We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Agadir”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Agadir”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My partner and I visited Morocco in early February hoping to find some winter sun somewhere a little different and Agadir did not disappoint. In February, the temperature hovers somewhere between 22 and 25 degrees. We stayed in the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea and Spa for 4 nights followed by three nights in a more traditional riad.

Perhaps the first thing to note is the need to be very clear to the taxi driver which Sofitel hotel you are staying at. There is a second Sofitel right next door to the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea and Spa, (Sofitel Royal Bay Resort), and we ended up in the wrong hotel upon arrival. Also, it's worth noting that Agadir airport is around a 30 minute drive from the hotel. A fair price for the trip seems to be around 200 MAD, (something like £17 stirling), although we'd heard that people were charged anywhere between 150 MAD and 500 MAD. Personally, I thought the white knuckle taxi ride between the airport and hotel was good value for money - the concept of 'road sense' didn't seem to apply while we were there. My partner, however, did go a little pale during the journey so it might be worth trying to avoid any evening rush hour trips, (between 5pm and 7pm), if you're of a nervous disposition!

We thought the hotel itself was excellent, although it certainly isn't the place to go if you're looking for somewhere typically Moroccan. There are nods and references to traditional culture in the design and decor of the rooms and communal areas but, overall, the feel is very contemporary.

Our room, (140), was fantastic. A large shower, (with it's own choice of mood lighting!), has a one way mirror allowing views over the balcony without any prying eyes seeing in. The open plan design of the room leads you from the shower area to the bedroom space. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both slept soundly for the four nights we stayed. There is a free minibar, (stocked with soft drinks), in each room. Our balcony provided the perfect vista to see both the sunrise and sunset, with views over the beach. There is some "waste ground" outside the hotel but it's not an eyesore - just a little unkempt.

We ate in each of the hotel's restaurants. The Palais du Jardin seems to be the premium restaurant and the food was great. I had a cinammon-lamb vermicelli and my partner had a beef hotpot, (Moroccan style rather than Lancashire's finest!). We found it quite a formal restaurant and felt the need to "dress up" to eat there although that may be more of a reflection on us than the location. Also, unusually, I believe it's staffed entirely by females. The main dining room provides good food and is also where residents have breakfast. The breakfast choice was excellent and set us up perfectly for the day's exploring. There is also a restaurant offering healthy choices, (L'Atlantique), which is predominantly a fish restaurant. The food was excellent here too, although maybe a little expensive.

The outside pool space is very relaxing - warm water, plenty of sunbeds and cabanas and very attentive, but not overbearing, staff. My partner did try out the hammam and enjoyed it very much but said that she preferred the more traditional experience she had in Marrakech.

The hotel is at the end of a 7km, (approx) strip which runs the length of Agadir's seafront. It's a lovely, flat walk and there's a developing marina area at the end of it with some good restaurants and tea/coffee shops providing much needed refreshments. Along the walk, there are plenty of restaurants, small shops and beachfront, (none of whom were pushy as long as you gave them a polite "no thanks).

Overall, this is a really relaxing place to stay. The staff cannot do too much for you, (although English isn't widely spoken, it wasn't hard to make ourselves understood), and the surroundings were clean and contemporary. An excellent place to stay for a comfortable break in the not-too-searing sunshine but maybe not somewhere for those looking for a "true" Moroccan experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a beach view - spectacular and, in my opinion, better than the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete_Neath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    288
    125
    56
    31
See reviews for
271
634
58
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grandvaux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Was there last week on a business trip. Beautiful hotel, very nicely decorated, stylish and modern. Staff were excellent, service was very good. Though the weather was too chilly for me to consider sunbathing or swimming, plenty of people around the pool chilling in the sunshine and enjoying it! I would consider going again in spring with my family for a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This recently-built (as opposed to "modern") hotel is quirky and not always comfortable. It is very dark and somber (maybe that's good in the summer), the rooms are small, for this level of hotel and distances sometimes long. From my room to the reception, the walk was at least 5 minutes. The only spa amenity available to guests without extra cost was the outdoor pool - not the hamam (and no sauna). On the positive side, my room had a view of the ocean and the buffet food was very good for a buffet: very good quality and lots of variety from one day to the next. Half-board was fine. The food at the Palais du Jardin restaurant was outstanding!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryansmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Maybe it was the bad weather,it was far too cold to sunbathe ,go in the pool or on the beach..we went 07/11 and it was freezing.the hotel itself is very modern and dark.....everything is black or silver, room was on the small side with a very complicated shower! We had B and B but I would have preferred half board as there were no restaurants within wAlking distance that were open so we ate in the hotel anyway.the hotel is the last one on the strip so very private all very clean and chic but not at al Moroccan.highlights of the holiday...the duo singing I the bar and the Moroccan themed evening entertainment in the hotel next door.bad points...getting kidnapped by a taxi driver..they will take you where they think you go not where you want to go, having to eat at mcdonalds and Pizza Hut as that's all that was open .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willowtreacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel was rather idyllic and had all that the amenities a good hotel may require. So in my regular fashion:

Good:
- very nice rooms - we got an upgrade to a suite and had a bathtub that could fit three and a great patio to relax in the afternoon. each room had free mini bar, tea and espresso machine
- very nice grounds - lots of chairs around three pools plus cabanas around it and on the beach itself.
- very helpful staff - as soon as you got to the pool they got you towels asked if you needed drinks, smiles and said hello :-)
- we liked the food at the buffet dinner and breakfast - try the Moroccan wine you should not be disappointed
- very good gym that opens at 6ish am on the weekdays - they offer PT sessions and yoga classes as well
- was also happy with my Hammam experience and spa - well recommended (ask for Fatima if you do Hammam she was great)

Bad (kind of :-))
- not staff's fault but Sofitel should provide English classes for their employees - they all were lovely and tried hard but many were not able to communicate as well with us as with French speaking guest
- we did not love the fancy restaurant as much - seems like the kitchen is the same as for the buffet which has more variety - the decor is nice at Palace but nothing else was better relative to the buffet

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We got upgraded to the hotel and had a fantastic time. It was originally arranged through Groupon so we had a fantastic deal anyway. The food and drinks were cheap and would love to go back. Would high recommended to any couple looking for a holiday.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanMaxwellHHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
3.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#29 of 77 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Property: Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Address: Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing