The car park was also quite narrow.

The room rate included a continental breakfast with a varied choice. I think they even offered omlette to order.

There is free Wifi in the top floor apartment but I think the free wifi is on every floor.

A wide variety of television channels are offered. The usual BBC/French channels and they even have canal+ sport which shows live European football.

I didn't try the restaurant. There are a restaurants in the vicinity but expect to pay above average prices for Algiers. The trade off is that it is one of the safest neighbourhoods in Algiers, which is to be expected given the number of embassies/government departments/foreign companies in the area.

overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank B2_Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Visited Algiers and stayed at this hotel with my husband. The hotel was clean, comfortable and offered excellent value for money. Location was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. We initially struggled to find somewhere to stay in Algiers that was not over priced but having found this hotel we would recommend it as offering a good standard of accommodation for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oban17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres prestiges ont une meilleur aération et un balcon sur la rue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MajdiBelguith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algiers hotels
2.3 mi away
City Hotel Alger
City Hotel Alger
#6 of 27 in Algiers
17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
8.7 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#7 of 27 in Algiers
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Numidien Hotel
Numidien Hotel
#12 of 27 in Algiers
3 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#4 of 27 in Algiers
59 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Aurassi Hotel
El Aurassi Hotel
#2 of 27 in Algiers
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Hydra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Hydra

Address: Bd. Ben Youcef Benkhedda (ex: Sidi Yahia) | 16 bis Said Hamdine Hydra, Algiers 16045, Algeria
Region: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Algiers
Price Range: £52 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Hydra 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel d'Hydra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing