We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Recklinghausen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed one week at the end of November in this great hotel. The entrance area welcomes the guests with an interesting mixture of Orient and French style, modest but impressive black and white is dominating. The staff is friendly and supportive, all admin and luggage service is done during a drink is served.
The rooms are well equipped with a terrace area; we'd strongly recommend sea view.
Breakfast buffet shows a good offer and also the staff is keen to satisfy guests although it seems sometimes not perfectly organised. The same restaurant turns into dinner buffet in the evening - good quality of food incl. show cooking. Perhaps the arrangements of the tables can be improved - well placed tables for two would reduce need of discussion during placement since most of the guests are couples.
Pool and beach area including staff are really great, lots of space to relax, to swim or to enjoy some snacks. Another is the Medicine bar with the wonderful live soul music, a real cosy place at the end of the day.
We can really recommend this hotel for some restful days.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

I was extremely pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and that you recommend our hotel for its service, comfort and atmosphere.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    285
    125
    55
    30
See reviews for
268
626
58
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

A good first impression became quickly tainted in this elegant looking resort. Check-in was slow and laboured despite being offered mint tea in the sweet smelling reception area. We were fortunate to be allocated a suite overlooking the sea but also rather unfortunately the private pool below (I would NOT have been happy if I were guests in that suite being completely overlooked) - the surrounding gardens looked dirty and unkempt. However, the suite was well appointed. Sadly the bed was extremely poor and despite me asking for the top mattress to be changed this did not happen for a number of days and despite assurances that the entire bed had been replaced, I slept so poorly there that I ended up on the sofa for a couple of nights! Service is erratic and wholly inconsistent. We had to ask for the room to be serviced on two occasions and specific requests for the mini bar were initially ignored. Breakfast is fine and as expected in such a property and buffet dinners are also served in this room. We did not like to witness a couple of staff members being reprimanded in full view of diners and also staff displaying obvious "attitude" towards each other. This is unacceptable.
Despite claims to the contrary, the pool was freezing. I lasted about 10 minutes. Pool staff were reassuring that tomorrow would be better - it never was. I would much rather honesty in that either the heater was faulty, it was not possible to heat at all than the constant lying. This was a big disappointment. The sun was warm but the wind made it feel rather chilly. The beach has that rather dirty looking sand and was as a result somewhat unappealing. A walk along the croisette down to the Marina is recommended.
WARNING: when taking taxis, agree a price before entering. Drivers happily ask what you would like to pay and then demand more money - this was very unpleasant.
The front desk staff enquired about our stay and when informed of the problems seemed bemused. Despite pre-booking a transfer on our departure this was poorly handled resulting in a long wait. It did not leave us with a very positive impression.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glindaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed only one night here in this hotel. I had booked 3 nights but we decided to move on to another different city and not stay in Agadir since we prefer not to stay on the beach since we have this type of city from where we come from. The Sofitel hotel is incredible very good facilities and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adoniapapazoglakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Madame, Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We hope that your next visit will be longer than the previous one.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to recognize the friendliness of our Ambassadors and the quality of our facilities.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londerzeel, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed for one week in this great design hotel. location is just perfect for a relaxing holiday; right on the long beach of 6km long ! The staff of the hotel is very friendly, only could be a bit more "educated". Long waiting in the restaurant is the only min point of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiestore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

We would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to the waiting time in the restaurants, and assure you that the appropriate measures to address the situation and prevent future occurrence have been taken.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed one week at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa. Check in was personalised in the comfortable seating area in the reception, nicely complimented by wet towels and some tea. The receptionist took us on a tour of the hotel and led us to our room, a very well appointed junior suite overlooking the pool area. A bottle of wine and some sweets were waiting in the room for us.

The junior suite was simply stunning. A very comfortable living room complete with fresh flowers, a great HD TV with a good selection of channels and a free mini bar full of soft drinks (restocked daily(ish)). The bathroom featured a rain-shower and an enormous bathtub. Toiletries were Hermes (standard at Sofitel). The bedroom featured the signature Sofitel Mybed which is just heaven and also had a walk in wardrobe with plenty of storage area. WiFi was free but very slow.

The common areas of the hotel are well designed if maybe a bit over designed. They are stunning but lacking warmth. The pool area is very large and there were no shortages of loungers or cabanas.

Where the hotel faces significant challenges is on the service side (and reading a recent review here I'm glad I am not the only one picking up on this). The breakfast service was uncoordinated and getting cutlery, juice, coffee took forever. Yes the staff were trying and in most cases with a smile but they were decidedly not up to the job. Once this was discussed with management things improved slightly but not enough.

The selection of breakfast items was ok but the buffet was by no means the best I have ever seen at other Sofitels.

The hotel bar suffered from the same problem that the staff did not know what they were doing. Quite a number of guests sent their drinks back due to a lack of alcohol (amazing considering the stellar prices they were charging).

The bar and restaurant were also suffering from increased fruit fly activity, not sure if this is seasonable but will need addressing.

Interestingly the staff at the pool were the best, friendly and on call every time one needed a drink or bite to eat.

Housekeeping were hit and miss, some days perfect, other days less attention to detail on display.

Having told we had to book a table at the a la carte restaurant we did so but it was virtually empty with only three tables occupied (one of which had their wine glasses covered with a butter dish due to the fruit flies) Prices were extremely high and when I tried ordering the wine I was told that a whole section was unavailable. We decided to leave and try the “old” Sofitel next door. Not only were prices lower next door, the service and atmosphere were much better than at our shiny new Sofitel.

As Le Club Accorhotels Platinum member I had agreed the room upgrade in advance of arriving, but other than that perks were slightly unclear. The normal welcome drinks could have been the bottle of wine but normally there should have been 2 free drinks at the bar. On some days we got one! (there were two of us in the room) sweets delivered to the room, some other days none. Again service was inconsistent.

Overall the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa is a very nice hotel. The hard product (rooms, architecture, design, pool etc) are great, the soft product (service, price levels) currently less so.

Management did make amends for the service issues and are fully aware that they need to upscale service if they want to command five stars and justify the admittedly very high (too high) prices they charge.

Would I return? Very unsure, I would need to know that they have markedly improved.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank starflyergold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We are truly sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience during your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused and thank you again for sharing your concerns.

It is always very valuable for us to understand our guest experiences so that we can continue to monitor our service offerings.
Please be assured that your feedback has been positively taken onboard and has been shared with the relevant managers in order to take the appropriate actions.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and we would appreciate the opportunity to welcoming you back on your next visit to Agadir.

Kind Regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Reading all the positive reviews on this hotel i felt that we were in a totally different hotel !
if you read this and you are a true 5* customer , if LHW , shangri la, oberoi , six sense , anantara, aman , mandarin oriental, royal meridien, st regis , slh , grand hyatt , rings a bell to you than i suggest you stay away for the moment from this hotel as you will be disappointed !
the service in the restaurants and in the room is just the most frustrating we ever had, you need to constantly chase the staff for absolutely everything and it is very very tiring , some people reviewed this as annoying but manageable because staff is always friendly and smiling , well for the price you pay i think this is unacceptable doesnt matter how friendly people are at some point you pay for a service and you expect to get it .
by chance at the end of our stay we were able to have an open hearted discussion about this with the hotel manager and he himself recognize that the hotel being a new sofitel unit they needed to adjust service and staff training in order to meet the 5* hotel customers’ requirements, in the meantime he offered us a commercial gesture and advice he would do the his best to get things running in the right direction during the end of our stay. To be honest we did notice a change the next morning at the restaurant for the breakfast and our room was all shiny and tidy when we came back from the beach but he still has a massive task ahead of him because the staff although very friendly and wiling to learn is not the most rigorous people.
We wish him the best of luck and really hope that if we ever come back we will be able to add a new review with a better rating.
For now, sorry but for us the sofitel thalassa Agadir is not up to a 5 * standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank W144EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
3.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#29 of 77 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Property: Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Address: Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing